Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot fails: devpts already mounted or /dev/pts busy
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:54 pm    Post subject: Boot fails: devpts already mounted or /dev/pts busy Reply with quote

Hi,

Doing a clean install on a new disk, using a Gentoo version already running on an other disk. (So i can easily switch) Now, at booting my new installation i get:
Code:
* The "mount" command failed with error:
devpts already mounted or /dev/pts busy
mount: according to mtab,  devpts is already mounted on /dev/pts
* Since this is a critical task, startup cannot continue.

I started with:
Code:
portage-20121019.tar.bz2
stage3-i686-20121016.tar.bz2
and basically followed the steps in the guide. I have build a kernel via genkernel. In the boot partition i have:
Code:
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 1603641 Oct 21 16:18 System.map-genkernel-x86-3.3.8-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     512 Oct 25 19:39 boot.0800
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 4107153 Oct 21 19:08 initramfs-genkernel-x86-3.3.8-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 3008592 Oct 21 16:18 kernel-genkernel-x86-3.3.8-gentoo

My fstab reads (comments [#] removed):
Code:
# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>
/dev/sda1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/sda3               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/sda4               /data           ext3            noatime,noexec  0 2

I searched on internet, but the closest i got was https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=336726 which is ages old of course. So probably i am doing something wrong, but what? Btw, this is (should be) running on an old VIA processor, so building the kernel takes about 5 hours :) Any help is very much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 777
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# rc-update add udev-mount sysinit
then reboot. Also remove devpts from fstab if added.

Last edited by likewhoa on Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, these are my services
Code:
chroot@octy / $ rc-update show
                  atd |      default
             bootmisc | boot
             ddclient |      default
                devfs |                       sysinit
                dmesg |                       sysinit
              dnsmasq |      default
              firehol |      default
                 fsck | boot
             hostname | boot
              hwclock | boot
              keymaps | boot
            killprocs |              shutdown
                local |      default
           localmount | boot
              modules | boot
             mount-ro |              shutdown
                 mtab | boot
             net.eth0 |      default
             net.eth1 |      default
             net.eth2 |      default
             net.eth3 |      default
               net.lo | boot
             netmount |      default
                 ntpd |      default
               procfs | boot
                 root | boot
            savecache |              shutdown
                 sshd |      default
                 swap | boot
               sysctl | boot
            syslog-ng |      default
         termencoding | boot
                 udev |                       sysinit
           udev-mount |                       sysinit
       udev-postmount |      default
              urandom | boot
           vixie-cron |      default

and devpts is not in the fstab as shown above.
What else could be wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devlaam,

This might be nothing but the list of /boot doesn't show lost+found although it's located on its own partition /dev/sda1

Also the time stamp of initramfs and kernel is usually close, yours is nearly three hours apart
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
/boot doesn't show lost+found although it's located on its own partition /dev/sda1
i cut that out, it is a real partition alright

Quote:
the time stamp of initramfs and kernel is usually close, yours is nearly three hours apart
Yeah, thats the time this via needs to make initramfs .... :cry:

Thanks anyway BillWho.

I hope someone has a clou here because i am kind of stuck .... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devlaam,

Another long shot here - is CONFIG_DEVPTS_MULTIPLE_INSTANCES set in .config :?:

If so disable, recompile and try it.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
chroot@octy linux-3.3.8-gentoo $ cat .config | grep PTS
# CONFIG_DEVPTS_MULTIPLE_INSTANCES is not set

Nice try ... 8)
Maybe i can manually change some script to prohibit the second mount of PTS? It remains curious however that this occurs with a clean install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devlaam,

The only script on my end that mounts devpts is /etc/init.d/devfs - it's in sysinit runlevel.

Check for CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y and CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y in .config

You might want to try uncommenting # rc_logger="YES" in /etc/rc.conf.

Does /var/log/messages provide any clue :?:

Did you sync the system after unpacking portage or did you boot with the initially downloaded set :?:

Another last ditch attempt is to emerge sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.4.9 :?
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13845

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devlaam wrote:
Code:
chroot@octy linux-3.3.8-gentoo $ cat .config | grep PTS
# CONFIG_DEVPTS_MULTIPLE_INSTANCES is not set
This is a UUOC.

What is the output of ls -l /etc/mtab ; cat -n /etc/mtab?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Check for CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y and CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y in .config
Code:
chroot@octy linux-3.3.8-gentoo $ cat .config | grep MPFS
  # CONFIG_DEVTMPFS is not set
  CONFIG_TMPFS=y
  CONFIG_TMPFS_POSIX_ACL=y
  CONFIG_TMPFS_XATTR=y
So i assume CONFIG_DEVTMPFS must be set? But CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT is not present at all. What to do?

Quote:
You might want to try uncommenting # rc_logger="YES" in /etc/rc.conf.
Done.

Code:
Does /var/log/messages provide any clue
That file does not exist since syslog has not become active yet before the problem occurred. (Very early in the boot process)

Quote:
Did you sync the system after unpacking portage or did you boot with the initially downloaded set:
Looks like it:
Code:
chroot@octy / $ history | grep sync
  6  emerge -q --sync
196  emerge --sync
but i will do it again (combined with a world rebuild), will not hurt either.

Quote:
Another last ditch attempt is to emerge sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.4.9
That will be a possibility. I was already surprised that i have so old a kernel with the new install. I attributed that to the fact i choose for i686-pc-linux-gnu. Since building a new kernel takes (nearly) a day, i will let you know the later on.

Quote:
What is the output of ls -l /etc/mtab ; cat -n /etc/mtab?
Code:
chroot@octy log $ ls -l /etc/mtab ; cat -n /etc/mtab
ls: cannot access /etc/mtab: No such file or directory
as this system never has booted successfully, this file does not exist ... ?

Quote:
This is a UUOC.
Correct. Who cares?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devlaam,

This is my results, but I'm running 3.7.0-rc2
Code:
bill@gentoo-gateway /usr/src/linux $ grep DEVTMPFS .config
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y

If CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT isn't there then just set CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y

devlaam wrote:
Since building a new kernel takes (nearly) a day, i will let you know the later on.

That's agonizing 8O
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13845

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devlaam wrote:
So i assume CONFIG_DEVTMPFS must be set? But CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT is not present at all. What to do?
DEVTMPFS_MOUNT depends on DEVTMPFS. You must set DEVTMPFS before you can set DEVTMPFS_MOUNT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
DEVTMPFS_MOUNT depends on DEVTMPFS. You must set DEVTMPFS before you can set DEVTMPFS_MOUNT.
Yes, i found that out. Thanks.

Quote:
This is my results, but I'm running 3.7.0-rc2
Since i have also an machine with gentoo that runs 3.4.9 clean out of the box (and does not have these config options set, i checked, but this is an amd64 machine) i first try a new kernel with 3.4.9 (which first had to be added):
Code:
echo "=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.4.9 ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords
emerge -q =gentoo-sources-3.4.9
eselect kernel set 2
genkernel --install all
If that gives the same result i will try those options and build the kernel again. Due to the time a kernel compile takes i will report back in day or so. Thanks for your help (@BillWho, @Hu) so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olivierweb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 113
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:
<code># rc-update add udev-mount sysinit</code> then reboot. Also remove devpts from fstab if added.


After an update, I was unable to start an xterm or rxvt as non-root user.
Thanks, again I had problem with udev. This solved my problem.
_________________
A decade with Gentoo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Guy's

I have tried kernel 3.4.9 in two situations with and without the DEVTMPFS and DEVTMPFS_MOUNT set. In both situations the same error persist (as above). Also i tried with and without udev-mount in sysinit. This makes no difference.

To make things more mysterious, i have an other machine that runs the 3.4.9 kernel without any problems, and that does not has either the dev-mount in sysinit, nor the variables DEVTMPFS and DEVTMPFS_MOUNT set.

Here you can see an picture of the 3.3.8 kernel that fails booting: http://www.betaresearch.nl/tmp/bootfail-3.3.8.jpg Booting the 3.4.9 kernel as described gives a similar result.

So obviously the problem lies somewhere else. But where???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devlaam wrote:


Quote:
What is the output of ls -l /etc/mtab ; cat -n /etc/mtab?
Code:
chroot@octy log $ ls -l /etc/mtab ; cat -n /etc/mtab
ls: cannot access /etc/mtab: No such file or directory
as this system never has booted successfully, this file does not exist ... ?



here's a guess: mtab should exist?

from http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?full=1#grub-install-auto

Code:
To install GRUB you will need to issue the grub-install command. However, grub-install won't work off-the-shelf since we are inside a chrooted environment. We need to create /etc/mtab which lists all mounted filesystems. Fortunately, there is an easy way to accomplish this - just copy over /proc/mounts to /etc/mtab, excluding the rootfs line if you haven't created a separate boot partition. The following command will work in both cases:

Code Listing 2.5: Creating /etc/mtab
# grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devlaam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
here's a guess: mtab should exist?
As far as know this is only needed for GRUB. I am on LILO, and cannot remember needing an mtab on beforehand on other installs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum