Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] installing AutoCAD on Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jopeto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jul 2012
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:08 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] installing AutoCAD on Gentoo Reply with quote

I am using Gentoo on amd64 and unfortunately, while the free CAD programs available for Linux do a good job for some light usage, I still miss some of the functionality of AutoCAD. This is why I would like to install it on my computer. However, I have never installed Windows software on Linux, so I'm not really sure how to proceed and whether it is indeed possible. So I have a few questions:

1. Has anyone successfully installed AutoCAD on Gentoo? Is it stable and what is it a lot slower than running it on a Windows Machine?
2. How should I go about installing it. Maybe I should install WINE first and then what should I do from there?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help. I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to ask this question, but it now, I hope it will be moved to wherever it would be more appropriate.


Last edited by jopeto on Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:53 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2571

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When in doubt, check the WineHQ: http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=23660

As you can see, AutoCAD is rated as "garbage" so no, it won't work unfortunately.

From personal experience, anything with 3D capability like games and such will take a hefty performance hit. I would say that this is not what wine is good at running.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jopeto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jul 2012
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply. I guess it wouldn't be possible then...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1136
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jopeto wrote:
Thanks for your reply. I guess it wouldn't be possible then...


Not at all, jopeto.

Only to make it clear, cause it wasn't mentioned here, if this could be an option for you.

You could install WinXY in an VirtualBox to install Autocad into this.
So you could run Windows-Programs with Linux.
If you use VirtuaBox Seamless Mode, Windows Programs looks like it was integrated into your desktop, but you could use it also into Windows or Full-screen Mode too.

Performance hit depends on the 3D support of your graphics driver and the resources you gave to it.

Regards, Andy.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jopeto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jul 2012
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, Andy. I'll follow your advice and give it a shot. Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum