Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't seem to boot into 3.3.8 (GRUB) [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fuzzybee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:05 pm    Post subject: Can't seem to boot into 3.3.8 (GRUB) [solved] Reply with quote

After I couldn't get MythTV 0.25.2 installed on my 2.6.31 server, I chose to upgrade my kernel. I got the sources for 3.3.8, configure, made the kernel, and moved it to my /boot directory. I updated my grub.conf to:

Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 30
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 3.3.8
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.3.8-gentoo root=/dev/hda3

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.31-r6
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.31-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda3

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.23-r9
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.23-gentoo-r9 root=/dev/hda3

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.23-r9 (rescue)
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.23-gentoo-r9 root=/dev/hda3 init=/bin/bb

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.31-r6 (rescue)
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.31-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda3 init=/bin/bb


Essentially, I copied my old 2.6.23, and changed where it points. hd0,0 is my PATA drive that I have always used for my boot (I also have two SATA hard drives and a SATA SSD, sda -> sdc)

When I attempt to boot, I get a kernel panic:
Code:
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block(0,0)
Pid: 1, comm: swapper/0 Tainted: G   W 3.3.8-gentoo #3


I have altered the kernel line to:
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-3.3.8-gentoo root=/dev/hda3 rootfstype=ext3 video=uvesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1024x768-24@60
to attempt to at least see a little bit more before the kernel panic, but if doesn't even go into framebuffer mode.

I have also tried replacing /boot/kernel-3.3.8-gentoo with /kernel-3.3.8-gentoo, to no avail.

.config is available here

kmuto.jp reports:
Code:
PCI ID   Works?   Vendor   Device   Driver   Kernel
10de005e      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Memory Controller      
10de0051      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 ISA Bridge      
10de0052   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 SMBus   i2c-nforce2   v2.6.25-
10de005a      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 USB Controller      
10de005b      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 USB Controller      
10de0059   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller   snd-intel8x0   v2.6.25-
10de0053   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 IDE   pata_amd   v2.6.25-
10de0054   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Serial ATA Controller   sata_nv   v2.6.25-
10de0055   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Serial ATA Controller   sata_nv   v2.6.25-
10de005c      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 PCI Bridge      
10de0057   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Ethernet Controller   forcedeth   v2.6.25-
10de005d      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 PCIE Bridge      
10de005d      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 PCIE Bridge      
10221100      Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration      
10221101      Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map      
10221102      Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller      
10221103   Yes   Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control   k8temp   v2.6.25-
10221100      Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration      
10221101      Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map      
10221102      Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller      
10221103   Yes   Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]   K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control   k8temp   v2.6.25-
10de0de1      NVIDIA Corporation   GF108 [GeForce GT 430]      
10de0bea      NVIDIA Corporation   GF108 High Definition Audio Controller      
11063044   Yes   VIA Technologies, Inc.   VT6306/7/8 [Fire II(M)] IEEE 1394 OHCI Controller   ohci1394   
10de005e      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Memory Controller      
10de00d3      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Memory Controller      
10de0054   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Serial ATA Controller   sata_nv   v2.6.25-
10de0055   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Serial ATA Controller   sata_nv   v2.6.25-
10de0057   Yes   NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 Ethernet Controller   forcedeth   v2.6.25-
10de005d      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 PCIE Bridge      
10de005d      NVIDIA Corporation   CK804 PCIE Bridge      


I can boot into the 2.6.31-r6 kernel with no problem. I did notice, though, as it booted this time, it stated
Code:
Mount device read-only on (3,3)
at some point during the boot.

I believe I have all of the kernel options I need installed. Can any of you with more experience and better eyes see what I have missed? Is it odd that 2.6.23 would boot fine, but 3.3.8 would not?


Last edited by fuzzybee on Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuzzybee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, my boot partition is EXT2, and root is EXT3

/etc/fstab is:
Code:
# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/hda3               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/hda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      audo            noauto,ro       0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0
#/dev/md0               /var/video      xfs             noatime,allocsize=512m          0 1
/dev/sda1               /var/video      xfs             noatime,allocsize=512m          0 1
/dev/sdc1               /var/video2     xfs             noatime,allocsize=512m          0 1
#/dev/sdc1              /var/tempvid    xfs             noatime,allocsize=512m 0        1
/dev/sdb1               /mnt/var_mysql  ext3            noatime         0 1


# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Odward
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have minimal linux experience, so this may be way off base. I haven't used a 2.6 kernel but the newer 3.2+ kernels,
that I have used, I believe list pata drives as /dev/sda not /dev/hda. Not sure what controls that behavior. Not even
positive I am right =)

Just wondering if the newer 3.3.8 kernel needs grub to point to /dev/sda3 and possibly an fstab to match. If this is what
is happening, and if you want to keep your 2.6 kernel, I assume you would need to change both your grub.conf and
your fstab to use UUID instead of /dev/hdx or /dev/sdx.

Sorry if I'm in the wrong ballpark altogether.

**Edit: After posting I realized I had access to a friends box with a different distro, it is using a 2.6 kernel and it definitely
has an old PATA / IDE drive installed which is listed as /dev/sda and both the /etc/fstab and /boot/grub/grub.conf are
configured using UUID. So not sure what causes that difference in naming.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuzzybee,

Check these config settings
Code:
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y

This is how your mount is going to look:
Code:
rootfs       on  /                         type  rootfs       (rw)
/dev/root    on  /                         type  ext3         (rw,noatime,commit=0)
devtmpfs     on  /dev                      type  devtmpfs     (rw,relatime,size=1861612k,nr_inodes=465403,mode=755)

xen linux # ls -l /dev/root
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4 Jul 23 14:30 /dev/root -> sda9

The above post by Odward might be relevant too, but I'm not sure since I only have sata drives
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuzzybee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I'm feeling a little bit slow right now. Should I make sure that I have
Code:
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
?

I'll look into the UUID settings for grub.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuzzybee wrote:
OK, I'm feeling a little bit slow right now. Should I make sure that I have
Code:
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
?

I'll look into the UUID settings for grub.conf

In Device Drivers ---> Generic Driver Options --->

(/sbin/hotplug) path to uevent helper │ │
│ │ [*] Maintain a devtmpfs filesystem to mount at /dev │ │
│ │ [*] Automount devtmpfs at /dev, after the kernel mounted the rootfs │ │

Also, you can't use UUID in menu.cfg unless you have an initramfs - which you don't :(

What I was referring to was
Quote:
if the newer 3.3.8 kernel needs grub to point to /dev/sda3 and possibly an fstab to match

I should have been a little clearer on that point :oops:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuzzybee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No worries - I'm just feeling a little daft. Building my kernel now with CONFIG_DEVTMPFS, etc built-in. I can play with the grub menu to see if it wants hd or sd. Hopefully, one of them works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuzzybee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eureka!

/dev/sdd3 is where my pata drive landed. Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuzzybee wrote:
No worries - I'm just feeling a little daft. Building my kernel now with CONFIG_DEVTMPFS, etc built-in. I can play with the grub menu to see if it wants hd or sd. Hopefully, one of them works.

I'm having one of those days :cry: Can't get the bluecop free cable plugin in xbmc working on this box, but it works fine on two others :?
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum