Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Googleearth problem image - names
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 1:10 pm    Post subject: Googleearth problem image - names Reply with quote

Hello,
although i have installed 75dpi 100dpi adobe fonts
googleearth is ugly.No names and black squares triangles etc.

Here is a screenshot
http://postimage.org/image/yz2easf2v/

Any help?
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any help please
?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you'll have to read the ebuild text.
It wants the fonts in media/libs/freetype.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have installed freetype ... i read the ebuild.
I have to copy freetypes in somewhere else?
Where?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post the output of
Code:

emerge -pv googleearth

No need to move the fonts.
What desktop do you use?
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -pv googleearth

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies ... done!
[ebuild R ~] sci-geosciences/googleearth-6.2.2.6613 USE="qt-bundled -mdns-bundled" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB


I am using KDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I use the same desktop and the same googleearth version.
I have an nVidia graphic card.
If you have something else the please read about mesa at the end of the ebuild text.
That's all I can think of.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have nvidia too!
so what kind of problem is this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beats me.
I'm sorry but I'm out of ideas.
Hope someone else knows a solution.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1682

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried disabling qt-bundled?
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1647
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding something like the following to your xorg.conf might help:

Code:
Section "Files"                         
     #FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
     FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
     FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
     FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"   
     FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
     FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
     FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/corefonts"
EndSection

_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have already this in xorg.conf

Also i have tried -qt-bundled without result
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum