Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Four times installation was succesful. But...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:56 pm    Post subject: Four times installation was succesful. But... Reply with quote

I installed Gentoo four times. It was a training session :D
I used my old desktop ( Core 2 Duo E8500 / G33-ICH7 chipset / GeForce 8500 GT) for training. No problems, even if I tried different use flags, profiles and compiler flags.
After that I decided to install Gentoo at my new desktop. I have twice failed. No newest hardware here. Just Sandy Bridge Core i3 2120, Z68 chipset, GTX 550Ti video. All that hardware worked with debian squeeze (debian initially known as outdated).
First time I'm failed with Grub (legasy): loader can't find kernel image. I removed Grub Legacy, switched profile from 'kde' to 'no-multilib' (to be able install grub2) and installed Grub2. So, all worked fine and I also installed xorg-sever, minimal kde, dbus, xf86-input-uvdev, kdm. After reboot I logged in and desktop appears. At first I clicked at K-Menu, but nothing happened. After that I tried to click dolphin launcher at the panel, right button click at desktop, activity switcher... Nothing happend. After about a minute K-Menu suddenly appears... After that Dolphin and desktop context menu are appeared.
In general, all worked, but with a large delay (from 40 up to 70 seconds). I used the same .config as at my old desktop, the same make.conf with some difference (march=native instead of march=core2 and j5 instead of j3). I suggested that the main reason of my fault was an incorrect profile (no-multilib)
So, I decided to install Gentoo again. Also I have downloaded latest portage in order to prevent possible grub's errors. Stage3 was not outdated and I started with it. I installed base system, grub (this time successfully), xorg-server. And I failed again, now at kde installation (some unresolved dependencies).
Now I have a two question:
1. Is Gentoo ready for a new hardware?
2. What portage is the best choise: latest or old versions?

Has anyone a similar hardware with Gentoo installed on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43200
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

creaker,

Hardware support (or not) depends on the kernel. The kernel is common to all distros, so Gentoo is no better or worse than any other distro in that respect.

I cannot tell what you mean by "latest portage". Do you mean latest testing or latest stable portage. Please quote versions.

You have several issues all mixed up in your post. Your be will all be confused if we work on more than one at a time.
Pick you most important issue and tell us about it. In particular, quote any error messages verbatim.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for reply.
Unfortunately I am not so familiar in English, but I'll try to explain what I would to say.
About kernel: I tried to install a bunch of different distros at this hardware. With kernel versions from 2.6.32 up to 3.4.0. Also Gentoo LiveDVD 12.1 was booted and worked fine (with kernel 3.3.0). So I assume that the kernel is not a problem. All the more so Gentoo basic system installed and working fine.
A problems arises when installing KDE. I come to the conclusion: if KDE with Gentoo not working properly or KDE installation fails, it is a Gentoo related problem, because other distros works with the same KDE.
I'm not pretty sure where this problems (KDE lags or KDE installation fail) coming from.
May be I downloaded untoward portage (I tried to install with portage-20120708 and portage-20120719), may be something else, I do not know. But at least the portage-20120708 was successfully installed many times at old hardware, but failed at new one. I downloaded portage snapshots from http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/snapshots/current/
Now I see here a new portage snapshot :roll: And I going to try it again. If something goes wrong I hope for your help :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43200
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

creaker,

You do not need a new portage snapshot.
The command
Code:
emerge --sync
updates your portage tree to the current tree.

The portage tree is the collection of ebuilds used by te portage application.
When you said "latest portage", I thought you meant the application, not the ebuild collection.

Emerge your KDE. When it stops, post the error message and the build log. The message on the screen will say "The complete build log ...."
These logs can be too big to fit in a post, so
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
and do
Code:
wgetpaste /path/to/build/log
this will give you a URL. Post the URL. Thats the address of your log on the web.

The log will tell what the problem is.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I am here again :D
kdebase-startkde failed.
I installed kernel, grub, mc. After reboot I installed xorg-server and starts with kde:
Code:
emerge-av kdebase-startkde

installation was stopped with status 1. (the message from emerge.log)

At the screen I have error messages for two packages.
The first message is about dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6 package:
Code:
ERROR: dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6 failed (postinst phase):
  failed to chown //etc/sasl/sasldb2
  Call stack:
    ebuild.sh, line 85: Called pkg_postinst
    environment, line 4758: Called die
  The specific snippet of code:
    chown root: mail "${ROOT}/etc/sasl2/sasldb2" || die "Failed to chown ${ROOT}/etc/sasl2/sasldb2";
  If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info "=dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6"',
  the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv "=dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6"'.
  The complete build log located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6/temp/build.log'
  The ebuild environment file is located at: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6/temp/environment'.
 Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6/'
  S: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6/work/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23'


The second error message is about vbetools:
Code:
  Failed running automake!
  Include in your bugreport the content of:
    /vat/tmp/portage/sys-apps/vbetools-1.1/temp/automake.out
  ERROR: sys-apps/vbetools-1.1 failed (prepare phase):
    Failed running automake!
  Call stak:
    ebuild.sh, line 85: Called src_prepare
    environment, line 2775: Called eautoreconf
    environment, line 786: Called eautomake
    environment, line 739: Called autotools_run_tool 'automake' '--add-missing' '--copy' '--foreign'
    environment, line 552: Called die
  The specific snippet of code:
    die "Failed Running $1!"


I tried to read logs for sasl package, but I can't find log files. In unknown reason they are missed. Also I tried to find logs with mc - nothing... Directory /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/ missed at all.
Here output of 'emerge --info "=dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6': http://pastebin.com/XwimCp6p
Here output of 'emerge -pqv "=dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6' : http://pastebin.com/9eVgfdci

About second error (with vbetool): logs directory exists and some information about error:
Here output of 'emerge --info "=sys-apps/vbetools-1.1': http://pastebin.com/3qdy9w2j
Here output of 'emerge -pqv "=sys-apps/vbetools-1.1' : http://pastebin.com/wHGmVUqH
/vat/tmp/portage/sys-apps/vbetools-1.1/temp/automake.out content: http://pastebin.com/1FKauDWF
/vat/tmp/portage/sys-apps/vbetools-1.1/temp/build.log content: http://pastebin.com/X5iSh4LV
/vat/tmp/portage/sys-apps/vbetools-1.1/temp/environment content: http://pastebin.com/0hisBh5N

How to fix these errors?


P.S.
I rebooted and restarted emerge -av kdebase-startkde. Without any changes (confugs, uses and so on). I'm not pretty sure that it is a right way, but I did it.
Unlike previous installation (2 days ago), this time I successfully passed the vbetool package installation.
Now installation was resumed and I waiting for next error. :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43200
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

creaker,

Code:
ERROR: dev-libs/cyrus-sasl-2.1.23-r6 failed (postinst phase):
  failed to chown //etc/sasl/sasldb2

Shows that sasl built and installed correctly, which is probably whey the build log was removed. There will be nothing to help there.
The ebuild was changing file permissions after the install when something went wrong.

Does chown work on your system?
Does the file /etc/sasl/sasldb2 exist?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, chown works.
Also /etc/sasl/sasldb2 exists

I just finished installation (kde, kdm, xf86-input-evdev, dolphin, konsole). Booted in KDE, all works fine (at the first blush). May be vbetool error was a casual crash.
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum