Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]Several Problems: Network, Hardware, Newbie,...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Anginsan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:13 pm    Post subject: [Solved]Several Problems: Network, Hardware, Newbie,... Reply with quote

Hello my Gentoo People,
my Laptop is:
Toshiba Satellite C850D AMD64 E1 1200 HD Radeon, Networkcard: Realtek 8723AE

My Problems:
Installation with Gentoo Minimal amd64 Installation CD, everything ran good, till Reboot. After Reboot, there was no Network. Then i ran genkernel kernel, installed new Kernel and Reboot, then it could not boot. Then, after reading Kernel Configuration in the Gentoo Handbook/Documantation, i configured a new Kernel, this one is better th an the previous two, but Networkproblem remains. Now i am in Live-CD and write to you, please help.
Excuse me for my bad English, for your answers, i will apreciate very much.

Your Angelo
_________________
...wer, wie, was...wieso, weshalb, warum...wer nicht fragt bleibt dumm...
...più uno impara, più sà che non sà niente...


Last edited by Anginsan on Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anginsan,

When you boot your install, what interfaces does
Code:
ifconfig -a
show?
This will tell if you have a kernel problem or a network setup problem.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anginsan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, thank you very much for your fast answer.

I chrooted into my new system.

ifconfig -a shows

eth0 and lo. In eth0 there are multiple outputs like:

IP Adresses a MAC Adress, there are some Bytes ups and downs.

How can i put the output of ifconfig -a here in the Forum with a Live CD?

Thanks Angelo
_________________
...wer, wie, was...wieso, weshalb, warum...wer nicht fragt bleibt dumm...
...più uno impara, più sà che non sà niente...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anginsan,

To post from a liveCD, make friends with wgetpaste.
It will put command output or file contents on the web and give you a URL. You post the URL.

As you have eth0 we know your kernel is good.
Did you install dhcpcd with your Gentoo as thats the tool that gets you an IP address from your router?

As a test (it might even work) do
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start

Any on screen error messages, or error messages at the end of dmesg will be useful.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anginsan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello NeddySeagoon,

wgetpaste ifconfig: http://bpaste.net/show/90999

command: /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
was answered by:
Warning: net.eth0 is already starting
_________________
...wer, wie, was...wieso, weshalb, warum...wer nicht fragt bleibt dumm...
...più uno impara, più sà che non sà niente...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anginsan,

Code:
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.2.102  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.2.255

That looks good.

Was that from your own install, where networking fails or from the liveCD, which we know works?

If you have been using the liveCD up to now, boot into your own install and do the same tests.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anginsan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello NeddySeagoon,

in my new Gentoo Install the outputs of
Code:
ifconfig -a
where the same as in Live-CD and the command
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
was answered same as in Live-CD.
Command
Code:
ping -c 3 www.gentoo.org
puts out: unknown host ....
_________________
...wer, wie, was...wieso, weshalb, warum...wer nicht fragt bleibt dumm...
...più uno impara, più sà che non sà niente...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anginsan,

From your own install, what is the output of the
Code:
route
command?
What is in the file /etc/resolv.conf ?

If /etc/resolv.conf is empty, put
Code:
nameserver 4.2.2.1
at the top of the file and try your network again.
This is a public nameserver and will do for testing. It will not work long term as it will be removed every time dhcp renews your lease.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i will gave you the classic google dns to test solve
Code:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" >> /etc/resolv.conf
ping -c1 www.google.com


edit: Neddygonzales strikes again ! Couldn't beat him :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anginsan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default         192.168.2.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
loopback        localhost       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
192.168.2.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     1      0        0 eth0


Code:
/etc /resolv.conf
was empty, with
Code:
 nameserver 8.8.8.8
in /etc/resolv.conf and
Code:
ping -c 3 www.google.com
gives output, three times, yeah.

I feel, that we are on the right way, thank you NeddySeagoon and krinn.
_________________
...wer, wie, was...wieso, weshalb, warum...wer nicht fragt bleibt dumm...
...più uno impara, più sà che non sà niente...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that you know why it doesn't work, remember it's google DNS, so add your own DNS server, because bigbrother is watching you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anginsan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haaahahahahaaaaa.

Thank you NeddySeagoon and krinn very, very much.

I appreciate it so much.

You all are great.

Angelo
_________________
...wer, wie, was...wieso, weshalb, warum...wer nicht fragt bleibt dumm...
...più uno impara, più sà che non sà niente...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anginsan,

You are not done yet. This is a test not a fix.
The content of /etc/resolv.conf will keep vanishing

Your router should supply your nameserver IP address and its not.
Using 8.8.8.8 or 4.2.2.1 will be slow. You should use your ISPs nameserver.

You also need to fix the root cause of the problem. What do you have in /etc/conf.d/net ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum