Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
grub2 + bios/GPT: boot loop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kutte128
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 10:55 am    Post subject: grub2 + bios/GPT: boot loop Reply with quote

Hi,

i tried to install gentoo on a gtp disk.
all went without any errors, but i'm not able to boot.
It just shows "loading grub" for a nanosecond and reboots in a loop.
No error, no possibility to enter the grub console.

this is my partition table:
Code:
gdisk /dev/sda
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.6

Partition table scan:
  MBR: protective
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sda: 488397168 sectors, 232.9 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): 22F50EDA-9136-4D55-8AFA-BA9810F674F4
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 488397134
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 2014 sectors (1007.0 KiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048          411647   200.0 MiB   EF02  BIOS boot partition
   2          411648         1435647   500.0 MiB   8200  Linux swap
   3         1435648        43378687   20.0 GiB    8300  Linux filesystem
   4        43378688        44402687   500.0 MiB   8300  Linux filesystem
   5        44402688        86345727   20.0 GiB    8300  Linux filesystem
   6        86345728       488397134   191.7 GiB   8300  Linux filesystem

Make.conf:
Quote:

GRUB_PLATFORMS="pc"

grub.cfg:
Code:

menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-0a3cf6cd-cd2d-4802-b139-4a42ae7addd0' {
        load_video
        set gfxpayload=keep
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,gpt1'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  2232338e-1e23-4541-874e-d0b511b27164
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2232338e-1e23-4541-874e-d0b511b27164
        fi
        echo    'Linux x86_64-3.8.13-gentoo wird geladen …'
        linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.8.13-gentoo root=UUID=0a3cf6cd-cd2d-4802-b139-4a42ae7addd0 ro  debug
        echo    'Initiale Ramdisk wird geladen …'
        initrd  /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.8.13-gentoo
}


anybody have an idea what went wrong or how i can persuade grub to show some infos?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anime-otaku
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found this wiki entry http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/UEFI_Dual_boot_with_Windows_7/8

Maybe it helps. I will try it too for the first time in the next days.
_________________
Gentoo compiles you to heaven

There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understands BINARY and those who don't.

Answer the unanswered posts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kutte128
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

i do not use an uefi bios. as far as i know its not necessary.
its also no dual boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

abandon grub2 in favor of legacy grub which has been working beautifully with gpt disks for a year or more.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kutte128
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

thx, legacy grub worked

anybody knows why?
a bug in grub2 or did i something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srs5694
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 434
Location: Woonsocket, RI

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kutte128 wrote:
anybody knows why?
a bug in grub2 or did i something wrong?


Based on your symptoms, I wouldn't care to venture a guess -- it could be a bug or user error.

One minor point: Your BIOS Boot Partition is ridiculously large. Normally, 1MiB is plenty big, although I've heard of configurations that need more than that. I doubt if this is the source of your problem, but I thought I'd point it out for future reference. FWIW, GRUB Legacy doesn't need this partition, so it's pretty much just dead space for you right now. Your swap space, by contrast, is rather dinky, especially if you want to use suspend-to-disk features -- for that function to work, you need at least as much swap space as you've got RAM, and few modern computers have just 500MiB of RAM these days. Thus, you might want to consider deleting both those partitions and consolidating them into one larger swap partition. If you want to use suspend-to-disk, though, you may need to resize other partitions to make room for enough swap space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum