Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bad disk in RAID? New install over old disks. IRRELEVANT
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:17 pm    Post subject: Bad disk in RAID? New install over old disks. IRRELEVANT Reply with quote

Hi all,

I have a box with 4 disks, as described in my signature. I had it set up with lvm2 but no RAID, no redundancy just made it be as big as possible. The /boot partition was raid1x4, swap was 4 partitions non-raid, and everything else was split up into 2 volume groups, each of which took the remaining space on 2 drives. Backups were to a separate 1.5tb removable drive which spends most of its time not plugged in.

This is a home box, not something with commercial info on it. I use it for regular computing stuff and also for programming. The most critical information is family pictures, email addresses and the like which are all backed up. Everything else is either hosted somewhere else or expendable. Keep in mind that I knew in advance that LVM striping without RAID doesn't make a lot of sense, also keep in mind that I made traditional backups often enough. Part of this is an experiment to see what exactly happens when a failure takes me down.

I had a bunch of errors and after rebooting it came up with a bunch of errors in the usr logical volume. I copied the files I wanted to keep onto the backup drive, then started with a fresh Gentoo install.

I got to code listing 2.10 of http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86+raid+lvm2-quickinstall.xml

I created /boot as raid1x4 again, swap is 4 separate partitions, then 400g raid6x4 drives and the remaining 300g or so is raid0 split between 2 drives and raid1 split between the other 2.

I have four of this:
Code:

Disk /dev/sda: 750.2 GB, 750156374016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders, total 1465149168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0001951e

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *          63     1060289      530113+  fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda2         1060290    26250209    12594960   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3        26250210   865111009   419430400   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda4       865111010  1465149167   300019079   fd  Linux raid autodetect


and here's /proc/mdstat:
Code:

Personalities : [raid0] [raid1] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [raid10]
md5 : active raid1 sdd4[1] sdc4[0]
      300017919 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]
         resync=DELAYED
     
md4 : active raid0 sdb4[1] sda4[0]
      600035328 blocks super 1.2 512k chunks
     
md3 : active raid6 sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1] sda3[0]
      838857728 blocks super 1.2 level 6, 512k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]
      [=======>.............]  resync = 39.0% (163992072/419428864) finish=662.7min speed=6423K/sec
     
md127 : active (auto-read-only) raid1 sdc1[2] sdb1[1] sdd1[3] sda1[0]
      530048 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
     
unused devices: <none>


My backup device is not attached.

I got past mdadm --create for all this stuff, and now I've been waiting for hours and hours for cat /proc/mdstat to finish. My md3, the raid6 partition, is at 39% after what has probably been about 6 hours now.

My concern is that I might have an actual hardware problem and want to know what to do about it now. Should I cancel and run a badblocks on all these drives? Is there some other way? How do I figure out which physical drive is bad?

I had assumed, perhaps incorrectly, that the mdadm --create would detect any problems and report them long before now.

While I have done RAID and LVM in combination or separate several times now, it has always been this hardware and as yet I have not had any errors. So I don't know what I'm doing.

Any input would be appreciated.


Last edited by 1clue on Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK it's 12 hours after my original post, and here's my mdstat:


Code:
Personalities : [raid0] [raid1] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [raid10]
md5 : active raid1 sdd4[1] sdc4[0]
      300017919 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]
         resync=DELAYED
     
md4 : active raid0 sdb4[1] sda4[0]
      600035328 blocks super 1.2 512k chunks
     
md3 : active raid6 sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1] sda3[0]
      838857728 blocks super 1.2 level 6, 512k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]
      [===========>.........]  resync = 55.1% (231143428/419428864) finish=265270.0min speed=11K/sec
     
md127 : active (auto-read-only) raid1 sdc1[2] sdb1[1] sdd1[3] sda1[0]
      530048 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
     
unused devices: <none>


I'm positive this is not normal, my previous Gentoo install on this box didn't take this long for everything combined.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I just shut down, disconnected 3 disks and am now running badblocks on the one that's hooked up. I'll do this 3 more times and hopefully I'll have 3 disks that are worth using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I connected the drives one at a time so I knew which order they came up, ran badblocks on everything.

The other three finished in under 3 hours with zero problems, and the first one is still running after 9 hours and is 5.58% done. 4 bad blocks so far, but I'm guessing this drive is toast.

When looking for a replacement, it seems this drive is no longer in production. How specific do I need to be with matching drives? Here are the specs:

750g internal sata 300
3.5"
32m buffer
10,000 rpm
"green" drive. Not sure if this changes sleeping behavior or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind.

Couldn't find a replacement drive, bought an SSD instead.

Will make a really big RAID5 setup out of the other 3, now I'm trying to figure out how to install on an SSD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

with mdraid you don't have to match perfectly... but I doubt mdraid does (or even can do) stuff like spindle sync.

Currently my 360G array (4x120G PATA RAID5) has four nonidentical drives: one seagate and three maxtor (one 8M cache, one 2M cache, and one post-merger maxtor branded seagate). I left a little bit of slack space at the end of the disk to make sure all had the same capacity for the RAID, since you can't raid stuff that other disks don't have. The bona fide Maxtors are actually 122GB and the truely Seagates are 120GB, so there's 2GB wasted on the Maxtors.

I will have a tough time finding another good 120G disk at a decent price so currently I have a spare 250G disk as a hot spare for this array (wasting 130G).

Likewise my 1.5T array (4x500G SATA) has three identical Hitachis and one WD. They all turned up the same size (likely due to HPA) so I didn't have to play with partition sizes. Once again I doubt I can get a good price on a good 500G disk, but I have one 750G PATA disk that I'm using as a hot spare (wasting 250G if I need to use it)...

The latter is unfortunate as I can't hotplug the 750G disk, and the four SATA disks are in a hot swap bay...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks but frankly the RAID is working fine.

The problem is I can't get past grub boot. I redid everything from scratch, step by step literally copying and pasting commands. I didn't get any further.

On a lark, I just downloaded xubuntu 12.04 and threw it on there, I swear it didn't take more than 5 minutes from the initial screen to reboot without cd, taking all defaults.

My hardware is good.

My fiancee is playing with xubuntu right now, I might throw it on her laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum