Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Reduce Eye Strain - Optimising X
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
torchZ06
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 175
Location: the front range

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:lol: i know exactly how you feel! after all this time i finally got my display lookin how i wanted it to... and i couldn't believe it was right there all along

glad it helped

:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JuNix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Sheffield

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reawakening an old thread eh? Good tip! Thanks )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a pc with an S3 based card and I can't seem to get it to use a refresh rate other than 60Hz. I tried xvidtune and it says "Video modes not tuneable on this chip". When I change the resolution with Kde display resize and reshape it says that I am running 85Hz but the monitor filckers and the osd says its in 60 Hz mode.

Here is my monitor, device and screen sections of XF86Config:
Code:

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "My Monitor"

# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

#    HorizSync   31.5 - 82.0
# cgt- 07/06/04 try these for the KDS VS190p
HorizSync   30-96

#    HorizSync   30-64         # multisync
#    HorizSync   31.5, 35.2    # multiple fixed sync frequencies
#    HorizSync   15-25, 30-50  # multiple ranges of sync frequencies

# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

# cgt- 07/06/04 try these for the KDS VS190p
#    VertRefresh 50-90
    VertRefresh 50-160
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "* Generic VESA compatible"
    Driver      "vesa"
    #VideoRam    4096
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of screen sections may be present.  Each describes
# the configuration of a single screen.  A single specific screen section
# may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
# option.
# cgt- 07/06/04 somewhat working but with horrible refresh
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "* Generic VESA compatible"
    Monitor     "My Monitor"
#    DefaultDepth 24
    DefaultDepth 16

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
#        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
#        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        Modes        "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
#        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection

EndSection

_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
torchZ06
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 175
Location: the front range

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john,

here is my xorg.conf
Code:
# generated by X -configure
# modified by ppk 3jul2004

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Logitech Mx510" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
   ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "speedo"
   Load  "type1"
   Load  "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Logitech Mx510"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Sony GDM-FW900"
   HorizSync    30-121
   VertRefresh  48-160
   Option        "DPMS"
   DisplaySize  482 308
   Modeline "1920x1200_85.00"  282.74  1920 2072 2280 2640  1200 1201 1204 1260  -HSync +Vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Option     "HWcursor"   "false"
        Identifier  "GeForce FX 5200"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "GeForce FX 5200"
   Monitor    "Sony GDM-FW900"
   DefaultDepth 24
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth     24
      Viewport  0 0
      Modes   "1920x1200_85.00"
   EndSubSection
EndSection





try using the built in GTF utility gtf to generate some modelines for your monitor:

Code:
ppk@sledgehammer ppk $ gtf 1024 768 75

  # 1024x768 @ 75.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 60.15 kHz; pclk: 81.80 MHz
  Modeline "1024x768_75.00"  81.80  1024 1080 1192 1360  768 769 772 802  -HSync +Vsync


then insert them as shown in my xorg.conf

good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I'll try that.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koroumel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Athens, Greece

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This post finally let me have tha same resolution as I did in Wee&Doze! Great tip, thnx!
_________________
"Yep linux is an alternative. Windows on the other hand isn't even an option"
Registered Linux User No #242616
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried installing ddcxinfo-knoppix? This tool queries all possible modelines from your monitor! I increased the refresh rate of my monitor from 85 to 100Hz.

imho is copy-pasting a lot easier then playing with xvidtune... :roll: ;)

(unfortunately, I disabled some modelines again after about a month, I heared some high frequency noice coming out of my monitor.. Don't know why, but it is just bad luck imo) edit: fixed this by removing some high mode lines that I didn't use anyway.. :-) :?
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]


Last edited by vdboor on Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:32 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roothorick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Menasha, WI

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because of a thing called DDC that's always probed by default, if you attempt a modeline that your monitor can't do, and your monitor is DDC-capable (everything modern is), X will blatantly refuse to use that modeline, and the only sign of this is an error in your XFree86.log (or whatever the X.org equiv is, and actually, you might not even get that). However, if you have a DDC-capable monitor, there's a big shortcut you can use:

I don't set up modelines for my SAMTRON 75E, I just tell X I want 85Hz VSync or higher, and let DDC and good ol math do the rest:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Generic Monitor"
     VertRefresh 85
    Option      "dpms"
EndSection


My monitor is capable of 1280x1024 @ 60Hz, and can't reach 85Hz until as low as 1024x768. With this configuration, X automatically creates its own modeline for 1024x768@85Hz, and away I go!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great! everyone seams to learn new things here.. :)
cheers!
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
torchZ06
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 175
Location: the front range

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vdboor wrote:
Have you tried installing ddcxinfo-knoppix?


i tried to install that, but it failed to compile-- no error message too. :(

maybe it's a problem on amd64, but it wasn't flagged as ~ though....

thanks for the tip though, cause i'll try it out on my x86 box :)

Quote:
My monitor is capable of 1280x1024 @ 60Hz, and can't reach 85Hz until as low as 1024x768. With this configuration, X automatically creates its own modeline for 1024x768@85Hz, and away I go!


roothorick, that's pretty cool-- i wasn't aware that was the default when you only specify a vert refresh. only problem is with newer CRTs you'll probably get some huge resolution like 2048x1536 or the crazy 2304x1440 on my sony, so if you wanna step it back to something a bit more conservative, like 1920x1200 :D , then i guess there's no free lunch-- ya gotta type it all in.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mad_Tiger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In this page (http://koala.ilog.fr/cgi-bin/nph-colas-modelines); what am i suppose to enter here?

Max Bandwidth:
Min Bandwidth:

BTW i got this screen and this video card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhurt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Davis, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

torchZ06 wrote:
one thing that helped me was a utility called gtf that's built into X.

<snip>

FWIW, none of the modelines that i got from either of those two sites worked very well for me, but the ones from the gtf utility were dead on.


Thanks so much for this utility. I knew that my monitor was displaying crappy, but I had no idea how bad it was until this fixed it. I can verify that the two sites gave me garbage for the modeline. Both would calculate the pixel refresh wrong. They would give 135.8 which was too high, 135.5 is the correct value, and my monitor would not display it. Thanks!!!
_________________
"And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony, anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky's the limit!" -- The Tick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
torchZ06
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 175
Location: the front range

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhurt wrote:
Both would calculate the pixel refresh wrong. They would give 135.8 which was too high, 135.5 is the correct value, and my monitor would not display it.


exactly. in my case the values the sites calculated required an extremely high dot clock-- 350MHz i think. my monitor would do 380MHz so no problem there, but my geforce2 GTS would only go to 300MHz @ 24bit color, so i went out an bought a GeForceFX 5200 which did support the required dot clock, but the screen those numbers generated was fugly! it seemed to be squashed barely covering 60% of the CRT and i couldn't get it to expand enough with xvidtune. so i knew there had to be a better way...

funny thing is the man page for gtf says it was written by andy ritger and i remember stumbling across a web page years ago by none other than andy ritger (yea,i've got a good memory). i was trying to solve the same problem then, but i didn't know much about xfree (or even linux for that matter) at the time so i never fixed it. i don't know if gtf was around at that time, but IIRC there was a calculator similar to those other pages on his page way back when and it probably would have given the correct numbers. oh well, i guess good things come to those that wait :)

glad to have helped!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Posts: 299

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ranmakun wrote:
Mr. Static Void wrote:
Well this does not work one bit. My montior remains at 60 Hz, even though I should be able to get it to 69 Hz.


I've had some problems in the past with modelines calculated with that page, I used this page:
http://koala.ilog.fr/cgi-bin/nph-colas-modelines

That gave me much better results.



Umm, something has to be wrong.

Windows tells me the max refresh for my monitor at 1280x1024/1280x960 is 85hz, and xorg-x11 with no predefined modelines also defaults to 85hz for both resolutions.

However, the colas modeline generator, with the exact info from viewsonic's own spec sheet (I have a G90fb) says that I can do 1280x960 at 97hz.

Is it possible that windows is wrong AND xorg's original vertrefresh guess are so far under what it can do?

Code:

Section "Monitor"
        #DisplaySize      360   270     # mm
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        VendorName   "VSC"
        ModelName    "G90fb-2"
        HorizSync    30.0 - 97.0
        VertRefresh  50.0 - 180.0
        Option      "DPMS"

The bandwidth is 200mhz as well.

I tried it with the modeline, and it indeed ran at 97hz at 1280x960, it didn't make any noise or shut down or anything. Will running this at 97hz end up killing the monitor in a week or something?

One thing I do know, I'd love to be running 97hz right now instead of 85 :O

edit: with the exact same info into the other modeline generator (the sourceforge one), it says I can do 95hz. Just FYI

Here is my monitor's specs:
http://www.viewsonic.com/products/desktopdisplays/crtmonitors/graphicseries/g90fb/
In the pdf, it says I can do 1280x1024@90hz, so windoze and xorg's guesses are both under, hmmm...

edit2: and that knoppix program says I can do 100 :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dolio
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Malakai:

As far as I know, Windows only allows certain standard resolutions/refresh rates. You'll never get it to run at 97 Hz, or such, so that's not a good indicator.

1280x1024@85 is a sort of "approved" standard mode. One of the buttons on my monitor lists possible refresh rates. There are user timings and factory timings. Factory timings seem to be the standard ones:

1280x1024@85
1280x1024@75
1024x768@85

And so on. However, my monitor is capable of doing better than that. For example, I'm currently running at 1440x1080@85, and I can do 1280x960@95 and so on. These aren't factory timings, though, so I don't think XOrg/XFree will use them by default. If you want to fully use your monitor's capabilities, you need to specify your own modelines and use "non-standard" user timings.
_________________
They don't have a good bathroom to do coke in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Posts: 299

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dolio wrote:
Malakai:

As far as I know, Windows only allows certain standard resolutions/refresh rates. You'll never get it to run at 97 Hz, or such, so that's not a good indicator.

1280x1024@85 is a sort of "approved" standard mode. One of the buttons on my monitor lists possible refresh rates. There are user timings and factory timings. Factory timings seem to be the standard ones:

1280x1024@85
1280x1024@75
1024x768@85

And so on. However, my monitor is capable of doing better than that. For example, I'm currently running at 1440x1080@85, and I can do 1280x960@95 and so on. These aren't factory timings, though, so I don't think XOrg/XFree will use them by default. If you want to fully use your monitor's capabilities, you need to specify your own modelines and use "non-standard" user timings.


Thanks for the info. I used gtf and got a modeline for 1280x960@90hz, and everything is quite crisp and refreshing.
Much nicer than it was in windows. I figure I'll stay at 90 for now to be safe, as I cannot afford a new monitor if this one dies. I will note however that for 24 hours straight the monitor did 1280x960@95hz without a single hiccup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlindSpy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This guide looks awesome! - im just posting here so that I can find it when I get home from work =)

Its interesting though, I've never seen any X configs with modelines before. Whats the first float number after the identifier of the mode line?
_________________
Symlinks to:
xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queequeg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Evergreen, CO

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks TorchZ06 for showing me this thread.

It was exactly what I wanted

Queequeg

Kewords: stretch shrink display left right center up down tune video card gui config .conf modeline
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kavau
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:31 am    Post subject: Re: Reduce Eye Strain - Optimising X Reply with quote

JuNix wrote:
The number of people who are using X with unoptimised vertical refresh rates amazes me. So many people are staring at a screen all day long which is refreshing at 60Hz when with a bit of work they could configure their system to refresh at a much higher rate.


This is a bit OT, but I think some people are just insensitive to screen flicker. Many people are quite stunned when I tell them "hmmm... looks like your screen has a refresh rate of only 70Hz." Usually I'm quite on-spot. :) When I change their refresh rate to 90Hz or so, they usually say it looks a bit nicer, but they don't really notice much difference...

For myself, I refuse to work behind a CRT monitor these days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b0fh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I wanted to tune my video-setings too, although I get 85Hz@1280x1024.
I calculated this modeline:
Code:

Modeline "1280x1024@96" 230.00 1280 1312 2184 2216 1024 1042 1058 1076

(my monitor can do 30-107KHz horiz., 50-160Hz vert. at a "video bandwith" of 230MHz).

But X won't go up with this mode, it says in Xorg.0.log:

Code:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1280x1024@96":
(WW) NVIDIA(0):   horizontal sync width (2184 - 1312 = 872) greater than 256


What's the problem? Can't my graphic card (geforce ddr) handle this?[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ateo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 2021
Location: Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent tip. Thanks so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cptmorgan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 129
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive searched google high and low and cant find specs for my monitor. Anyone want to help ???

Sony CPD-4201

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ateo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 2021
Location: Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cptmorgan wrote:
Ive searched google high and low and cant find specs for my monitor. Anyone want to help ???

Sony CPD-4201

Thanks


You really only need 3 specs. You have those specs if you have X/xorg configured. horizontal/vertical refresh and resolution (ex: 1024x768). That is all the information I entered and it worked perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Viha
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 121
Location: Jon's World

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the gtf tip from me too. I had tuned my monitor settins in windows at 1280x960 res from 85Hz to ~95Hz and I knew that I needed to get this right in linux and X if I were to continue using it (spent the last 5 months on windows only). :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum