Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Portage confusion, no PORTDIR_OVERLAY in make.conf
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yaoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:49 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Portage confusion, no PORTDIR_OVERLAY in make.conf Reply with quote

env-update gives me an invalid PORTDIR_OVERLAY error:

Code:
!!! Invalid PORTDIR_OVERLAY (not a dir): '/usr/portage'
!!! main-repo not set in DEFAULT and PORTDIR is empty.
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache…

However, my make.conf looks like this:
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"

LINGUAS="en"

Ucpu="mmx sse sse2"
Umultimedia="-oss alsa xv matroska x264 dvb ogg mad cdda dvd vorbis ffmpeg quicktime solid theora xvmc v4l v4l2 mp3 mp4 aac phonon dts alsa pulseaudio
openal a52 flac sdl xvid win32codecs mikmod"
Ukde="qt3support plasma kde kde4 qt4 semantic-desktop"
Uxorg="xinerama X opengl xcomposite xrandr"
Uimg="mng png truetype jpeg svg pdf pango cairo gd gif tiff"
Ugeneral="bindist doc bash-completion openssh openssl acpi apm bluetooth laptop mysql samba java xml mozilla sql sqlite
sqlite3 odbc php startup-notification mono udev nsplugin webkit spell fuse"
USE="${Ucpu} ${Umultimedia} ${Ukde} ${Uimg} ${Uxorg} ${Ugeneral}"

INPUT_DEVICES="evdev mouse keyboard joystick wacom"
VIDEO_CARDS="*"
ALSA_CARDS="hda-intel"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://mirrors.rit.edu/gentoo/ http://mirrors.rit.edu/gentoo/"
SYNC="rsync://rsync5.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"



So where is it getting the idea I put it PORTDIR_OVERLAY in there?

It might seem like I still need to untar portage, but reading the manual, I was under the impression that that doesn't happen until after chrooting the new environment. What is going on?


Last edited by Yaoi on Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Veldrin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
It might seem like I still need to untar portage, but reading the manual, I was under the impression that that doesn't happen until after chrooting the new environment. What is going on?
Strange - previously, you had to untar the portage snapshot before chrooting.

can you try to run emerge-webrsync from inside the chroot?

V.
_________________
read the portage output!
If my answer is too concise, ask for an explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yaoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Veldrin wrote:
Quote:
It might seem like I still need to untar portage, but reading the manual, I was under the impression that that doesn't happen until after chrooting the new environment. What is going on?
Strange - previously, you had to untar the portage snapshot before chrooting.

can you try to run emerge-webrsync from inside the chroot?

V.


Yes, that did it. I don't know why they reversed the order of those operations.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=1&chap=6#doc_chap1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roki942
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran into that the other day also ... you only get the error msg once .... once you do the emerge-webrsync it goes away
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum