Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't emerge libreoffice: error: template with C linkage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Aquous
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:14 pm    Post subject: can't emerge libreoffice: error: template with C linkage Reply with quote

Hi guys :)

So I added libreoffice to package.keywords the other day, but it's not building:
Code:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
        Oh dear - something failed during the build - sorry !
  For more help with debugging build errors, please see the section in:
            http://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Development

  internal build errors:

ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /var/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice
-3.3.0/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.0.4/build/libreoffice-3.3.0.4/xmlsecurity/sour
ce/xmlsec/nss

 it seems that the error is inside 'xmlsecurity', please re-run build
 inside this module to isolate the error and/or test your fix:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

/bin/bash
cd /var/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.0/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.0.4/build/libreoffice-3.3.0.4
source ./LinuxX86-64Env.Set.sh
cd xmlsecurity
build

when the problem is isolated and fixed exit and re-run 'make' from the top-level
sometimes (sadly) it is necessary to rm -Rf unxlngx6.pro in a module.
make: *** [stamp/build] Error 1
 * ERROR: app-office/libreoffice-3.3.0 failed:
 *   Build failed


Backtracking through the log reveals a slew of these errors:
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/include/g++-v4/bits/stringfwd.h:44: error: template with C linkage

(line numbers and filenames of offending header vary)

I know it looks like a compiler problem, but I did an emerge -e world recently, and LibO was the ONLY package affected by this problem.

Does anyone know what I can do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geki
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 2325
Location: Germania

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may pastebin the build.log somewhere and post a link, please.
I have never seen this error with libreoffice(openoffice) before. :o
_________________
boost|select libs to build|slotable|python-buildid

hear hear
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquous
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The build.log is 5,5 MB. Pastebin accepts only up to 1 MB. I've therefore posted only the part where things started to go wrong (compilation is completely normal before that part).

http://pastebin.com/uu09v7Px
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Felicitus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm this. I'm running on ~amd64 with gcc-4.5.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kicior
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 179
Location: Lublin, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've successfully compiled libreoffice yesterday using gcc 4.5.2 on ~amd64.
_________________
Pozdrawiam,
Kicior
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javamonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Porto - Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Activating the nsplugin flag also gives me this xmlsecutiry error. So, a workaround is to disable the flag but that all digital signature features stop working.

Anyone found a solution to this issue?

[Edit] Created bug #355185, since several of us are having the same problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kicior
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 179
Location: Lublin, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My libreoffice compiled with nsplugin flag enabled. Maybe something else is wrong
_________________
Pozdrawiam,
Kicior
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquous
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks javamonkey, emerging with USE=-nsplugin solved the problem for me :D (better a slightly crippled LibO than none at all :))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javamonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Porto - Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that both openoffice and libreoffice stopped building with nsplugin after the upgrade of libxml2 from 2.7.7 to 2.7.8 since the latest version introduced the icu flag that causes the problem.

I guess I'll take the plunge and try to build libreoffice with the older version, just to confirm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javamonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Porto - Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, got it working.

1. Downgraded libxml2 to 2.7.7
2. Emerged libreoffice with nsplugin
3. Upgrade libxml2 to 2.7.8

libreoffice is still working. Added this to the bug. Seems something in libxml2 is breaking libreoffice and openoffice builds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

javamonkey wrote:
Ok, got it working.

1. Downgraded libxml2 to 2.7.7
2. Emerged libreoffice with nsplugin
3. Upgrade libxml2 to 2.7.8

libreoffice is still working. Added this to the bug. Seems something in libxml2 is breaking libreoffice and openoffice builds.


Not an option if you are running KDE-4.6, I'm afraid. I tried to downgrade libxml2 and it really started jacking with my KDE-4.6 install. The '-nsplugin' solution seems to be the only way. I suspect this will get fixed soon though...I really like the idea of libreoffice and it probably has the best chance of getting fixed soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI: I have encountered the same problem on ~x86. Attempting -nsplugin use flag.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquous
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like the bug has been fixed 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. Compiled on ~amd64.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javamonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Porto - Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, seems to be fixed: I tested both on x86 and amd64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 486
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's fixed for libreoffice, but not for openoffice. However, as it appears the former will eventually completely replace the latter in portage, I suppose the only good answer is to switch now. (see this bug)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2541
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it's not fixed for me. I just tried to emerge libreoffice 3.3.1 and got
the dreaded error:
Code:
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/mdds
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/icc
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/ixion
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/afms
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/libwpd
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/libtextcat
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/mythes
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/lpsolve
ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /mnt/sdb1/tmp/portage/app-office/libreoffice-3.3.1/work/libreoffice-build-3.3.1.2/build/libreoffice-3.3.1.2/hyphen


And I have -nsplugin .... The flags I had set were:

Code:
USE="cups dbus kde ldap opengl


Any one know what could be *my* problem? TIA,
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 486
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I successfully emerged 3.3.1 with "cups dbus gstreamer gtk java kde nsplugin opengl " so it's probably not the same issue. There are a number of hits if you google for "error 65280 occurred while making"- do any of them seem relevant?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2541
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reset features to -j1 in make.conf and it built
(but that is **pathetic**)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't even work with -j 1 any more when re-emerging openoffice. :-(

So I'll try out LibreOffice. I really hope, that unoconv still works with it, because I need unoconv for my work.
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum