Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ATI Fglrx drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dolphinaura
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:54 am    Post subject: ATI Fglrx drivers Reply with quote

Is it safe (or possible) to install the fglrx drivers from the ati site now?
I tried it once (a few months ago), and the version from the site failed to install properly (even though it said it did :roll: ), and only the one from portage worked.
_________________
------------------------
Dolphinaura
http://twitter.com/dolphinaura
http://dolphinaura.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:56 pm    Post subject: Re: ATI Fglrx drivers Reply with quote

dolphinaura wrote:
Is it safe (or possible) to install the fglrx drivers from the ati site now?
I tried it once (a few months ago), and the version from the site failed to install properly (even though it said it did :roll: ), and only the one from portage worked.


don't


wait a few days until the version has appeared in some overlay or gentoo's portage tree

installing fglrx directly from ati/amd might break your system A LOT
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1983
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:59 pm    Post subject: Re: ATI Fglrx drivers Reply with quote

dolphinaura wrote:
Is it safe (or possible) to install the fglrx drivers from the ati site now?


Why would you even consider something like that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rh1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 501

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you need the newest version before it's in portage, most of the time you can just copy the current ebuild to your local overlay and update it to use the newer version. Much better than trying to install on your own. As others pointed out, that could break your system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dolphinaura
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rh1 wrote:
If you need the newest version before it's in portage, most of the time you can just copy the current ebuild to your local overlay and update it to use the newer version. Much better than trying to install on your own. As others pointed out, that could break your system.

ah. thanks!
_________________
------------------------
Dolphinaura
http://twitter.com/dolphinaura
http://dolphinaura.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supernovae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rh1 wrote:
If you need the newest version before it's in portage, most of the time you can just copy the current ebuild to your local overlay and update it to use the newer version. Much better than trying to install on your own. As others pointed out, that could break your system.


This doesn't work with the latest 11.1 drivers. Breaks when trying to patch. I think its because both of the kernel patches that gentoo applies have been integrated into the driver code for this version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moncojhr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed 11.1 from the ati site on my system and it just seemed to crash constantly....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

supernovae wrote:
rh1 wrote:
If you need the newest version before it's in portage, most of the time you can just copy the current ebuild to your local overlay and update it to use the newer version. Much better than trying to install on your own. As others pointed out, that could break your system.


This doesn't work with the latest 11.1 drivers. Breaks when trying to patch. I think its because both of the kernel patches that gentoo applies have been integrated into the driver code for this version.
I think it's better to find fresh ebuild in gentoo's bugzilla: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=353107 . I've installed 11.1 and it works nice with 2.6.37 and xorg-server-1.9.4 - no problems so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supernovae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tvin wrote:
supernovae wrote:
rh1 wrote:
If you need the newest version before it's in portage, most of the time you can just copy the current ebuild to your local overlay and update it to use the newer version. Much better than trying to install on your own. As others pointed out, that could break your system.


This doesn't work with the latest 11.1 drivers. Breaks when trying to patch. I think its because both of the kernel patches that gentoo applies have been integrated into the driver code for this version.
I think it's better to find fresh ebuild in gentoo's bugzilla: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=353107 . I've installed 11.1 and it works nice with 2.6.37 and xorg-server-1.9.4 - no problems so far.


Yeah i found this ebuild after i'd already removed the offending patches. I'm still not happy with the support for my 6850 though, hopefully 11.2 will provide more stable support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark D. Craine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a ATI video card (256 MB) on my motherboard built-in. Now problem is that when I install the driver for video card he show 128 MB instead of 256 MB. I want to know that where is problem in my software or hardware. When I purchase the system he tell me that the card is 256 MB.
_________________
Great men undertake great things because they are great; fools, because they think them easy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supernovae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark D. Craine wrote:
I have a ATI video card (256 MB) on my motherboard built-in. Now problem is that when I install the driver for video card he show 128 MB instead of 256 MB. I want to know that where is problem in my software or hardware. When I purchase the system he tell me that the card is 256 MB.


If its an video controller integrated into your motherboard its likely that you can change the amount of RAM assigned to the video device in your bios.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6033

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installed 11.1 from ebuild, got black screen in X, nothing useful in any logs...

Oh well, the other driver's good enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supernovae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
Installed 11.1 from ebuild, got black screen in X, nothing useful in any logs...

Oh well, the other driver's good enough.


update your portage tree, 11.2 is now available in the official tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6033

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Typo. I'm already using 11.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum