Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New installation with genkernel will not load kernel on boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This can't be right :?:
Code:
make clean && make mrproper && wget -O /usr/src/linux/.config http://bpaste.net/raw/46670/ && make menuconfig


When menuconfig loads, the .config it's working off of has virtually everything turned off; not in a good troubleshooting sense but more in a entire SATA drivers section turned off, no networking support, no file systems and virtually everything else sense.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pastebin lost it; i'll paste again
Quote:
spacepaste
new
Sorry, but the page you requested was not found on this server.
We've recently updated this pastebin. While it is out goal for nothing to get lost, you may have found a page that was mis-placed. Check your URL to ensure you have gone where you intended. If everything looks OK and you still see this error page, please consider contacting us.
Click here to add a new paste.

_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
make clean && make mrproper && wget -O /usr/src/linux/.config http://bpaste.net/raw/46675/ && make menuconfig

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is that url right? Config is still empty, and this looks like a portage make log.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shudda been
Code:
 make clean && make mrproper && wget -O /usr/src/linux/.config http://bpaste.net/raw/46775/ && make menuconfig


another new
Code:
 make clean && make mrproper && wget -O /usr/src/linux/.config http://bpaste.net/raw/46777/ && make menuconfig


:oops:
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
make clean && make mrproper && wget -O /usr/src/linux/.config http://pastebin.ca/raw/2206357 && make menuconfig
a different paste site
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is interesting. The config loaded, and I couldn't even find one option in the config that I even wanted to change. In fact, after this system is running I think I'm going to study this config for a while because there are a lot of questions I've had about specific kernel options and "maybe need this" options and so on so forth -- think I could learn a lot from this. However, it panic'd at VFS sync, block 0,0 .

After I finish chrooting and performing my liveCD rituals I'm gonna take a look to see what those SATA drivers I referred to as "random things with Intel" actually were.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4570091.html#4570091

if the older intel drivers
< > Intel PATA MPIIX support
< > Intel SCH PATA support
< > Intel PATA old PIIX support

get you past block (0,0) to block (8,68) your uefi/bios may be set to have your drive adapter/controllers in a mode other than ahci, that may be necessary for your other drives and arrays (or not)
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(^This is an interesting thread, and also extremely relevant to anyone with an Intel ICH3 ICH4 ICH5 ICH5R ICH6 ICH7 ICH8 ICH9 or ICH10R chipset who comes to this thread because their genkernel won't boot)

If I've followed this thread correctly, the unmodified kernel seed config you've made adheres to it perfectly. The config I made this morning does not, and if I understand it would have likely loaded with the slow IDE support that Neddy refers to.

However, what that bad .config does do is successfully mount the drives, and I'm interested in why that happens.

Best I can tell, these are the only options enabled in the "bad config" and disabled in the kernel seed config:
Code:
                                        │ │ 
  │ │     [*]   SATA Port Multiplier support 
  │ │     <*>       Intel PATA old PIIX support
  │ │     <*>     Intel PATA MPIIX support


I might just switch these on and boot to confirm that the difference between these two configs is in the SATA section, as opposed to some obscure tick somewhere I forgot about. If so, then the question will be why Intel ESB, ICH, PIIX3, PIIX4 PATA/SATA support isn't working.
After reading your edit, I'll reboot and take a look in UEFI settings. I always try to set everything to AHCI; I'll take some notes to show the options.

As I mentioned earlier I had to reset the CMOS. I'm 99% I fixed up the hard drive area of the settings afterwards, but you never know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[*] SATA Port Multiplier support
used to leave this in until I read somewhere that it could cause problems if there was no port multiplier device.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regarding port multiplier -- yeah, I dunno. I looked at it, and said "This mobo does have like 10 SATA ports or something, who knows, take a chance on it?" I'm sure if that was really necessary it would appear in lspci or the specs somewhere or whatever.

Okay, advanced storage config in UEFI. This what they were all set to (x represents enabled), I didn't change anything:
ASMedia SATA3 Mode:
-AHCI Mode (X)
-IDE
-Disabled

ASMedia SATA 3 Bootable:
Yes (X)
No

SATA Mode:
-AHCI Mode (x)
-IDE Mode
-RAID Mode
Disabled

SATA Aggressive Link Power Management:
Enabled (x)
DIsabled

Hard Disk S.M.A.R.T.:
Enabled (x)
Disabled

Following this it lists the onboard SATA ports and the drives detected on them. Each port has a submenu that offers Stagger Spin-Up and ESATA port -- these options are disabled on each port.

Following this it lists the onboard IDE ports (there are physical IDE ports on this board as well), but since none are detected there are no options.

I'm pretty sure that's right? I think the only things I changed after resetting the CMOS was changing SATA3 mode to AHCI, changing SATA mode to AHCI and turning on SMART monitoring.

EDIT: Forgot the ASMedia SATA3 Bootable section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does change the behavior or block
Quote:
[*] SATA Port Multiplier support
<*> Intel PATA old PIIX support
<*> Intel PATA MPIIX support

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I don't understand. Are you asking me to test something or are you stating that those options would change the modes that those drives run in? I'm not advocating for the old config or anything; I definitely don't want this machine running a kernel with unnecessarily slowed read write speeds. As you've probably inferred this box manages a ton of hard drive space and so operations that involve writing several terrabytes are somewhat common.

Although, also, just to clarify the "bad config" doesn't seem to panic in a VFS sync error -- at least not on screen, unless you found that in the dmesg (which I have yet to review). The point I'm making here is that it appears to be able to mount the filesystem to the extent that it can write a dmesg on the bad config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[*] SATA Port Multiplier support
<*> Intel PATA old PIIX support
<*> Intel PATA MPIIX support

suggest add them into the current .config recompile reboot and see what behavior results
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oic, doing it now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could you paste a copy of the .config that got past the panic?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, the liveCD didn't want to boot for a bit (really wish I had a laptop right now >< ). This should be the .config http://pastebin.com/2uhxmVqZ

I'm gonna compile this real quick and make sure it wasn't a fluke or that I didn't misplace it. I'll let you know if it stalled at the same place, but then I gotta go to class, I'll follow up probably between 5 and 530 EST.

And to be clear, the posted dmesg and jpg from page 2 are of that config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
EXT4-fs (sde4): warning: mounting fs with errors, running e2fsck is recommended
in dmesg
boot cd
Code:
e2fsck /dev/sde4
been ignoring the obvious since you could mount it from cd
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, only have time left for one more compile and reboot, decided to halt compiling the "bad config," recompile the seed config and run fs check before rebooting. Should know soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, don't be late to class, this is getting interesting
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
e2fsck 1.41.14 (22-Dec-2010)
/dev/sde4 contains a file system with errors, check forced.
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information
/dev/sde4: 289437/13590528 files (0.1% non-contiguous), 1913922/54361745 blocks
root@ubuntu:~#


Does that repair as well? Am I good to reboot?

Convinced my roomie to drive me to class :)

EDIT - ran again with -p to repair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use it, so don't know for sure
there is a -p option for fix with no questions
nothing for fix so i assume fix is automatic
recommend reboot
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forum is as flaky as I am today
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jickler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh, still no good, VFS sync on 0,0. I'll try bad config when I get back. Maybe it'll load bash now that the problem it's complaining about is addressed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

run
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum