Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gnome3 and gdm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jancici
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:39 am    Post subject: gnome3 and gdm Reply with quote

trying to install gnome3 from overlay
there is dependency on gdm-3.0.0 which is masked by /usr/portage/profiles/package.mask

so I edit that file, but maybe there better way
what you think?
is it okay just unmask by /etc/portage/package.unmask ?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ComaWhite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use the package autounmask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Katherine1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if you want to go the easy way.

But yes, it is perfectly fine to unmask gdm-3.0.0 in that manner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I tried to emerge GDM-3 together with Gnome 3. How do you actually start GDM-3 now. It didn't start for me.
Any ideas on how to get it configured so it can start?
I just had "gdm" in my xdm file under /etc/conf.d

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jancici
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, you are right, you should have "gdm" in /etc/conf.d/xdm

check xorg's log file : /var/log/Xorg.0.log
after starting xdd : /etc/init.d/xdm start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jancici wrote:
well, you are right, you should have "gdm" in /etc/conf.d/xdm

check xorg's log file : /var/log/Xorg.0.log
after starting xdd : /etc/init.d/xdm start


The Xorg.0.log seems fine. the error I get is: Couldn't connect to system bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_scoket: No such file or directory

I have been searching for dbus and gdm problems but can't find anything, and no hints on how to configure it. Any idea?

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3253
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is dbus currently running? IIRC one time I had a similar dbus problem and fixed it by making sure dbus was at the boot run level, even though normally we set it at default run level. In general, I think the key to this stuff is that somehow dbus is by default starting AFTER whatever is needing it is already started. At least that's my current theory. :lol:

What does your "rc-update show" report?
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex46
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Location: Vienna/Austria

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:57 am    Post subject: gnome3 gdm3 start problems Reply with quote

I have the same problems,

when gdm-3.0.0-r1 starts

Couldn't connect to system bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_scoket: No such file or directory

yes it is a timing problem

i have put xdm-setup and xdm in local

(nano /etc/local.d/xdm.start with content:

xdm-setup start
xdm start

chmod +x /etc/local.d/xdm.start
and rc-update del xdm start)

and now it starts without problems


Last edited by alex46 on Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please mark the topic as [solved]?
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum