Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fbcondecor fails to load image
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aeonlove
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Carlow, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 4:12 pm    Post subject: fbcondecor fails to load image Reply with quote

I have installed fbsplah and fbcondecor.
It works well if I use the themes "arch-black" and "arch-banner".
However, when I change my own picture, it fails to load either silent or verbose mode.
I've wonder whether the size of my picture is too large, but I replaced a small one, either.
Anyone knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordic bro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 582

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure it's true in this case but a lot of times your image properties matter (dimensions, color depth, etc.) I would open the image file from the themes that work, look at their properties (xv, gqview, gimp) then look for differences in the properties of the theme image which doesn't work.

but it could be much simpler such as the fbsplash configuration file for that 'broken' theme. what I do is "cp -a" of the /etc/splash theme that works then just replace the image with the one I want. make sure you update the "pic/silentpic" paths in the configuration file.

or even easier, just rename the image file in a working theme to save it then put your new image into it and see if it works.

you can also test a new theme from a terminal and perhaps see what trouble it has using it:

% splash_manager -c demo -m v --delay=10 --tty=2 -t theme

if you type "splash_manager" at a prompt you can see what the options are.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aeonlove
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Carlow, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I would like the easier way.
I tried to replace the image to the working theme "arck-black", and ran the command...

[aeon@Exheamns ~]$ sudo splash_manager -c demo -m v --delay=10 --tty=2 -t arch-banner-icons

[aeon@Exheamns ~]$ sudo splash_manager -c demo -m v --delay=10 --tty=2 -t arch-black
Failed to load image //etc/splash/arch-black/images/verbose-1920x1080.png.

The fomer played well, the later failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aeonlove
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Carlow, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And this is my picture http://files.myopera.com/aeonlove/albums/4884252/lust-001.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordic bro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 582

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried a bunch of things (48x48 resolution, jpg instead of png) and it seems the problem here are the dimensions of your img. or I should say, its dimensions are a problem for my setup. only when resizing to 1024x768 would it work for me.

there could be a couple reasons for this I'll leave to you:

1. perhaps something in your kernel build which defines the console limits as dimensions your img does not satisfy. I looked in my kernel cfg and find no "1024" or "768" except for CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSEDEV_SCREEN_X/Y but I don't know that that's related to this (I don't know that it's not either);

2. maybe there's something in fbsplash itself limiting what dimensions can be used? I don't know, I've always used 1024x768 because it's a good boot-up size for my tastes so haven't experimented with other sizes. I squared up your img from 1280x7.. to 1280x1024 so it would fit my monitor but that wouldn't work for me.

I'm certain other dimensions can be used, but don't know which or if something extra needs to be told to fbsplash when using them.

so what I'd do is use something like gimp to "scale" your img to 1024x768 and at least see if that works. if it does, next you'd need to find out how/if your setup has something defining the dimensions of what's acceptable then change it. I'm not saying you have to use 1024x768, just that apparently something you have defined now is causing your 1280 img to fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aeonlove
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Carlow, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really thanks, nordic bro.

The new kernel automatically find my screen is 1920x1080, I have never used the vga=792 or any others.
The original image is not 1920x1080, I used gimp to scale it.
I do have check the image's size in the working theme "arch-black".
It is 1920x1080x32 no problem.

Anyways, thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1311
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure if this can be a problem but the image properties of your file state that it's in jpeg format and not png ... might it help to just rename the file in .jpg? Make also sure that splashutils support all image formats ...
Code:
equery u splashutils
[ Searching for packages matching splashutils... ]
[ Colour Code : set unset ]
[ Legend : Left column  (U) - USE flags from make.conf              ]
[        : Right column (I) - USE flags packages was installed with ]
[ Found these USE variables for media-gfx/splashutils-1.5.4.3-r3 ]
 U I
 + + fbcondecor : Support for the fbcondecor kernel patch.
 + + gpm        : Adds support for sys-libs/gpm (Console-based mouse driver)
 - - hardened   : activate default security enhancements for toolchain (gcc, glibc, binutils)
 + + mng        : Adds support for libmng (MNG images)
 + + png        : Adds support for libpng (PNG images)
 + + truetype   : Adds support for FreeType and/or FreeType2 fonts

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aeonlove
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Carlow, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used gimp to scare it and saved as png, but I just opened the upscared png by Image Viewer and saved is as jpeg.
Is that due to gimp?
I'll try save png by Image Viewer later, I am not in font of my laptop now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aeonlove
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Carlow, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The png works now.
I just saved it by using Gnome image viewer.
I think the problem is gimp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum