Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
install fail [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've recompiled kernel and rebooted, got in login page but can't login

Code:
login incorrect


controlled hostname and update passwd but unfortunately can't login again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
This is cy.unknown_domain (Linux x86_64.......)

cy login: cy
password:

Login incorrect
cy login
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Did you try your root login ?

If that fails too you need to get into the chroot and issue the passwd command to reset your system root password?

Beware of passwords with non USA character set symbols because if your keyboard layout has not been set by editing /etc/conf.d/keymaps
you will have a USA keyboard map.

At the login prompt, try typing your password, so you can see it. Do you get the characters you expect?
If not find the characters you need.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I forgot useradd
Now on my kernel:

[IMG]http://i1107.photobucket.com/albums/h383/hcyildiran/DSCN2020.jpg[/IMG]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

You are getting closer.

Your R8169 module is not built in or the interface would be listed in ifconfig -a. That the modprobe failed shows its not made as a module either.
USB3 (xhci_hcd) may be built in - we can't tell from your post.

You have kernel support for your WiFi but that needs some user space tools to make work.

Its kernel time again but this time you do not need the liveCD. You system started on its own, even if it has a few bits missing.
You need to set the following options
Code:
<*> Kernel .config support
This will give you /proc/config.gz Its symbol is CONFIG_IKCONFIG, in case you need to search for it.

Code:
  │ │        [*]   Realtek devices                                                         │ │ 
  │ │        < >     RealTek RTL-8139 C+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support (NEW)           │ │ 
  │ │        < >     RealTek RTL-8129/8130/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support (NEW)    │ │ 
  │ │        <*>     Realtek 8169 gigabit ethernet support

I've shown r8169 here as built in but <M> works too.

The help says
Code:
  │ Symbol: R8169 [=y]                                                                       │ 
  │ Type  : tristate                                                                         │ 
  │ Prompt: Realtek 8169 gigabit ethernet support                                            │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/net/ethernet/realtek/Kconfig:105                                    │ 
  │   Depends on: NETDEVICES [=y] && ETHERNET [=y] && NET_VENDOR_REALTEK [=y] && PCI [=y]    │ 
  │   Location:                                                                              │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                                    │ 
  │       -> Network device support (NETDEVICES [=y])                                        │ 
  │         -> Ethernet driver support (ETHERNET [=y])                                       │ 
  │           -> Realtek devices (NET_VENDOR_REALTEK [=y])                                   │ 
  │   Selects: FW_LOADER [=y] && CRC32 [=y] && NET_CORE [=y] && MII [=y]
so you must set Depends on: NETDEVICES [=y] && ETHERNET [=y] && NET_VENDOR_REALTEK [=y] && PCI [=y] │ too.

Check your USB3 driver too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.


Last edited by NeddySeagoon on Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm root and

Code:
<*> Kernel .config support
bash: no such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran

I assumed too much.

The options are all set inside of menuconfig.
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig

now look for the options. If you use genkernel, you need to give the menuconfig option.

When your kernel is compiled, remember to
Code:
mount /boot
before you copy it.

Hint.
Code:
uname -a
Tells about your kernel.
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_SSD 3.9.7-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jun 25 19:36:14 BST 2013 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

The #X, in my case, #1 tells how many times this kernel has been built and the Tue Jun 25 19:36:14 BST 2013, tells the build time of the kernel.
This allows you to check that you are running the kernel you think you are.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# make && make modules_install
................
# mount /boot
mount: wrong fstype, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
...............
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

I guess that your /boot is ext2 and ext2 is off in your kernel.
This prevents you from installing a new kernel.

Go into
Code:
make menuconfig
again.
Set
Code:
<M> Second extended fs support
It must be <M> , <*> will not work.

Save your change. Run
Code:
make modules && make modules_install

This will build your ext2 driver as a module and install it into /lib/modules/...
(Now you see why you must use <M>)
Code:
modprobe ext2
will load the driver.

Now mount /boot will work
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
#modprobe ext2
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'ext2': Device or resource busy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Hmm ... I don't know.

Use the liveCD to get into your chroot and install your new kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing changed.

Code:
 make && make modules_install
make[1]: 'all' için hiçbir şey yapılamadı(couldn't be made anything for all)
make[1]: 'relocs' için hiçbir şey yapılamadı(couldn't be made anything for relocs)


System language is Turkish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo
cp: normal file /boot/kernel/.... couldn't be created: acces is dennied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Its time to learn wgetpaste. That will help others to help you.

From outside of the chroot but with everything mounted, do
Code:
mount | wgetpaste
df | wgetpaste
df -i | wgetpaste
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot | wgetpaste


wgetpaste posts things on the web to save you copy/paste. Each time it runs it will give you a URL. Post the URLs, so I can find them.

To use wgetpaste inside the chroot, you must run
Code:
emerge wgetpaste

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On liveCD?
Code:
livecd ~ # mounts | wgetpaste
*bash: mounts: command not found
No input read. Nothing to paste. Aborting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Oops. I edited my post. I intended to say mount (no s) not mounts
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpaste.net/show/113179/

http://bpaste.net/show/113180/

http://bpaste.net/show/113181/

http://bpaste.net/show/113182/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,
mount:
/dev/sda1 on /mnt/gentoo/boot type ext2 (rw)
Thats good and as expected.
df:
/dev/sda1          31077    6648     22825  23% /mnt/gentoo/boot
thats good too. You have 22.8 Mb of free space
df -i:
/dev/sda1         8032     33    7999    1% /mnt/gentoo/boot
and lots of i-nodes, so the free space can be used.

mount:
none on /mnt/gentoo/proc type proc (rw)
/sys on /mnt/gentoo/sys type none (rw,bind,rbind)
/dev on /mnt/gentoo/dev type none (rw,bind,rbind)
shows that /dev and /proc are mounted in the chroot too.

Go into the chroot,
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
and try the kernel copy again.
Nothing explains your permission denied error.

If it happens again, paste dmesg with
Code:
dmesg | wgetpaste
and tell the URL.
The end of dmesg may have more information.

Can you copy the kernel with a new name ?
If that works, you must update grub.conf too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpaste.net/show/113191/

Quote:
Can you copy the kernel with a new name ?
If that works, you must update grub.conf too.


I don't know how to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran

dmesg did not help. There were no errors.

In your chroot, try the following ...

Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo

If that works, all is well.

If it fails, try
Code:
cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo_2


If that works do
Code:
nano /boot/grub/grub.conf

In the file, find kernel-3.8.13-gentoo and change it to kernel-3.8.13-gentoo_2

How to use nano is in the two rows of text at the bottom.
Exit and save your change.
Reboot to test.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately low degree success.

I'm giving up for today.

Good evening
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should I organize etc/conf.d/modules file manually, or commands enough? There is no active module in the file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

If you have mad your r8169 as <*> in the kernel, and empty /etc/conf.d/modules will be OK to get you started.

A bigger concern right now is that you cannot seem to write to /boot with either our own install or the liveCD.
Is that correct?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, may be I confused and wrote anything wrongwhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Lets cheat a little.

We know from mount
Code:
/dev/sda3 on /mnt/gentoo type ext4 (rw)
/dev/sda1 on /mnt/gentoo/boot type ext2 (rw)


Boot your install normally - no CD, no chroot. But at the grub screen press e

Edit the line that says
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo root=/dev/sda3
to read
Code:
kernel (hd0,2)/usr/src/linux/arch/x86/boot/bzImage root=/dev/sda3


You will know /usr/src/linux from running make menuconfig and arch/x86/boot/bzImage from copying your kernel to /boot.
What this does is to boot the kernel from the build location, without copying it to boot.

When you have made the change tell grub to continue with the boot.

This change is in memory only
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum