Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Error loading modules for VirtualBox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dragonuv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:31 pm    Post subject: Error loading modules for VirtualBox Reply with quote

Hi,
I have recently emerged VirtualBox and the installation was all good, but when I run Virtualbox it gives me the following error:

Quote:
WARNING: The VirtualBox kernel modules are not loaded.
Please load all the needed kernel modules by:

for m in vbox{drv,netadp,netflt}; do modprobe $m; done

You will not be able to start VMs until this problem is fixed.


what can cause this? and how do I solve it?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run the command stated:
Code:
for m in vbox{drv,netadp,netflt}; do modprobe $m; done


Are there any errors?
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragonuv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow, that worked.
thanks :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dragonuv wrote:
wow, that worked.
thanks :)


no just make sure the modules are loaded when you reboot, and add Solved to title...
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragonuv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, no.
they dont get loaded after reboot :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1979
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

care to read emerge output?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dragonuv wrote:
well, no.
they dont get loaded after reboot :(


My no was supposed to be a now

Run the command again, but this time a little differently:
Code:
for m in vbox{drv,netadp,netflt}; do modprobe $m; cp -v $m /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6; done


I believe that will copy the array in $m to the module autoload file. You may need to open /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and make sure that a newline was inserted after every module name.
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragonuv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:


Run the command again, but this time a little differently:
Code:
for m in vbox{drv,netadp,netflt}; do modprobe $m; cp -v $m /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6; done


I believe that will copy the array in $m to the module autoload file. You may need to open /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and make sure that a newline was inserted after every module name.


I dont have the folder "/etc/modules.autoload.d", anywhere else I could find this file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mate00
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 28
Location: Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about adding:
Code:

modules="${modules} vboxdrv"
vboxdrv

to /etc/conf.d/modules ?

Also, i think it would be nice to be in plugdev group.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum