Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Broken system: no root account, read only user account
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 26, 27, 28  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

startx won't run
do you have network? if so
Code:
emerge -avuND --keep-going world

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I have the network, but DNS server is not. Maybe I need to update conf.d/net file.

let's see what bad news the update world brings us... :)

Just 567 packages, no blocks though! 161 new, 7 in new slots, 20 reinstalls and 1.3 GB of download..

vala-common-0.18.1 failed to emerge
likewise
docbook-dsssl-stylesheets-1.79
gtk-doc-1.19 dropped
webkit...r201 dropped


Last edited by auddoula on Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
vi /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
vi /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8

OK, let the emerge chug along for now, then I will fix this unless there is a way to get another screen....


Last edited by auddoula on Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

auddoula,

good job! Hats off, your persistence is impressive!
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
auddoula,

good job! Hats off, your persistence is impressive!
Thanks, but still there is work to do... but ALL the credit goes to Donahue and Neddy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

<ctrl><alt><f2>
do your business
ctrl><alt><f1>
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
vi /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8
why is that? I have a static IP address, and I typically specify two nameservers, and it worked just fine in rescuecd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does it say in /etc/resolv.conf?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nameserver= 1st IP_address I specified
nameserver= 2nd IP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

then nameservice should work
Code:
ping -c2 the ip of your router
ping -c2 the name of your router if assigned one
ping -c2 8.8.8.8
ping google.com


Code:
ifconfig
provides no surpises?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh boy, emerge already quit.. most likely on webkit-gtk, again...
I will check the nameservice in the meantime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
then nameservice should work
Code:
ping -c2 the ip of your router
ping -c2 the name of your router if assigned one
ping -c2 8.8.8.8
ping google.com

the router ping works fine
ping the name of the router says unknown host
ping to 8888 says Network is unreachable
ping google says unknown host

Quote:
Code:
ifconfig
provides no surpises?


not that i can see. everything looks good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if I did not properly
ln -s net.lo net.eth0

it does show
net.eth0 --> net.lo
so, must be correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may need to provide the appropriate domainname; might be proxy problems

equery belongs domainname
* Searching for domainname ...
sys-apps/net-tools-1.60_p20120127084908 (/bin/domainname -> hostname)

so
Code:
emerge net-tools


Setting the domainname
# nano -w /etc/conf.d/net

(Set the dns_domain variable to your domain name)
dns_domain_lo="homenetwork"

throw in a rebbot

link is correct
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

before I reboot, a couple of questions
1.dns_domain_lo should that be dns_domain_eth0? There is an option to uncomment this in net file
2. I also put dns_servers_et0="IP1 IP2", that is in addition to resolv.conf. Could that be a conflict?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does your /etc/conf.d/net resemble
Quote:
config_eth0="192.168.1.203 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.255"
routes_eth0="default gw 192.168.1.1"
dns_servers="192.168.1.2 8.8.8.8"
without ( ( "default gw 192.168.1.1" ) formatting which has been deprecated for a long time

dns_domain_lo is per handbook
dns_servers="192.168.1.2 8.8.8.8" in the /etc/conf.d/net will cause overwrite of /etc/resolv.conf each time net script runs
dns_servers_eth0="192.168.1.2 8.8.8.8" each time net.eth0 runs
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, but with eth0 added to servers line.
Also there is a bracket around
config_eth0=("192.168.1.203 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.255")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no brackets please
when up
Code:
emerge -1 iproute2 net-tools
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rebooted but there is no change to DNS issue.
OK, I delete the brackets.


Last edited by auddoula on Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

192.168.1.203 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.255

Is there a typo? With this netmask your node should be 192.168.2.x.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!


Last edited by Jaglover on Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when I boot/reboot I see the correct IP address/24
I will recheck for typos.
i don't think there is, in the past it worked fine, as it did with the rescue CD over the past few days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
no brackets please
when up
Code:
emerge -1 iproute2 net-tools
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart

i don't think i was able to emerge, webkit-gtk again..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
dig google.com | wgetpaste
nslookup google.com | wgetpaste

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
dig google.com | wgetpaste
nslookup google.com | wgetpaste

in both cases no servers could be reached error.

I don't think I have the network after all, I could not ssh to another machine I usually can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 26, 27, 28  Next
Page 17 of 28

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum