Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Emerged grub successfully, but no /boot/grub/?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yaoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:10 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Emerged grub successfully, but no /boot/grub/? Reply with quote

grub seems to have emerged correctly, but there is no /boot/grub/ directory. It just never turns up post-operation, and trying to edit it brings up
Code:
boot/grub/grub.conf: No such file or directory
when attempting to save in nano.

/boot is mounted properly. I even tried emerging it a second time without any luck. What could I be doing wrong?


Last edited by Yaoi on Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears you've omitted the leading slash when trying to open the file with nano.
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yaoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That isn't it, I just omitted it from my post when I was copying out the message. My problem is that there isn't even a grub directory:

http://i.imgur.com/JBB2X.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible that you installed GRUB while /boot wasn't mounted? Please unmount /boot and see if the /boot directory of the root file system contains a ./grub directory.
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yaoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not really sure what to do with that. First I had trouble (in and outside of chroot) unmounting it because something else was using it, but then suddenly I could do it in chroot, and in any case, there is nothing in /boot when /dev/sda1 is unmounted.

One other question: do I have to grub-install before trying to edit grub.conf, anyway? If this is the case, then the manual has made another error of reversing the order of instructions as it had in my last thread, and moreover it isn't working.

Code:
(chroot) livecd / # grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab
(chroot) livecd / # grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda
bash: grub-install: command not found

The alternative manual install is not working, either.


Last edited by Yaoi on Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't remember exactly what the install from the Live CD looks like, but isn't his prompt indicative of not being in the chroot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yaoi wrote:
I'm not really sure what to do with that. First I had trouble (in and outside of chroot) unmounting it because something else was using it, but then suddenly I could do it in chroot, and in any case, there is nothing in /boot when /dev/sda1 is unmounted.

One other question: do I have to grub-install before trying to edit grub.conf, anyway? If this is the case, then the manual has made another error of reversing the order of instructions as it had in my last thread.


No, you need to write grub.conf before doing grub-install, because grub-install prepares your MBR with the configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, assuming that you have mounted all of the necessary devices:
Code:

# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot


Code:

# mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
# mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
# mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev


and you are in the chroot:
Code:

# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


You should have a prompt that starts with "(chroot)".

Is your /boot/grub directory still empty?
If so, run
Code:

emerge -s grub


What version of grub is installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yaoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrussia wrote:
I don't remember exactly what the install from the Live CD looks like, but isn't his prompt indicative of not being in the chroot?

I've been in chroot. I've gone in and out a few times without reactivating export PS1="(chroot) $PS1", though.
jrussia wrote:
So, assuming that you have mounted all of the necessary devices:
Code:

# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot


Code:

# mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
# mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
# mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev


and you are in the chroot:
Code:

# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


You should have a prompt that starts with "(chroot)".

Is your /boot/grub directory still empty?
If so, run
Code:

emerge -s grub


What version of grub is installed?


Having repeated these commands and reconfirming all of these things are mounted, I did emerge -s grub and it tells me sys-boot/grub is indeed installed: 2.00-r1, the latest as I type this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, GRUB2 installation differs from the GRUB in the installation guide. Presumably you unmasked it either explicitly in /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords or implicitly with something like ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" in /etc/portage/make.conf.

I don't use GRUB2, so I can't really offer any advice except to share Gentoo's guide for it:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2_Quick_Start

Good luck --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yaoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrussia wrote:
Ok, GRUB2 installation differs from the GRUB in the installation guide. Presumably you unmasked it either explicitly in /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords or implicitly with something like ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" in /etc/portage/make.conf.

I don't use GRUB2, so I can't really offer any advice except to share Gentoo's guide for it:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2_Quick_Start

Good luck --


Well... I can't be surprised I missed that, but I am surprised the manual hasn't been updated accordingly. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, following the default options in the handbooks will lead to GRUB-0.97, as I don't think they really cover testing architectures. But if you made a sojourn to find out more about USE flags, I guess this is one possible result.

edit: actually maybe some of them do, I'm not 100% sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum