Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Broken system: no root account, read only user account
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21 ... 26, 27, 28  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
edit /etc/portage/package.mask and remove nvidia-drivers think
i remember that
sorry, I mistyped.. it is running now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i said policykit but that is the keyword the package is polkit; sorry,
Code:
emerge -s polkit
installed or not?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
i said policykit but that is the keyword the package is polkit; sorry,
Code:
emerge -s polkit
installed or not?


I am in startx.. looks like Gnome to me.. nothing under Applications, but it did not crash. i am obviously logged in as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to go n a few minutes, but when i tried to logout I get a warning GDM is not running..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried startx as a regular user, it failed. error parsing configuration file .nvidia-settings-rc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnome --- I remind you my guess was Gnome yours was kde you were experimenting -- fluxbox also was emerged a while ago
try
Code:
 rc-update add xdm default
reboot

see if you boot direct to a GUI and if so which one
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got to go now, but looks like we are awfully close.. i put xdm and i got black login screen. and as as user startx failed..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sleep well tonight
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, when I attempt startx from a user account (which fortunately still exists!), it fails. On the other hand, startx from the root account yields a Gnome GUI interface, but the Application menu totally empty. In fact, I don't see a way to get a terminal even. However, I can access System menu, including Nvidia X server settings.

I am not married to KDE, I am willing to work with Gnome if necessary. KDE seems to be always troublesome..


Last edited by auddoula on Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for whichever desktop you wish to use:
Suggest repeating install per
either http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE but using
Code:
 emerge -avuND kde-base/kdebase-meta
or http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gnome-config.xml starting at code listing 2.3 but using
Code:
 emerge -avuND gnome
If you wish to use a printer, we unmerged cups, so
Code:
emerge cups foomatic-filters ghostscript-gpl gutenprint

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
for whichever desktop you wish to use:
Suggest repeating install per
either http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE but using
Code:
 emerge -avuND kde-base/kdebase-meta
hmm.. nothing merged, 0 packages and 0 downloads..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

then kde should have a full base package
these steps
Quote:
Boot service
Set KDM as your default display manager:
[Collapse] File/etc/conf.d/xdm
DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm"
To start KDE on boot, add xdm to your default runlevel:
root #
rc-update add xdm default
To start KDE now:
root #
/etc/init.d/xdm start
should shift your desktop at boot as root to kde
Code:
ls /etc/X11/Sessions
ensure kde is present

a reboot should arrive at kdm login screen
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

suggest
Code:
emerge -av polkit consolekit syslog-ng mlocate
rc-update add consolekit default
rc-update add vixie-cron default
rc-update add syslog-ng default


consolekit tracks users and session
a cron allows for scheduled activity
a looger logs in /var/log
mlocate keeps track of files by running from cron daily to update a database to support the locate command, the emerge sets the crontask
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:

Code:
ls /etc/X11/Sessions
ensure kde is present

a reboot should arrive at kdm login screen

it has Gnome, KDe-4 Xsession and fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
suggest
Code:
emerge -av polkit consolekit syslog-ng mlocate



it has one block for slocate, I unmerged it and it worked.

So,
Code:
rc-update add consolekit default
rc-update add vixie-cron default
rc-update add syslog-ng default

done.

I rebooted and I again was taken to black screen with login...

Startx from a user account failed even after I moved .nvidia-setting-rc which gave an initial error...

current errors: xterm: err0r 32, errno 2: no such file
get_pty: not enough ptys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Startx from root account: no visible change. but I do get Gnome GUI. However, APplications menu not populated, but most of others are including Place, System. I can get even Epiphany (which gave us a lot of trouble earlier..)
I can also get the setting menu for KDE, NVidia.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here my Xorg.0.log file
http://bpaste.net/show/133476
and
xorg.conf
http://bpaste.net/show/133480
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I traced that xdm is not actually installed by
Code:
 /etc/initr.d/xdm -d restart


so, I
emerged -av xdm
and restarted xdm.

However, I was taken to a rudimentary login screen with console screen on lower right. Specifying login name (wheter root or a user) and then password does not do much, it takes you back to the rudimentary screen.. Although I can move my mouse.

Upon a reboot, I get back that same rudimentary screen.. I suspect that although I can type in the user name, the password panel is unable to read the keystrokes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you repeated http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gnome-config.xml starting at code listing 2.3 but using
Code:
 emerge -avuND gnome


are consolekit and polkit emerged and consolekit added to the default runlevel?

if all yes:
Code:
 rc-update del xdm default
reboot


when backup: edit /etc/env.d/90xsession to XSESSION="Gnome"
edit /etc/conf.d/xdm to DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm" ;then start X and gnome with
Code:
gdm


should show a fancier login screen
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
have you repeated http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gnome-config.xml starting at code listing 2.3 but using
Code:
 emerge -avuND gnome


are consolekit and polkit emerged and consolekit added to the default runlevel?

if all yes:
Code:
 rc-update del xdm default
reboot


when backup: edit /etc/env.d/90xsession to XSESSION="Gnome"
edit /etc/conf.d/xdm to DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm" ;then start X and gnome with
Code:
gdm


should show a fancier login screen

I only did it for KDE since there was an 'or' :)

But I will try this solution. How do I get back a terminal? I would rather not go back to livecd again..

are consolekit and polkit emerged and consolekit added to the default runlevel? These are DONE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gather you are in gnome now?

try alt-F2 enter gnome-panel in dialog and/or gnome-terminal in dialog

Code:
rc-update del xdm default
reboot
will have every boot come to familiar black terminal until xdm is restored to run level
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, thanks.. emerging gnome requires 88 packages, over 100 Mb download... Hopefully, it won't bail out. We are so close, yet...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

88 pkgs is diagnostic, lot missing or obsolete
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For info pending update

xorg is not problem

Code:
ls -al /root/  | wgetpaste
ls -al /home/insert your user nsme here  | wgetpaste


if in a gnome screen missing applications: <alt><f2> in the dialog box that appears enter gnome-panel : perhaps Applications appears?
if in a gnome screen missing applications: <alt><f2> in the dialog box that appears enter gnome-terminal : perhaps a terminal appears?

If you are in the familiar black boot terminal, gdm should start the gnome login manager
xdm the rudimentary X login manager
startkde the kde login manager
startx will start whatever is in /etc/conf.d/xdm when the wind is right

your user probably has no xinitrc or it is too out of date

http://www.flickr.com/photos/96868680@N04/9807600036/ is a picture of my System->Preferences->Startup Applications
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auddoula
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gnome emerge failed on udisks-1.0.4.r5, I added --keep-going to get things going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21 ... 26, 27, 28  Next
Page 20 of 28

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum