Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde:live update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 943
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:19 pm    Post subject: kde:live update Reply with quote

hi

how do i update kde:live :?: .i have kde 4.5.80 (4.6 beta1) and i belive there is a new update to get.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 943
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i updated kdelibs and the kmenu got lost.how do i get it :?: back
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update full SC instead of just kdelibs to make sure they are fully compatible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 943
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lustmored

i know but how do i make a update of kde-9999.its not just emerge kdebase-startkde or something like that.there have to be a command to reinstall it or update it.the only thing i know is when a update comes it is shows when you make a
emerge --newuse --update --deep --ask --verbose world and it will be updated after that.that do not work with the
9999ers.i updated kdelibs because of solid-9999.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use portage supporting sets, there should be set @kde (or something similar). Than emerge -av @kde could work. But as I'm paludis user, I cannot tell for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3253
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, you should sync the overlay with layman -s kde to get the latest ebuild and keywords updates.

Then, you need to be sure the full kde-live keywords list is in (or linked to) /etc/portage/package.keywords.

Next, you could do it by using sets, depending on what packages you wish to use.
I usually use something like emerge -pv1 @kdedeps-live @kdelibs-live @kdebase-live @kdeartwork-live, etc., etc. to view a list of all the packages, and then omit the "p" and add the --keep-going emerge option and if any fail fix them up later after all the rest are merged (updated).

Or, you could do a global 9999 install to reinstall all the 9999 kde packages installed on your system with this command:
Code:
 qlist -IC kde-base/ | grep 9999 | xargs -n1 -i echo ={} | xargs emerge -vp
If you opt for this method, it's a good idea to do an emerge @kdedeps-live first, as some of the deps might not be 9999 versions. Also be sure your qt-4.7.1 packages are up-to-date first. Then use the command without the p, and the --keep-going option.

(I'm not on my kde-live computer right now, so If that command is not exactly right, I'll check later and correct it).

BTW, IMO it's not a good idea to mix 9999 packages with other versions. Either go all the way with kde-live 9999's for everything, or choose another kde version in the overlay, along with it's own specific keyword list.

Another thing worth mentioning: I've always thought it better practice to not have a bunch of 9999 overlay packages in my world file, and when I wish to update them just sync the overlay, and then update manually using the above methods (with the emerge -v1 option to keep them out of the world file). But, use your own judgement on this- I just found it less confusing keeping various overlay packages out of a regular emerge -uD @world general system update.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 943
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc1944

i have bin using kdebase-startkde-9999 for one and a half year now.so

qlist -IC kde-base/ | grep 9999 | xargs -n1 -i echo ={} | xargs emerge -vp

will do fine when the overlay is stable: (repository: svn://anonsvn.kde.org/home/kde/trunk/KDE/kdebase/workspace
svn: URL 'svn://anonsvn.kde.org/home/kde/trunk/KDE/kdebase/workspace' doesn't exist)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum