Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot stops suddenly and hangs, new install [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

perhaps it is offended by my use of append,

Quote:
boot=/dev/sda
prompt
timeout=50
default=gentoo

image=/boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo
label=gentoo
read-only
root=/dev/sda7
append="rootfstype=ext4"

image=/boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo
label=gentoo
read-only
root=/dev/sda7
append="init=/bin/bb"

other=/dev/sda1
label=windows


Code:
du -sh /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo
yields
Quote:
4.4M /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo
here, a typical kernel size.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if we can't escape the EBDA error, let's try setting up grub on the gentoo boot partition and chainloading grub from lilo:
boot the dvd, mount the gentoo partitions, enter the chroot, then
Code:
emerge grub
grub
find /boot/grub/stage1
will return an answer in the format (hdx,y) ; substitute the returned numbers for x and y in the following
Code:
root (hdx,y)
will return the file system installed on /boot
Code:
setup (hdx,y)
will return sectors embedded and succeeded among other info while setting up the partition boot record
Code:
quit nano /boot/grub/grub.conf
edit to
Quote:
default 0
timeout 5
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 3.8.13 on sda
root (hd0,4)
kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo root=/dev/sda7

title Gentoo Linux 3.8.13 on sdb
root (hd0,4)
kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo root=/dev/sdb7


title windows
rootnoverfy (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
then
Code:
nano /etc/lilo.conf
edit to
Quote:
boot=/dev/sda
prompt
timeout=50
default=gentoo

other=/dev/sda5
label=Gentoo Grub

other=/dev/sda1
label=windows


Code:
lilo -v
exit
cd
umount -l /mnt/gentoo/dev{/shm,/pts,}
umount -l /mnt/gentoo{/boot,/proc,}
reboot

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub info:
Code:

grub> find /boot/grub/stage1
 (hd0,4)

grub> root (hd0,4)
 Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

grub> setup (hd0,4)
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5" exists... yes
 Running "embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0,4)"... failed (this is not fatal)
 Running "embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0,4)"... failed (this is not fatal)
 Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0,4) /boot/grub/stage2 p /boot/grub/menu
.lst "... succeeded
Done.

Should I change anything you had in grub.conf according to the output above?

lilo -v output:
Code:

(chroot) Gentoo-20121221 / # lilo -v
LILO version 23.2 (released 09-Apr-2011)
  * Copyright (C) 1992-1998 Werner Almesberger  (until v20)
  * Copyright (C) 1999-2007 John Coffman  (until v22)
  * Copyright (C) 2009-2011 Joachim Wiedorn  (since v23)
This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software
distributed under the BSD License (3-clause). Details can be found in
the file COPYING, which is distributed with this software.
Compiled at 01:12:47 on May 26 2013

Warning: LBA32 addressing assumed
Reading boot sector from /dev/sda
Using MENU secondary loader
Calling map_insert_data

Unrecognized token "Grub" at or above line 9 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'
(chroot) Gentoo-20121221 / #

What Im worried about here is the last line about token "grub" not being recognized.

I am still in chroot on the liveDVD. Please tell me if i should make any fixes.

edit: I rebooted (without addressing any of the above concerns, so as was) and got the same error. The 4.4M kernel file size you showed was reassuring, my kernel file size was actually less than that at 4.0M, so the problem is definitely something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

change label=Gentoo Grub to label=gentoo in lilo.conf and run lilo -v again

same error means the ebda or the panic?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works! Hurray! I am glad we are starting to see very positive results

It now asks for login though:
Quote:

nameiputin login:
password:


I remember setting a password, but not a login. Was this by chance a part of the network config? I dont remember.

edit:
im an idiot. the login is "root". it was pretty exciting logging in. I nearly fell out my chair from the output of "reboot". Now that its more or less set up now, can i add a desktop environment? I still wont be able to do everything from the cmd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

desktop is the usual next step. first step http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml .the kernel and make.conf should be set to go. note that you can and should
Code:
 eselect profile list
and
Code:
 eselect profile set <profile for your desktop choice>


wish we knew for sure what the problem was, this ended up being a shot gun approach.

it appeared something was interfering with the scsi transport function needed for sata, if that was working we should have had reference to driver sr and driver sd in the panic screen. as you had the ahci driver available from the beginning had the scsi transport been working there should have been a list of available partitions had sda7 been wrong. There must have been a unique adverse reaction between your particular laptop and genkernel. lucky fellow.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the eselect thing is what I was talking about before. I chose gnome, but I might change depending on how it turns out.

Im currently following the xorg guide on the portage section
does this look like an adequate make.conf?
Code:

INPUT_DEVICES="evdev synaptics"

VIDEO_CARDS="intel"


edit:
it was in /etc/portage/make.conf. settings for input and video card were there already. question: how do i make sure udev is in the USE flags?
change USE="bindist mmx sse sse2" to USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 udev"?

edit2:
yeah, im running startx and it doesnt appear to be doing anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
qlist -IC x11-drivers
should produce
Quote:
x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev
x11-drivers/xf86-input-synaptics
x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel
after you run
Code:
emerge xorg-server
if it does not, emerge them.
there should now be a log at /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Code:
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/98-keyboard.conf
edit to
Quote:
Section "InputClass"
Identifier "keyboard"
Option "XkbOptions" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp"
MatchIsKeyboard "on"
EndSection
then
Code:
X -retro
should produce a black and white stippled screen with a movable mouse cursor if xorg-server is working. ctrl-alt-bkspc will get you out of X.
alternatively
Code:
emerge xterm twm xclock
startx
should produce a rudimentary display that can be escaped by entering exit in the windows.

Code:
emerge --info
will show all global use flags from your profile and make.conf
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im trying to enable automount. Im typing this from gentoo btw. Huge success.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6306250.html#6306250 (7th post)
I simply added nautilus to USE flags and it worked, but ill accept other suggestions.

pics of desktop:
http://imgur.com/LLuIeaF,dFyLjnG
http://imgur.com/cummRsn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum