Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
install fail [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the onset I was unfamiliar to install -copy&paste phase but I'm beginning to understand something, thank you. Still too much thing to learn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May I ask last question?

While manually compiling kernel, "make menuconfig" command, some of the options are marked *. Do I need all of them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

The options marked <*> will be compiled into the kernel bzImage file that you eventually copy to /boot.
Options marked <M> will be installed into /lib/modules/<kernel-version/... which is on your / (root) filesystem.
Options marked < > will not be installed at all.
Options marked -*- are forced on by something else.

This means that to boot, you need to mark <*> all the options needed to mount the root filesystem.
Thats your partition table option, SCSI, SCSI Disk, the driver for your HDD chipset and your root filesystem driver.
Nothing else need be <*>
Other options can be <*> but they are not required to be <*>

With root mounted, the kernel can read /lib/modules/<kernel-version/... to load modules.

Common practice is you use <*> for things you will always need, so CDROM support, SCSI Generic, Scan all LUNs (for card readers), network card, USB storage ...
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on a new install x86_64. Compiled kernel.

Code:
Kernel: arch/x86/boot/bzImage is ready (#1)


I suppose It must be "/arch/x86_64/boot..."

Code:
# cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo
cp: cannot  stat 'arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage' : No such file or directory

# cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo
cp: cannot  stat 'arch/x86/boot/bzImage' : No such file or directory


please help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Around kernel-2.6.26, a long time ago anyway, the i386 and x86_64 kernels were merged into x86.
i386 and x86_64 both became symbolic links to x86. Any of arch/[i386,x86,x86_64]/boot/bzImage should work unless the symlinks have been dropped.

<pedantic> "/arch/x86_64/boot..." is always incorrect. The leading / makes it an absolute path.
arch/... (no leading /) means with respect to the present working directory, which should be /usr/src/linux
</pedantic>

If you wish to use an absolute path name, starting with a / it will be
/usr/src/linux/arch/x86/boot/bzImage

You did not show the prompt but both of your code snippets would work if your working directory was /usr/src/linux
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[IMG]http://i1107.photobucket.com/albums/h383/hcyildiran/DSCN2025.jpg[/IMG]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Its all a matter of a leading / or not.

Your image shows that your Present Working Directory (PWD) is /usr/src/linux Thats what the linux # prompt tells
You told cp to copy usr/src/linux/... without the leading /, so it tried to find that in your PWD ... but its not there.
To write it out more fully, you asked for /usr/src/linux/usr/src/linux/arch/x86/boot/bzImage.

cp /usr/src/linux/... with the leading / would be correct.

When you are already in /usr/src/linux arch/x86/boot/bzImage (no leading /) should work too.
Without the leading / the pwd is prepended to the path you type.

Try the pwd command.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just copied from handbook

Code:

Code Listing 2.9: Installing the kernel
# cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=1&chap=7

By the way, I admire your patience. Let's look at the good side, raising a great poet because of me.

I've completed install. While bootig I see in the sliding lines

Code:
* Some of local filesystem failed to mount
.............
*      ERROR: interface eth0 does not exist
*      Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
* ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start
* ERROR: cannot start netmount as net.eth0 would not start



[IMG]http://i1107.photobucket.com/albums/h383/hcyildiran/DSCN2016.jpg[/IMG]
Its r8169 loaded. And I cant use internet. I hope this is the last problem in this topic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

The step at Code Listing 2.9: Installing the kernel,
cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo

assumes that the PWD is /usr/src/<kernel-versriom> since you have just run
Code:
make && make modules_install

Therefore its arch/.. not /arch/...

/x86_64/ is the same as /x86/

Your network problem ...

I suspect that your network interface is not called eth0. Since the handbook was written udev has been updated to rename network interfaced based on their place in the hardware tree. If your interface is present, it will show up in
Code:
ifconfig -a


There are two ways to fix it. Everywhere that you have eth0, change it to the new name.
Tell udev to keep the old naming by writing a udev rule.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it enp5s0?
[IMG]http://i1107.photobucket.com/albums/h383/hcyildiran/DSCN2027.jpg[/IMG]


NeddySeagoon wrote:

Tell udev to keep the old naming by writing a udev rule.


How can I do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Yes, thats it.

To keep eth0 add net.ifnames=0 to the end of your kernel line in grub.conf
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cant find grub.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Its in /boot/grub

... but /boot is not mounted by default in Gentoo, so /boot will appear to be empty :)
All will be revealed after
Code:
mount /boot

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# mount /boot
mount: wrong fstype, bad option, ...


Is there any easy way to change all eth0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Ah, back to missing ext2 filesystem. You can either fix that by making ext2 as a module, use your boot CD to mount your own /boot so you can edit grub.conf

eth0 is used in two or three places.

It may appear in /etc/conf.d/net to set routes and the IP addess. Its not required if you use dhcpcd.

It will be in rc-update for net.eth0
It will be in /etc/init.d/ as net.eth0 which is a symlink to net.lo

Rename the symlink
rc-update net.eth0 del
rc-update net.e... add default

Thats it. /etc/init.d/net.e.. start to bring up the network without a reboot.

You will still need to fix your ext2 for your next kernel update.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's OK. How can I fix my ext2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcyildiran,

Lets make sure you understand the problem.

/boot uses the ext2 filesystem and you cannot mount it to install a new kernel because the kernel does not support ext2.
This means you need ext2 support for your kernel to mount boot to install a new kernel.
It looks like a circular argument - so you need to break the circle.

You tried this a week or so ago when you made ext2 as <M>
Maybe its still there?

Try
Code:
modprobe ext2
mount /boot


If modprobe gives an error, get into make menuconfig for your running kernel[1] and set
Code:
<M> Second extended fs support

It must be <M> so that the module goes into /lib/modules/<kernel_version>
Save your change.

[1]Check that the kernel shown by
Code:
uname -r
is the same version as shown by
Code:
readlink /usr/src/linux

If they are different, use cd /usr/src/linux-<ver>-gentoo where <ver> matches uname -r
Making the module for another kernel is possible but not useful.

Code:
make modules
make modules_install
will build and install the ext2 module.
Code:
modprobe ext2
mount /boot
should now work.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcyildiran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2011
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I think it' long enough for a topic. It was an exciting journey for me. Thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum