Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome 3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andrewwalker27
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:20 am    Post subject: Gnome 3 Reply with quote

I surprisingly couldn't find anyone else asking but as Gnome 3 was officially released yesterday I was wondering when it would be in portage testing? I could use the overlay but if it's going to be marked testing very soon I'd rather wait until then before I emerge it.
Any predictions anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forrestfunk81
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Feb 2006
Posts: 483
Location: münchen.de

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a tracking bug in bugzilla.

Quote:
I'm opening this bug for tracking any issue related to development and most
likely up to first rc releases of gnome 3 so people working with the overlay
can have a quick glimpse at all reported bugs.

We will most likely need to close this one when moving ebuilds to the tree and
open a new report to track for specific problems of the portage tree and avoid
pollution of portage/overlay mixes and such.


Most of the depending bugs are closed, only five are open.
_________________
# cd /pub/
# more beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowheremansq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Jinan,China

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forrestfunk81 wrote:
There is a tracking bug in bugzilla.

Quote:
I'm opening this bug for tracking any issue related to development and most
likely up to first rc releases of gnome 3 so people working with the overlay
can have a quick glimpse at all reported bugs.

We will most likely need to close this one when moving ebuilds to the tree and
open a new report to track for specific problems of the portage tree and avoid
pollution of portage/overlay mixes and such.


Most of the depending bugs are closed, only five are open.


It seems that this bug test is for GNOME 3.0 Pre Release, but it was officially released yesterday !
Has gentoo start the test of official release version of gnome3?
_________________
My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5618
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its been in the gnome overlay for ages.

There is some blog statement from a gentoo-gnome dev saying it prob won't see the tree until gnome-3.2 and if it does appear in the main tree before then it will be hardmasked
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akendo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
Its been in the gnome overlay for ages.



How stable is this overlay?

Greeting Akendo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5618
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stable as the upstream source.
I emerge gnome3 (with a bit of hitting it) earlier today. gdm is in a bit of a state but apart from that you get a desktop
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LukynZ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 230
Location: The Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am unable to compile gnome-utils-3.0.0 but others compile fine with one little fix with symbolic link.....and I like it :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 432
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having a hard time deciding whether to test it out now (via the overlay) or wait a couple of months for it to straighten out.. I guess a couple of -r* releases will improve the experience a lot.
_________________
Weeks of coding can save you hours of planning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Proteinshake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on Gnome 3 for two weeks now (gnome overlay), and so far it's been a pleasant experience. I'm sure there's still a lot of optimization work to be done, but it's really not that hard on my little Atom 330 Netbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forrestfunk81 wrote:
There is a tracking bug in bugzilla.

Quote:
I'm opening this bug for tracking any issue related to development and most
likely up to first rc releases of gnome 3 so people working with the overlay
can have a quick glimpse at all reported bugs.

We will most likely need to close this one when moving ebuilds to the tree and
open a new report to track for specific problems of the portage tree and avoid
pollution of portage/overlay mixes and such.


Most of the depending bugs are closed, only five are open.


I was looking through them. Doesn't look too bad. If this is it, I reckon I can install it. Question then is how? There is a meta package on the overlay. Do you install using that? Any other ways?

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5618
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

monsm wrote:
forrestfunk81 wrote:
There is a tracking bug in bugzilla.

Quote:
I'm opening this bug for tracking any issue related to development and most
likely up to first rc releases of gnome 3 so people working with the overlay
can have a quick glimpse at all reported bugs.

We will most likely need to close this one when moving ebuilds to the tree and
open a new report to track for specific problems of the portage tree and avoid
pollution of portage/overlay mixes and such.


Most of the depending bugs are closed, only five are open.


I was looking through them. Doesn't look too bad. If this is it, I reckon I can install it. Question then is how? There is a meta package on the overlay. Do you install using that? Any other ways?

Mons


layman -a gnome
echo "-introspection" >> /etc/portage/profile/use.mask
emerge @installed -uvDNa # to emerge new use flags 1st
emerge gnome
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowheremansq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Jinan,China

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Proteinshake wrote:
I'm on Gnome 3 for two weeks now (gnome overlay), and so far it's been a pleasant experience. I'm sure there's still a lot of optimization work to be done, but it's really not that hard on my little Atom 330 Netbook.


Well, can gnome-shell be work on a netbook? You know, my laptop's on-board video card is Intel GMA x3100, I'm not sure whether gnome-shell can work on it :cry:
_________________
My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Motomouse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running Gnome 3 overlay on Funtoo, l like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Unsupported Software as Gnome 3 is not currently in the Portage tree.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mortagon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just emerged it from the gnome overlay. gnome-base/gnome-keyring and x11-terms/gnome-terminal are broken in the overlay though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mortagon wrote:
Just emerged it from the gnome overlay. gnome-base/gnome-keyring and x11-terms/gnome-terminal are broken in the overlay though.


...and add to that Empathy-3.0.0

It complains about...

Code:
No package 'gcr-3' found


Which I presume has something to do with gnome-keyring-3.0.0

Gnome-Keyring-3 and Gnome-terminal-3 IS installed, but I CAN NOT re-emerge without it complaining.

My guess is, some library has been updated since the original emerge and as a result, I can no longer build aforementioned.

Looking everywhere for solutions, checking the ebuilds and it looks as if I have the correct dependencies, so who knows whats up?

At a loss now. (spent 2 days on this) :cry:
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to Gilles Dartiguelongue for the update in the gnome overlay.

Emerging the new gnome-keyring allows me to emerge the latest empathy.

I have also pushed up GCC to 4.5.2

Things are compiling nicely now.

5 to go and it's all done.

:lol:
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghutzl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 117
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello!

I have unmasked gnome-3.0.0 by

Code:
autounmask =gnome-base/gnome-3.0.0


After that I encounter a conflict when trying to do do:

Code:
emerge @installed -uvDNa # to emerge new use flags 1st


as suggested above. This is the output:

Code:
!!! One or more updates have been skipped due to a dependency conflict:

net-libs/gtk-vnc:0

  (net-libs/gtk-vnc-0.4.3-r300::gnome, ebuild scheduled for merge) conflicts with
    >=net-libs/gtk-vnc-0.3.8[python] required by (app-emulation/virt-manager-0.8.7::gentoo, installed)


The gtk-vnc version that is required by vinagre-3.0.0 does not have the python use flag at all. Actually it is forcibly disabling python in the ebuild:

Code:
--with-python=no \


This looks to me like another blocker for gnome-3.0.0 (although virt-manager is also marked ~amd64). Does anyone have a solution to that?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Ghutzl

Have you tried adding to /etc/portage/package.use
Code:
net-libs/gtk-vnc gtk3


then

Code:
emerge --newuse gtk-vnc


You might get passed this blocker if you try this.

UPDATE
try net-libs/gtk-vnc gtk3

I asked you to try gtk-vnc with the introspection USE flag, and I should have asked you to try the gtk3 USE flag.
Apologies.
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!


Last edited by Thistled on Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did the above work Ghutzl?
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghutzl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 117
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Thistled!

I gave up for now on gnome 3. I had a hard time getting my system cleaned up from the first half of the packages it had already installed. I think your suggestion above will not work because my problem is that I need a gtk-vnc version that has the use flag "python" which the new net-libs/gtk-vnc-0.4.3-r300 does not have and gnome3 does require that one. So I have a conflict that cannot be solved. I can only select between gnome3 or virt-manager. I need virt-manager, so gnome3 is not an option for me at the moment.

Thanks for your suggestion anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd, as I have net-libs/gtk-vnc-0.4.3-r301 installed with the python USE flag.
Code:
* net-libs/gtk-vnc
     Available versions:  0.4.2-r2 ~0.4.3 (~)0.4.3-r301[1] {examples gtk3 +introspection python sasl}
     Installed versions:  Version: 0.4.3-r301[1]
                          Date:    23:55:31 04/17/11
                          USE:     gtk3 introspection python sasl -examples
     Best versions/slot:  (~)0.4.3-r301[1]
     Homepage:            http://live.gnome.org/gtk-vnc
     Description:         VNC viewer widget for GTK.
     License:             GPL-2


It was built with gtk3 introspection python sasl

Hmmm. Have you tried (although it might be too late now, as you have given up) the latest gtk-vnc?
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghutzl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 117
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds interesting and gives me some hope again. As soon as I have some spare time I will give it another try. Thanks for the info!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
costel78
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:36 pm    Post subject: Pulseaudio Reply with quote

Pulseaudio in Gnome 3 it's not working for me :(

The audio card are present and are working. If I chose ALSA instead default on apps the sound it's working (clementine, vlc, audacious etc)
Code:
cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                      HDA Intel at 0xf7ff8000 irq 48
 1 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfba7c000 irq 17
 2 [U0x46d0x9a4    ]: USB-Audio - USB Device 0x46d:0x9a4
                      USB Device 0x46d:0x9a4 at usb-0000:00:1a.0-1.3, high speed
 3 [SAA7134        ]: SAA7134 - SAA7134
                      saa7133[0] at 0xfbfff800 irq 16


pulseaudio show me NO ERROR but module-udev-detect.c: Found 0 cards.

Code:
pulseaudio -k ; pulseaudio -vvvv
I: main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_NICE, (31, 31)) failed: Operation not permitted
I: main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_RTPRIO, (9, 9)) failed: Operation not permitted
D: core-rtclock.c: Timer slack is set to 50 us.
I: core-util.c: Failed to acquire high-priority scheduling: No such file or directory
I: main.c: This is PulseAudio 0.9.22
D: main.c: Compilation host: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
D: main.c: Compilation CFLAGS: -O2 -pipe -march=native -mtune=native -ftracer -ftree-vectorize -w -floop-interchange -floop-strip-mine -floop-block -ftree-loop-distribution -ftree-loop-im -fgcse-sm -fgcse-las -fgcse-after-reload -fsched-spec-load -Wall -W -Wextra -pipe -Wno-long-long -Winline -Wvla -Wno-overlength-strings -Wunsafe-loop-optimizations -Wundef -Wformat=2 -Wlogical-op -Wsign-compare -Wformat-security -Wmissing-include-dirs -Wformat-nonliteral -Wold-style-definition -Wpointer-arith -Winit-self -Wdeclaration-after-statement -Wfloat-equal -Wmissing-prototypes -Wstrict-prototypes -Wredundant-decls -Wmissing-declarations -Wmissing-noreturn -Wshadow -Wendif-labels -Wcast-align -Wstrict-aliasing=2 -Wwrite-strings -Wno-unused-parameter -ffast-math -Wp,-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -fno-common -fdiagnostics-show-option
D: main.c: Running on host: Linux x86_64 2.6.38-gentoo-r2 #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Apr 16 13:14:24 EEST 2011
D: main.c: Found 8 CPUs.
I: main.c: Page size is 4096 bytes
D: main.c: Compiled with Valgrind support: no
D: main.c: Running in valgrind mode: no
D: main.c: Running in VM: no
D: main.c: Optimized build: yes
D: main.c: All asserts enabled.
I: main.c: Machine ID is 5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c.
I: main.c: Using runtime directory /home/costel/.pulse/5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c-runtime.
I: main.c: Using state directory /home/costel/.pulse.
I: main.c: Using modules directory /usr/lib64/pulse-0.9.22/modules.
I: main.c: Running in system mode: no
I: main.c: Fresh high-resolution timers available! Bon appetit!
I: cpu-x86.c: CPU flags: CMOV MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4_1 SSE4_2
I: svolume_mmx.c: Initialising MMX optimized functions.
I: remap_mmx.c: Initialising MMX optimized remappers.
I: svolume_sse.c: Initialising SSE2 optimized functions.
I: remap_sse.c: Initialising SSE2 optimized remappers.
I: sconv_sse.c: Initialising SSE2 optimized conversions.
D: memblock.c: Using shared memory pool with 1024 slots of size 64,0 KiB each, total size is 64,0 MiB, maximum usable slot size is 65472
D: database-gdbm.c: Opened GDBM database '/home/costel/.pulse/5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c-device-volumes.x86_64-pc-linux-gnu.gdbm'
I: module-device-restore.c: Sucessfully opened database file '/home/costel/.pulse/5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c-device-volumes'.
I: module.c: Loaded "module-device-restore" (index: #0; argument: "").
D: database-gdbm.c: Opened GDBM database '/home/costel/.pulse/5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c-stream-volumes.x86_64-pc-linux-gnu.gdbm'
I: module-stream-restore.c: Sucessfully opened database file '/home/costel/.pulse/5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c-stream-volumes'.
I: module.c: Loaded "module-stream-restore" (index: #1; argument: "").
D: database-gdbm.c: Opened GDBM database '/home/costel/.pulse/5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c-card-database.x86_64-pc-linux-gnu.gdbm'
I: module-card-restore.c: Sucessfully opened database file '/home/costel/.pulse/5a9fe271fb4b2faa775d80a200007b3c-card-database'.
I: module.c: Loaded "module-card-restore" (index: #2; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-augment-properties" (index: #3; argument: "").
D: cli-command.c: Checking for existance of '/usr/lib64/pulse-0.9.22/modules/module-udev-detect.so': success
I: module-udev-detect.c: Found 0 cards.
I: module.c: Loaded "module-udev-detect" (index: #4; argument: "").
D: cli-command.c: Checking for existance of '/usr/lib64/pulse-0.9.22/modules/module-bluetooth-discover.so': failure
D: cli-command.c: Checking for existance of '/usr/lib64/pulse-0.9.22/modules/module-esound-protocol-unix.so': success
I: module.c: Loaded "module-esound-protocol-unix" (index: #5; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-native-protocol-unix" (index: #6; argument: "").
D: cli-command.c: Checking for existance of '/usr/lib64/pulse-0.9.22/modules/module-gconf.so': success
I: module.c: Loaded "module-gconf" (index: #7; argument: "").
I: module-default-device-restore.c: Saved default sink 'auto_null' not existant, not restoring default sink setting.
I: module-default-device-restore.c: Saved default source 'auto_null.monitor' not existant, not restoring default source setting.
I: module.c: Loaded "module-default-device-restore" (index: #8; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-rescue-streams" (index: #9; argument: "").
D: module-always-sink.c: Autoloading null-sink as no other sinks detected.
I: module-device-restore.c: Restoring volume for sink auto_null.
I: sink.c: Created sink 0 "auto_null" with sample spec s16le 2ch 44100Hz and channel map front-left,front-right
I: sink.c:     device.description = "Dummy Output"
I: sink.c:     device.class = "abstract"
I: sink.c:     device.icon_name = "audio-card"
D: core-subscribe.c: Dropped redundant event due to change event.
I: source.c: Created source 0 "auto_null.monitor" with sample spec s16le 2ch 44100Hz and channel map front-left,front-right
I: source.c:     device.description = "Monitor of Dummy Output"
I: source.c:     device.class = "monitor"
I: source.c:     device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
D: module-null-sink.c: Thread starting up
I: module.c: Loaded "module-null-sink" (index: #10; argument: "sink_name=auto_null sink_properties='device.description="Dummy Output"'").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-always-sink" (index: #11; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-intended-roles" (index: #12; argument: "").
D: module-suspend-on-idle.c: Sink auto_null becomes idle, timeout in 5 seconds.
I: module.c: Loaded "module-suspend-on-idle" (index: #13; argument: "").
D: dbus-util.c: Successfully connected to D-Bus system bus 0750dc42e292ca07dbd0fc000000000c as :1.92
I: client.c: Created 0 "ConsoleKit Session /org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Session4"
D: module-console-kit.c: Added new session /org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Session4
I: module.c: Loaded "module-console-kit" (index: #14; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-position-event-sounds" (index: #15; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-cork-music-on-phone" (index: #16; argument: "").
D: dbus-util.c: Successfully connected to D-Bus session bus 080eeaeeb35d742b39049c8b00000124 as :1.49
D: main.c: Got org.pulseaudio.Server!
I: main.c: Daemon startup complete.
D: module-console-kit.c: dbus: interface=org.freedesktop.DBus, path=/org/freedesktop/DBus, member=NameAcquired
I: client.c: Created 1 "Native client (UNIX socket client)"
D: protocol-native.c: Protocol version: remote 16, local 16
I: protocol-native.c: Got credentials: uid=1000 gid=100 success=1
D: protocol-native.c: SHM possible: yes
D: protocol-native.c: Negotiated SHM: yes
I: client.c: Created 2 "Native client (UNIX socket client)"
D: module-augment-properties.c: Looking for .desktop file for gnome-settings-daemon
D: protocol-native.c: Protocol version: remote 16, local 16
I: protocol-native.c: Got credentials: uid=1000 gid=100 success=1
D: protocol-native.c: SHM possible: yes
D: protocol-native.c: Negotiated SHM: yes
D: core-subscribe.c: Dropped redundant event due to change event.
D: module-augment-properties.c: Looking for .desktop file for gnome-shell
D: module-augment-properties.c: Found /usr/share/applications/gnome-shell.desktop.
I: module-suspend-on-idle.c: Sink auto_null idle for too long, suspending ...
D: sink.c: Suspend cause of sink auto_null is 0x0004, suspending


It's not the cflags, same behaviour with "-O2 -pipe" on compile udev dbus pulseaudio.
System>Sound Settings>Hardware: List is empty. I got only Dummy output on Output.

What drive me crazy it's:
1. Everything worked few days ago when I installed Gnome 3
2. I REALLY miss system volume control (I control it from keyboard). The sound volume is increasing and decreasing but ... for Dummy sound. That's my main issue.
3. I started with a fresh, clean profile - no change
4. I enabled pulseaudio flag globally - no change. It's disabled now.
5. fuser /dev/snd/* show no PID

Any hint ?
_________________
Sorry for my English. I'm still learning this language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghutzl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 117
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

I was able to install gnome 3 now. I was forced to upgrade to firefox 4 too because a new version of xulrunner was needed. I wanted to stick to firefox 3.6 for a while to let it become more stable but now I will see how it works out.

I am quite impressed by the new gnome 3. Looks like I will switch to it sooner or later. Although I was a kde4 fan. Sometimes the gnome shell freezes and I have to reboot. But I think this is quite smiilar to how kde4 was in the beginning. It will become more stable in the future. I am looking forward to what the future brings us.

Thanks to Thistled who encouraged me to try the installation again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum