Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
doom3, quake4 won't start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:22 pm    Post subject: doom3, quake4 won't start Reply with quote

Hi,

I am posting here, because the ebuilds are masked.
since I got a new graphics adapter with non-broken 3D I thought I'd try again to play a game.
Both doom3 and quake4 fail on me.
quake4 says: "Fatal Error: Texture compression unavailable", doom3 is quite silent.
detailed output below.
ut2004 works as expected.
I am using the radeon driver with a HD6850.
For details please see this post.
Is there anything I can do?
Any hints welcome.
Thanks in advance.

EDIT:
doom3 also says: X..GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc not found
bizarrely this worked with some older radeon driver years back.
Is this again a problem with outdated mesa libs in app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-opengl?
My machine is amd64.

Code:
$ doom3
DOOM 1.3.1.1304 linux-x86 Jan 16 2007 21:58:02
found interface lo - loopback
found interface eth0 - 192.168.0.2/255.255.255.0
------ Initializing File System ------
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/game01.pk4 with checksum 0x51c6981f
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/game02.pk4 with checksum 0xf3ec6f7
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/game03.pk4 with checksum 0x5d4230ea
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak000.pk4 with checksum 0x28d208f1
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak001.pk4 with checksum 0x40244be0
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak002.pk4 with checksum 0xc51ecdcd
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak003.pk4 with checksum 0xcd79d028
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak004.pk4 with checksum 0x765e4f8b
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak005.pk4 with checksum 0x8ffc3621
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak006.pk4 with checksum 0x95b65ab
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak007.pk4 with checksum 0x666bdb3c
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom3/base/pak008.pk4 with checksum 0x23ae5993
Current search path:
/home/ahuemer/.doom3/base
/opt/doom3/base
/opt/doom3/base/pak008.pk4 (3 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak007.pk4 (38 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak006.pk4 (48 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak005.pk4 (63 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak004.pk4 (5137 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak003.pk4 (4676 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak002.pk4 (6120 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak001.pk4 (8972 files)
/opt/doom3/base/pak000.pk4 (2698 files)
/opt/doom3/base/game03.pk4 (2 files)
/opt/doom3/base/game02.pk4 (2 files)
/opt/doom3/base/game01.pk4 (2 files)
game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
Addon pk4s:
file system initialized.
--------------------------------------
----- Initializing Decls -----
------------------------------
------- Initializing renderSystem --------
using ARB renderSystem
renderSystem initialized.
--------------------------------------
5206 strings read from strings/english.lang
Couldn't open journal files
execing editor.cfg
execing default.cfg
execing DoomConfig.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
5206 strings read from strings/english.lang
----- Initializing Sound System ------
sound system initialized.
--------------------------------------
----- R_InitOpenGL -----
Setup X display connection
dlopen(libGL.so.1)
Initializing OpenGL display
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
DGA DirectVideo Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
Free86-VidModeExtension Activated at 1024x768
Using 8/8/8 Color bits, 8 Alpha bits, 24 depth, 8 stencil display.
GL_RENDERER: Gallium 0.4 on AMD BARTS
GL_EXTENSIONS: GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow GL_ARB_multisample GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_copy_texture GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_polygon_offset GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_subtexture GL_EXT_texture GL_EXT_texture3D GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_APPLE_packed_pixels GL_ATI_draw_buffers GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3 GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once GL_ATIX_texture_env_combine3 GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_INGR_blend_func_separate GL_MESA_pack_invert GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_depth_clamp GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_texture_border_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_SUN_multi_draw_arrays

------- Input Initialization -------
XKB extension: compile time 0x1:0x0, runtime 0x1:0x0: OK
XKB extension present on server ( 0x1:0x0 )
------------------------------------
dlopen(libasound.so.2)
asoundlib version: 1.0.25
Alsa is available
------ Alsa Sound Initialization -----
opened Alsa PCM device default for playback
device buffer size: 5644 frames ( 22576 bytes )
allocated a mix buffer of 16384 bytes
--------------------------------------
...using GL_ARB_multitexture
...using GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
...using GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
...using GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
...using GL_ARB_texture_env_add
...using GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two
...using GL_ARB_texture_compression
X..GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc not found
...using GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
   maxTextureAnisotropy: 16.000000
...using GL_EXT_texture_lod
...using GL_1.4_texture_lod_bias
X..GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette not found
...using GL_EXT_texture3D
...using GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
X..GL_NV_register_combiners not found
...using GL_EXT_stencil_two_side
X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found
X..GL_ATI_text_fragment_shader not found
X..GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object not found
...using GL_ARB_vertex_program
...using GL_ARB_fragment_program
X..EXT_depth_bounds_test not found
---------- R_NV20_Init ----------
Not available.
----------- R200_Init -----------
Not available.
---------- R_ARB2_Init ----------
Available.
---------------------------------
----- R_ReloadARBPrograms -----
glprogs/test.vfp
glprogs/test.vfp
glprogs/interaction.vfp
glprogs/interaction.vfp
glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp
glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp
glprogs/ambientLight.vfp
glprogs/ambientLight.vfp
glprogs/shadow.vp
glprogs/R200_interaction.vp
glprogs/nv20_bumpAndLight.vp
glprogs/nv20_diffuseColor.vp
glprogs/nv20_specularColor.vp
glprogs/nv20_diffuseAndSpecularColor.vp
glprogs/environment.vfp
glprogs/environment.vfp
glprogs/arbVP_glasswarp.txt: File not found
glprogs/arbFP_glasswarp.txt: File not found
-------------------------------
WARNING: vertex array range in virtual memory (SLOW)
signal caught: Segmentation fault
si_code 1
Trying to exit gracefully..
Shutting down sound hardware
----------- Alsa Shutdown ------------
close pcm
dlclose
--------------------------------------
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
$


Code:
$ quake4
Quake4  V1.4.2 linux-x86 Jun 15 2007
found interface lo - loopback
found interface eth0 - 192.168.0.2/255.255.255.0
CPU: Intel CPU with MMX & SSE & SSE2 & SSE3
enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
--------- Initializing File System ----------
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/game000.pk4 with checksum 0xb3abe28c
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/game100.pk4 with checksum 0x74b379d9
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/game200.pk4 with checksum 0xa3c810d9
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak001.pk4 with checksum 0xf2cbc998
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak002.pk4 with checksum 0x7f8d80d1
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak003.pk4 with checksum 0x1b57b207
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak004.pk4 with checksum 0x385aa578
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak005.pk4 with checksum 0x60d50a1d
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak006.pk4 with checksum 0x9099ed11
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak007.pk4 with checksum 0xaf301fff
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak008.pk4 with checksum 0x4ac6f6d9
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak009.pk4 with checksum 0x36030c7d
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak010.pk4 with checksum 0x4b80fbda
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak011.pk4 with checksum 0x8acf4cfa
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak012.pk4 with checksum 0xbe4120b0
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak013.pk4 with checksum 0x6ad67f40
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak014.pk4 with checksum 0xee51cd59
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak015.pk4 with checksum 0xf5bf4e0c
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak016.pk4 with checksum 0x2196f58c
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak017.pk4 with checksum 0x91118a35
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak018.pk4 with checksum 0x98a14f03
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak019.pk4 with checksum 0xbc82ac79
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak020.pk4 with checksum 0xce74cda5
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak021.pk4 with checksum 0x2ba6e70c
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/pak022.pk4 with checksum 0x4e390eec
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/q4cmp_pak001.pk4 with checksum 0xd0813943
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_01.pk4 with checksum 0xd9f04b8b
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_02.pk4 with checksum 0x9dbd91fd
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_03.pk4 with checksum 0x2eb6ad8
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_04.pk4 with checksum 0xd3fefaa1
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_01.pk4 with checksum 0xe829a04a
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_02.pk4 with checksum 0xc28f719d
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_03.pk4 with checksum 0xd77e701d
Loaded pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_04.pk4 with checksum 0xd000f97e
Addon pk4 /opt/quake4/q4base/q4cmp_pak001.pk4 with checksum 0xd0813943 is on addon list
Current search path:
/home/ahuemer/.quake4/q4base
/opt/quake4/q4base
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_04.pk4 (4 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_03.pk4 (4 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_02.pk4 (21 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_spanish_01.pk4 (2 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_04.pk4 (3 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_03.pk4 (4 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_02.pk4 (21 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_01.pk4 (1 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak022.pk4 (14 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak021.pk4 (89 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak020.pk4 (11 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak019.pk4 (1206 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak018.pk4 (3 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak017.pk4 (3 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak016.pk4 (193 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak015.pk4 (34 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak014.pk4 (552 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak013.pk4 (239 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak012.pk4 (1081 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak011.pk4 (5620 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak010.pk4 (5539 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak009.pk4 (1284 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak008.pk4 (1289 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak007.pk4 (1330 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak006.pk4 (1343 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak005.pk4 (1395 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak004.pk4 (2249 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak003.pk4 (1281 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak002.pk4 (313 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/pak001.pk4 (5837 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/game200.pk4 (9 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/game100.pk4 (2 files)
/opt/quake4/q4base/game000.pk4 (2 files)
game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
Addon pk4s:
/opt/quake4/q4base/q4cmp_pak001.pk4 (119 files)
file system initialized.
---------------------------------------------
------------ Initializing Decls -------------
Loading guides.... 64 loaded
144ms to load 1125k of material
22ms to load 43k of skin
94ms to load 723k of sound
2ms to load 1k of materialType
219ms to load 2889k of lipSync
18ms to load 105k of playback
407ms to load 1690k of effect
---------------------------------------------
-------- Initializing renderSystem ----------
using ARB renderSystem
renderSystem initialized.
---------------------------------------------
Found default language English with VO
.... found additional language 'french' without VO
.... found additional language 'italian' without VO
.... found additional language 'spanish' with VO
696 strings read from strings/english_code.lang
1794 strings read from strings/english_guis.lang
1797 strings read from strings/english_mappack.lang
2273 strings read from strings/english_maps.lang
3 strings read from strings/french_mappack.lang
3 strings read from strings/italian_mappack.lang
696 strings read from strings/spanish_code.lang
1794 strings read from strings/spanish_guis.lang
1797 strings read from strings/spanish_mappack.lang
2273 strings read from strings/spanish_maps.lang
Couldn't open journal files
execing default.cfg
"ALT" isn't a valid key
"CTRL" isn't a valid key
couldn't exec editor.cfg
couldn't exec Quake4Config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
-------- Initializing Sound System ----------
sound system initialized.
---------------------------------------------
--------------- R_InitOpenGL ----------------
Initializing SDL subsystem
Loading GL driver 'libGL.so.1' through SDL
SDL_ListModes:
1920x1080 1680x1050 1600x900 1440x900 1400x1050 1280x1024 1280x960 1280x800 1280x720 1152x864 1024x768
832x624 800x600 720x576 720x480 720x400 640x480
SDL_ListModes are currently ignored for resolution filtering. Set r_useSDLModes to 1 if you want it
8/8/8/8 RGBA bits, 24 depth bits, 8 stencil bits
no multisampling
dlopen(libasound.so.2)
asoundlib version: 1.0.25
Alsa is available
------ Alsa Sound Initialization -----
opened Alsa PCM device default for playback
device buffer size: 5644 frames ( 22576 bytes )
allocated a mix buffer of 16384 bytes
--------------------------------------
...using GL_ARB_multitexture
...using GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
...using GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
...using GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
...using GL_ARB_texture_env_add
...using GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two
...using GL_NV_blend_square
...using GL_ARB_texture_compression
X..GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc not found
Fatal Error: Texture compression unavailable
Shutting down SDL subsystem
--------------- BSE Shutdown ----------------
---------------------------------------------
Shutting down sound hardware
----------- Alsa Shutdown ------------
close pcm
dlclose
--------------------------------------
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
Sys_Error: Texture compression unavailable
$
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For Doom3, could try dhewm3 on github - is in AUR.

Code:
$ grep -i compress ~/.doom3/base/DoomConfig.cfg
seta com_compressDemos "1"
seta image_usePrecompressedTextures "1"
seta image_useNormalCompression "0"
seta image_useCompression "1"

Maybe you can turn compression off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury,

thanks for that link, that's very interesting and one should write an ebuild for that.
For now I'd like to identify what exactly the problem in my environment is.
ATM I assume it's a missing mesa feature.
It seems like GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc is needed and glxinfo does not list that.
also, that information may net even be correct, since doom3 is a 32bit executable and glxinfo outputs information based on the system libraries, which are 64bit.
OT question: how do I use glxinfo on the app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-opengl libs?

I don't understand how all that is possible, I played doom3 in the past with the radeon driver and mesa.
It this feature isn't in current ~ mesa, it surely wasn't in app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-opengl a few years ago.
/me is very confused.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 848
Location: PL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

install libdtxc-dxtn and use driconf to force texture s3tc compression on.

regarding doom3, i used that port from github : https://github.com/janisl/doom3.gpl/commits/master , as it seems most active as of now. that works for me on hd3300 with radeon driver.
_________________
~amd64
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yoshi314,

thanks for the hint.
I noticed it's actually media-libs/libtxc_dxtn, not libdtxc-dxtn, mind the superfluous 'd'.
I'll try it out when I come home in ~8h.
To increase my learning experience, do you know if this was once part of mainline mesa or pulled in my portage or something?
As I already stated, all this worked OOTB a while ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed media-libs/libtxc_dxtn.
doom3 console output reflects the added lib but still does not start.
quake4 console output also reflects the added lib and starts now.
I get to the menus and stuff.
When the game itself should start, I get a nice X server segfault.
What would be the best way to debug this?
A X client shouldn't be _able_ to crash the X server after all, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex.blackbit wrote:
A X client shouldn't be _able_ to crash the X server after all, right?

Probably bugs in Xorg, and/or the Radeon driver. Sadly. Finding an xorg version that's *stable*, isn't easy. I ended up using Ubuntu's xorg-server 1.10.4 patchset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yoshi314,

doom3.gpl works smoothly!
There is something weird with the detection of video ram and accepted resolutions, but at least it works.
Let's forget about the blob that's in portage.
Have you ever thought about writing an ebuild for doom3.gpl?
Unfortunately there does not seem to exist anything similar for quake4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 848
Location: PL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex.blackbit wrote:
yoshi314,

thanks for the hint.
I noticed it's actually media-libs/libtxc_dxtn, not libdtxc-dxtn, mind the superfluous 'd'.
.
i can never write the name of that library right. whoever thought up that name, was a vile person ;)
_________________
~amd64
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran into similar problems with my system, (Radeon 6970M + radeon driver). I was previously able to run both Doom3 and Quake4, but after a system rebuild, I finally noticed that it had stopped working. I thought the problem may be related to the 32bit nature of both binaries, and tried to use FireBurn's 32 bit Mesa overlay, however I still had the same problem, as I described in my post in that thread.

As I mentioned there, I got a similar error message running doom3 with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to gallium, and while I could get doom3 to run with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to classic, it's unusable. Here's the console log from doom3 with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to gallium, and here's the console log when it's set to classic. What's strange is that I had similar problem with quake4 where it wouldn't even run, however this time when I emerged quake4, it loaded emul-linux-x86-compat as a dependency, and it will run with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to gallium. The problem is that it appears to be running in the bare minimum graphics mode. Here's the console log from quake4, when it wouldn't load previously, and here's the recent console log from it when it would run.

Lastly, I noticed that while there's no ebuild around for either the doom3 gpl port from dhewm, or janisl, there's a live ebuild for the original TTimo release in the gamerlay overlay. I synced it and then copied it to my local portage overlay and edited the homepage and git src variables for first the dhewm and then the janisl forks, however I was only able to get the emerge process as far as completing the compile phase. When the installation phase began I got a failure because it couldn't find the gamex86-base.so lib. I do have both doom3 and doom3-data from portage installed on my system, so I'm not sure what's going wrong.

If anyone has some hints as to how best to install one of the doom3.gpl ports, please feel free to advise. Otherwise I'm not sure exactly where this original issue lies, but it looks like using the 64bit version of the doom3.gpl port, seems to be the best way around the issue for now.

Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasn wrote:
I ran into similar problems with my system, (Radeon 6970M + radeon driver). I was previously able to run both Doom3 and Quake4, but after a system rebuild, I finally noticed that it had stopped working. I thought the problem may be related to the 32bit nature of both binaries, and tried to use FireBurn's 32 bit Mesa overlay, however I still had the same problem, as I described in my post in that thread.

Nice, I didn't know that such an overlay existed.
The 'future' approach to this would IMHO rather be the work of the multilib approach[1].
As a sidenote, this project could make good use of volunteers!

jasn wrote:
As I mentioned there, I got a similar error message running doom3 with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to gallium, and while I could get doom3 to run with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to classic, it's unusable. Here's the console log from doom3 with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to gallium, and here's the console log when it's set to classic. What's strange is that I had similar problem with quake4 where it wouldn't even run, however this time when I emerged quake4, it loaded emul-linux-x86-compat as a dependency, and it will run with my mesa 32bit sw profile set to gallium. The problem is that it appears to be running in the bare minimum graphics mode. Here's the console log from quake4, when it wouldn't load previously, and here's the recent console log from it when it would run.

That's interesting too.
At least that means that there is a (small) chance for me to get it running.

jasn wrote:
Lastly, I noticed that while there's no ebuild around for either the doom3 gpl port from dhewm, or janisl, there's a live ebuild for the original TTimo release in the gamerlay overlay. I synced it and then copied it to my local portage overlay and edited the homepage and git src variables for first the dhewm and then the janisl forks, however I was only able to get the emerge process as far as completing the compile phase. When the installation phase began I got a failure because it couldn't find the gamex86-base.so lib. I do have both doom3 and doom3-data from portage installed on my system, so I'm not sure what's going wrong.

I'll give that a try.

jasn wrote:
If anyone has some hints as to how best to install one of the doom3.gpl ports, please feel free to advise. Otherwise I'm not sure exactly where this original issue lies, but it looks like using the 64bit version of the doom3.gpl port, seems to be the best way around the issue for now.

When I find the time I'll write an ebuild for the github incarnations and post it somewhere.

[1] http://git.overlays.gentoo.org/gitweb/?p=proj/multilib-portage.git;a=blob;f=doc/portage-multilib-instructions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex.blackbit wrote:
When I find the time I'll write an ebuild for the github incarnations and post it somewhere.

Thanks for the that. However if anyone could point out the steps for building doom3.gpl from git source, that would be a good start for me. I've managed to download the source locally by issuing a git clone, however I'm not sure how to configure, make and then make install from there. (Sorry for the noobishness..)

Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasn wrote:
building doom3.gpl from git source

Read the pkgbuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasn wrote:
However if anyone could point out the steps for building doom3.gpl from git source, that would be a good start for me.

I'd start with something like this:
Code:
cd neo
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make

One point of cmake is to build outside of the source tree.
I don't know why the arch guys do it differently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Alex and Paul,

After reading the Archlinux PKGBUILD, I appear to have compiled it by doing;
Code:
cd [source_dir]
cd neo
cmake .
make

Afterwards I have two new files;
Code:
dhewm3
gamex86_64.so

However, reading both the Arch PKGBUILD and the gamerlay doom3.gpl ebuild, I don't know what's the best way to install the two files. When I emerge doom3 and doom3-data from portage it puts all files into an /opt/doom3 directory hierarchy. I'm not sure if I should move dhewm3 to the /opt/doom3 subdirectory and gamex86_64.so to /usr/lib64/doom3 subdirectory, or move them both to the /opt/doom3 subdirectory. (The Arch PKGBUILD seems to suggest moving both to the /usr/lib directory)

Anyway, I was just curious how you guys installed it manually.

BTW, I just today synced with FireBurn's 32 bit Mesa overlay, and emerged the requisite mesa-32bit packages, and I get the same results as before, running doom3 and quake4 with the gallium profiles selected. So running one of these doom3.gpl in 64 bit mode definitely seems like the way to go for my system.

Thanks again..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use:
Code:
  # To fix compilation error:  internal compiler error
  ulimit -s 32768 &&

  cd neo &&
  cmake . &&
  make -j2 &&

  install -Dm 755 {,/usr/lib/dhewm3/}dhewm3 &&
  install -Dm 755 {,/usr/lib/dhewm3/}gamex86.so


And in ~/bin/dhewm3 script:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

cd /usr/lib/dhewm3/ &&
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}:/usr/lib/dhewm3 &&
exec ./dhewm3 "$@"


And in /usr/local/games/dhewm3/base:
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak000.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak000.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak001.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak001.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak002.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak002.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak003.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak003.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak004.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak004.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak005.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak005.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak006.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak006.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak007.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak007.pk4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  27 Jun 12 21:11 pak008.pk4 -> ../../doom3/base/pak008.pk4

So, that's symlinks to files in /usr/local/games/doom3/base/, excluding the game* pk4 files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again Paul..

The part I was most confused about was what to do with the doom3 data files.

That cleared it up..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum