Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't add new users after install. [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vectorns
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:13 am    Post subject: Can't add new users after install. [Solved] Reply with quote

Hi!

I install Gentoo linux with any problem until this moment.
After the reboot i try to add a new user but with out success.

I execute the following comand with the result:
Code:

useradd juan
useradd: cannot lock /etc/passwd; try again later.


I seach for a file passwd.lock or shadow.lock but dont exist.
And execute
Code:
fuser /etc/passwd
but don't show any process using that file.

Can you help me with this problem :?:


Last edited by vectorns on Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pidsley
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2012
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running this command as root, or with sudo? You can't run it as a normal user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9dra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Location: Indonesia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2012 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reinstall sys-apps/shadow ...
Code:
# emerge shadow

_________________
Never Give Up! And do your best!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vectorns
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Before all, tanks for the quick answer. :wink:

pidsley wrote:
Are you running this command as root, or with sudo? You can't run it as a normal user.


Yes, is the only user i have access :P.

9dra wrote:
reinstall sys-apps/shadow ...


I try to run that command but give me the folowing error

Code:
emergelog(): [Errno 30] Read-only file system: '/var/log/emerge.log'


Why this file system is read only :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vectorns wrote:
Why this file system is read only :?:


That is the million dollar question. Clearly that is what is causing all the problems. What kind of errors do you see on boot up? What does dmesg reveal? Is your root partition full (this is unlikely, unless something is spamming your logs, You can check with df -h /)? Did you attempt the install on an old drive? A read-only file system might be a sign of a dying drive (hopefully not). Or you might just have a file system issue. Try rebooting with shutdown -rF now to force an fscheck on reboot. If that does not do the trick, post your dmesg so we can have a look at what is going wrong.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vectorns
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

penguin swordmaster wrote:
vectorns wrote:
Why this file system is read only :?:


That is the million dollar question. Clearly that is what is causing all the problems. What kind of errors do you see on boot up? What does dmesg reveal? Is your root partition full (this is unlikely, unless something is spamming your logs, You can check with df -h /)? Did you attempt the install on an old drive? A read-only file system might be a sign of a dying drive (hopefully not). Or you might just have a file system issue. Try rebooting with shutdown -rF now to force an fscheck on reboot. If that does not do the trick, post your dmesg so we can have a look at what is going wrong.


My mistake, i execute dmesg and the system try to mount the file system with the option 'notime' and the correct is 'noatime' :P.
After repair that works well :!: :!:

Thks for all your help :!:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum