Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] [Gnome 3] Audio volume control
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ekryyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:25 pm    Post subject: [Solved] [Gnome 3] Audio volume control Reply with quote

Hello,
I've just emerged gnome 3 on my gentoo, everything goes well except one detail :
The little volume icon on the top-right doesn't control my sound volume.

I really don't know how to describe this problem :p
I post it in "Desktop Environments" forum because it doesn't seems to be a sound issue...

I do have sound, I can even control it from alsamixer. When I scroll with the gnome's top-right applet, I can hear the cute sound "plop" which intends to indicate the current sound level. But it doesn't change.

Something could be relevant :
In addition of my primary sound card (which is on my motherboard) I have an nvidia video card with hdmi output, which i do Not use.
Both appear in the "sound settings" gnome's panel.
Trying to switch from one to the other doesn't have any effect on the volume controller on the top-right corner...

What could I say... I have PulseAudio installed, running

Someone knows what's happening ?


Last edited by ekryyn on Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:01 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does 'pacmd' offer any hints ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ekryyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your quick answer,

i tried so set the volume with pacmd on the right sink : it changes the level of the scrollbar on the lop-right applet, icon is updated too to reflect the volume i set, but real sound volume doesn't change.

It looks like pulseaudio doesn't have control on the real output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pastebin 'info' from pacmd and look at it yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ekryyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, I've looked on the web and read my pcmd info far and wide, so I feel kind of silly
to come back here with no answer to my problem...

Here is my pacmd info :
http://pastebin.com/UX0kFCCz

by reading it, everything seems to be ok... But I don't really know what it should be like, that's
my very first pulseaudio install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See if changing card profile of card 1 from output:iec958-stereo+input:analog-stereo to output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo helps.

Also, check that card in alsamixer - perhaps one of the controls is set incorrectly there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ekryyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Again, thanks for replying :)

I tried to change the profile, it didn't change anything.

As it began to make me crazy, I tried it with no hope :

Code:
rm -rf ~/.pulse*


Then running pacmd list-cards told me that "No PulseAudio daemon running, or not running as session daemon."
So i ran this :
Code:
/usr/bin/pulseaudio --start --log-target=syslog


And then, everything seemed to be ok : the top-right icon works, and control my sound correctly.

I also tried change the sound volume with pacmd with "pacmd set-sink-volume 1 0" and "pacmd set-sink-volume 1 60000" which works perfectly.

Finally, I got my gnome-shell volume controller working, but whithout understanding why :p The most surprising fact is that my .pulse files were totally new, as my home was...

I mark this topic as resolved, but still interested in an explanation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'd run 'info' again and check for differences.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Unsupported Software as Gnome 3 is not in the Portage tree yet so it is officially unsupported.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum