Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Failed to connect to Internet with Installer (Broadcom).
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:15 pm    Post subject: Failed to connect to Internet with Installer (Broadcom). Reply with quote

I am new to Gentoo and I just built a system yesterday and I am having trouble getting past the network connection section in the Gentoo Handbook. My motherboard is an Asus p8z77-v deluxe that has a Wifi card attached and when I use

Code:
lspci
Broadcom Corporation BCM43228 802.11.a/b/g/n


I have eth0, eth1, and lo showing using ifconfig.

Code:
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
                   ether MAC Address txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
                   RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
                   RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
                   TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
                   TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

        eth1: Same as eth0 except for MAC Address but also has
                 device interrupt 20 memory 0xf7700000-f7720000


Has anyone had this controller and successfully got it working in the installer?

Forgot to mention my network is WPA2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ColinMc,

Welcome to Gentoo.

I'm not sure what you refer to when you say "in the installer". The reality is that you can use and liveCD to install Gentoo as long as it has a 64 bit kernel, if you want a 64 bit install. The liveCD only provides the tools needed for you to accomplish the install. None of the code on the CD ends up in your install.

The Gentoo minimal CDs have little or no wireless support. I reccomend that you use SystemRescueCd as your boot media. Its Gentoo based, provides both 64 and 32 bit kernels and has good wireless support.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ColinMc,

Welcome to Gentoo.

I'm not sure what you refer to when you say "in the installer". The reality is that you can use and liveCD to install Gentoo as long as it has a 64 bit kernel, if you want a 64 bit install. The liveCD only provides the tools needed for you to accomplish the install. None of the code on the CD ends up in your install.

The Gentoo minimal CDs have little or no wireless support. I reccomend that you use SystemRescueCd as your boot media. Its Gentoo based, provides both 64 and 32 bit kernels and has good wireless support.


Sorry when I said installer I meant to say liveCD. I am using the minimal CD and it is for a 64-bit architecture. I will check out that link and get back to you. Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. :)

Why does Gentoo's website have only the min iso and not another image with good wireless support?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that even the SystemRescueCD did not help either. The problem has to do with the Broadcom driver not being installed or recognized. Like I said I am new to Gentoo and I tried to install b43-fwcutter using emerge but it keeps giving me this:

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy net-wireless/b43-fwcutter


The odd thing is when I do this
Code:
emerge --search net-wireless/b43-fwcutter


it is found.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b43-fwcutter is NOT a driver.
It's a firmware loader for Broadcom cards.

The driver is in the kernel,preferably as module.
Try lsmod and see what modules are loaded.
I am on a wired connection so have no wireless.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ColinMc,

BCM43228 dies not provide enough information to identify te driver you need.

Run lspci and make a note of the numbers at the left of the line for your BCM43228 wireless.
Now run lspci -n, which will show the vendor and device IDs. Post the entire line of numbers that correspond to your wireless.

That information will allow us to determine the kernel module and firmware you need to load.
Try the following :-
Code:
modprobe b43
modprobe b43legacy
modprobe brcmfmac

Look at the end of
Code:
dmesg
to see if any firmware failed to load and look in
Code:
ifconfig -a
to see if you have a wlan0.

Those are the easy options - we will know more once you post your lspci -n line.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerard82 wrote:
b43-fwcutter is NOT a driver.
It's a firmware loader for Broadcom cards.

The driver is in the kernel,preferably as module.
Try lsmod and see what modules are loaded.
I am on a wired connection so have no wireless.
Gerard.


Here is what I get using lsmod.

Code:
async_pq          12534   2 raid456,async_raid6_recov
          raid6_pq           86718   2 async_raid6_recov,async_pq
          async_xor         12452   3 raid456,async_raid6_recov,async_pq
          xor                    12425   1 async_xor
          async_memcpy 12388   2 raid456,async_raid6_recov
          async_tx            12624   5 raid456, async_raid6_recov, async_pq, async_xor, async_memcpy
          raid1                  28846   0
          raid0                  16515   0
          multipath            12390   0
          linear                  12390   0
          nouveau             555182 0
          r8169                  45293  0
          mii                       12678  1 r8169
          ttm                       49521 1 nouveau
          drm_kms_helper  26351 1 nouveau
          drm                     162584 3 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
          e1000e                147122 0
          i2c_a1go_bit          12440 1 nouveau
          i2c_core                 22164 5 i2c_i801,nouveau,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_a1go_bit
          mxm_wmi              12516 1 nouveau
          video                      16668 1 nouveau
          wmi                        16837 2 asus_wmi, mxm_wmi
       
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ColinMc,

BCM43228 dies not provide enough information to identify te driver you need.

Run lspci and make a note of the numbers at the left of the line for your BCM43228 wireless.
Now run lspci -n, which will show the vendor and device IDs. Post the entire line of numbers that correspond to your wireless.

That information will allow us to determine the kernel module and firmware you need to load.
Try the following :-
Code:
modprobe b43
modprobe b43legacy
modprobe brcmfmac

Look at the end of
Code:
dmesg
to see if any firmware failed to load and look in
Code:
ifconfig -a
to see if you have a wlan0.

Those are the easy options - we will know more once you post your lspci -n line.


lspci -n gives me this for my network controller:

Code:
0c:00.0 0280: 14e4:4359


and ifconfig -a shows no wlan0. No errors loading any of those drivers in dmesg.

On here it tells me that my chipset has not been tested with b43 driver. The alternative is wl.
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43


Last edited by ColinMc on Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ColinMc,

You need the broadcom-sta driver. Its a binary blob provided by broadcom for your chipset. It comes with various licence restrictions that may make it impossible to include on any liveCD. Keep that in mind.

First, you must remove
Code:
modprobe -r <name>
the three modules I suggested you try, they interfere with broadcom-sta.
Check your lsmod to ensure they are gone.

Now try
Code:
modprobe wl
if you are lucky, this will not return any error and you will have a wlan0 in
Code:
ifconfig -a

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ColinMc,

You need the broadcom-sta driver. Its a binary blob provided by broadcom for your chipset. It comes with various licence restrictions that may make it impossible to include on any liveCD. Keep that in mind.

First, you must remove
Code:
modprobe -r <name>
the three modules I suggested you try, they interfere with broadcom-sta.
Check your lsmod to ensure they are gone.

Now try
Code:
modprobe wl
if you are lucky, this will not return any error and you will have a wlan0 in
Code:
ifconfig -a


Ok so I tried installing that using

Code:
emerge net-wireless/broadcom-sta


and it returns no ebuilds that satisfy that name. I am doing this on the liveCD for the SystemRescueCD if that helps. Everytime I try to install anything I always get that. :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ColinMc,

You cannot use emerge until after you can fetch code from the internet.

If
Code:
modprobe wl
fails on the System Rescue CD, you have two other options for installing.
Use a wired network link until your system can boot into its own install or fetch the required files remotely and move them to your Gentoo install.
You can use CD, USB stick ... whatever for this.

Looking on the SystemRescueCD, booted in VirtualBox, it doesn't look promising
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ColinMc,

You cannot use emerge until after you can fetch code from the internet.

If
Code:
modprobe wl
fails on the System Rescue CD, you have two other options for installing.
Use a wired network link until your system can boot into its own install or fetch the required files remotely and move them to your Gentoo install.
You can use CD, USB stick ... whatever for this.

Looking on the SystemRescueCD, booted in VirtualBox, it doesn't look promising


Ok, thanks! That is what I am doing, going to hook up wired in order to do the install. Thanks for all the help, I really appreciate it. Makes me feel that I am coming into a good community. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ColinMc,

You will need to
Code:
emerge broadcom-sta
before you reboot for the first time or you will still only have wired networking.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ColinMc,

You will need to
Code:
emerge broadcom-sta
before you reboot for the first time or you will still only have wired networking.


Ok so I went through the handbook and I am at the point of rebooting. I installed broadcom-sta but when I do

Code:
modprobe wl


This is what gets displayed:

Code:
FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/3.5.7-gentoo/modules.dep: No such file or directory


The kernel I have is 3.6.11. Using uname -a it shows 3.5.7 but in /lib/modules the directory is 3.6.11 and it has the modules.dep.

Edit: Solved the kernel version used:

Code:
modprobe -S 3.6.11-gentoo wl


but it gave me 2 warnings and a fatal error saying "invalid module format"

The errors were it failed to insert rfkill, crt80211, and wl.

Edit 2: Solved the invalid module format

I had to restart my computer after installing Gentoo and then add the following

Code:
modprobe wl


Under ifconfig there is no wlan0 but in dmesg my network controller said it was eth1. Bizarre. Anyways I am continuing where I am going to install Network Manager and try to setup my Wireless Network. Hoping all goes well, I spent 12 hours so far trying to get Gentoo installed and the wireless working. Majority of the time was the wireless not the Gentoo install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum