Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Q] RAM Emerge + # Jobs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sahrxaa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cyberspace

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 3:38 pm    Post subject: [Q] RAM Emerge + # Jobs Reply with quote

Hello.

I just installed Gentoo (not my first time). I mounted /var/tmp/portage in RAM with a 12 gig size limit (out of 16), enough to compile any single package as I understand. Since I have a CPU with 8 effective core threads, I set portage to run 9 jobs. In retrospect, I realized the obvious problem there -- running multiple parallel jobs in RAM will end badly if I get a couple large packages.

So my question is which one of these options folks think I should pursue?
A) Compile 1 job at a time in RAM (pretty good sticks, 1600mhz, etc)
B) Forego RAM compilation and compile on-disk. I don't want to do this on my SSD, so this would be done on a mediocre mechanical drive.
C) Compile several jobs in RAM, adding problem packages to exclude list as necessary (hassle, but workable)

Edit: I should note the type of system I'm using. A minimalistic desktop running a 'small' DE or WM (haven't decided yet, but nothing big like Gnome/KDE). No OpenOffice.

I'll probably benchmark A/B myself when I get time, but wanted to see some feedback in the meantime.
_________________
The body is a cage, entwining and burdening the mind so as to halt expansion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wichtounet
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Mar 2012
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should just continue with the installation you made first.

I also configured portage/make to use 9 threads and I have only a 8G /tmp volume and I never had any problem. It works great and it spares the SSD. If you find a package with a problem, just compile it independently or change the options for it at this moment. The only program I see that may cause you problem is LibreOffice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And firefox (which crapped out on a 15G partition here.)

That's why update has both those in skipCompile for the default config. So you have to explicitly ask it to update libreoffice for example, or it will skip them during default world updates. Or of course remove it from /etc/update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum