Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox seems to pause a lot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:34 pm    Post subject: Firefox seems to pause a lot Reply with quote

Has anyone else seen this?
I find that Firefox 8 seems to have plenty of 1/4 to 1/2 second pauses on unloaded systems and is particularly sensitive to the system being busy.
Chromium does not seem to do this, hence my switch.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Telemin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 734
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had quite a beef with FF doing this lately, and I did come across a few mozilla bugzilla entries to the effect of "we know there are some issues but they're a pain to fix so be super patient and we might get round to it" although I can't find it as I don't have a synchronised history across machines.

FF9 does seem to be a lot better for it, although it's still not great.

I did also try chromium for a while but I got quickly irritated by the lack of certain plugins I have come to take rather for granted.

Perhaps I'll just drop all the way down to lynx, it will fit in nicely alongside MC, emacs and xmonad on my rather stone age desktop...
_________________
The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My simple desktop also includes emacs, fluxbox, xterms. I do use thunderbird but I have given up on Firefox.

The addons I take for granted include adblock (available), flashblock (available), "Right Click Opens Link in New Foreground Tab" (gives me some of the TabMixPlus right/middle click options, but not all, ALT-Enter on the Address bar gives one more bit).

I also use a TiddlyWiki, and thankfully, the java saver works now, so there is nothing in FF I miss.

The above addons where enough for me to be able to make the switch.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Telemin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 734
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, it would be noscript and priv3 that I would miss with chromium. There doesn't seem to be a replacment for priv3 at all and after I downloaded the PDF of my account data from FB recently I don't particularly want to browse without it. Its not even the security that much, just that they cripple the otherwise perversely invasive level of like button infiltration of the seemingly every site.
_________________
The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I realised what my problem was.
I had a particular tab, which I always kept open.
The problem, this page had a long list of entries that I could limit to '20 per page' or 'All', I had 'All' selected, by accident.
This caused the periodic automatic refresh to take quite a bit of effort, pausing the WHOLE browser in the process.
It seems that 'background' updates of tabs is not so 'background' at all.
I do prefer firefox, but this particular aspect is quite annoying.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try disabling sqlite's fsync.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destroyedlolo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 697
Location: Close to Annecy (France)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyallp wrote:
I
The problem, this page had a long list of entries that I could limit to '20 per page' or 'All', I had 'All' selected, by accident.
This caused the periodic automatic refresh to take quite a bit of effort, pausing the WHOLE browser in the process.
It seems that 'background' updates of tabs is not so 'background' at all.

I'm using an application that generate large HTML table.
It seems with recent versions of Firefox stuck the whole browser for long time for displaying such large tables ... (as Netscape 4 did :evil: ).
It's strange because I don't see the same behaviour on m$-windows version, and I have understood from FF guys that now each and every tab are managed by their own thread, meaning such global hanging impossible ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7106
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also had quite long ff-global hangs when also running wine, particularly after stopping wine when it had covered parts of the firefox window.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
Try disabling sqlite's fsync.

There is no obvious use flag to do this and I am disinclined to build by hand when the entire system is built using emerge.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum