Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub2 updated, but still with grub legacy
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nitro_146
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Location: Digne les bains, France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 2:42 pm    Post subject: Grub2 updated, but still with grub legacy Reply with quote

Hi All,

I hope this post is in the right place.

I followed the grub migration guide : http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/grub2-migration.xml
Everything worked, including the chainloading.

I then installed grub2 with grub2-install /dev/sda and removed grub legacy from the system.

But, at boot, the grub legacy menu is still there...

Did I miss something ?
_________________
Linux, cause booting is for adding new hardware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeGa!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 101
Location: Capital Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi! The grub legacy and grub2 menus are pretty similar. Are you sure you're seeing the >0.97 version? It says the version in the upper section of the screen.

Best regards,

PeGa!
_________________
If it moves, it needs an ebuild.

Adopt an unanswered post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nitro_146
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Location: Digne les bains, France

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your answer.

My menus are really different, no mistake is possible.

I have grub legacy. Then I can either follow the chainload link that sends me to grub2, or directly boot my system.
_________________
Linux, cause booting is for adding new hardware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeGa!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 101
Location: Capital Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This situation is very strange. How many disks do you have? Assuming grub2-install didn't give you any errors, the only thing I can think of is that it is installed on another disk.
_________________
If it moves, it needs an ebuild.

Adopt an unanswered post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nitro_146
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Location: Digne les bains, France

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hum... you pointed me to the right direction.

I remind now that my bios randomly swap the names of my 2 drives.
The boot drive was not /dev/sda but /dev/sdb when I installed grub.

I will dig this and post here the results.
_________________
Linux, cause booting is for adding new hardware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nitro_146
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Location: Digne les bains, France

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe the guide should be clarified.

Here is what can be found in my /boot/grub/grub.conf
Quote:
default 1
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Memtest86Plus
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/memtest86plus/memtest

title=Gentoo Linux (3.10.7-gentoo-r1)
root (hd0,1) ## partition boot : dev/sda2
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 root=UUID=13a6e683-7b7f-48c2-b974-86
f23a18bdd4 rootfstype=ext4 splash=verbose,theme:natural_gentoo video=uvesafb:1280x1024-32,
mtrr:3,ywrap console=tty1
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo-r1


So hd0 seem to be the boot disk

then
Code:
# more /boot/grub/device.map

Quote:

(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/sda


boot disk is /dev/sda

But if I launch
Code:
#fdisk -l

Quote:
Disque /dev/sda : 1000.2 Go, 1000204886016 octets, 1953525168 secteurs
Unités = secteur de 1 × 512 = 512 octets
Taille de secteur (logique / physique) : 512 octets / 512 octets
taille d'E/S (minimale / optimale) : 512 octets / 512 octets
Identifiant de disque : 0xb18accef

Périphérique Amorce Début Fin Blocs Id Système
/dev/sda1 2048 16779263 8388608 82 partition d'échange Linux / Solaris
/dev/sda2 16779264 184551423 83886080 83 Linux
/dev/sda3 184551424 1953525167 884486872 83 Linux

Disque /dev/sdb : 80.0 Go, 80026361856 octets, 156301488 secteurs
Unités = secteur de 1 × 512 = 512 octets
Taille de secteur (logique / physique) : 512 octets / 512 octets
taille d'E/S (minimale / optimale) : 512 octets / 512 octets
Identifiant de disque : 0x03eef880

Périphérique Amorce Début Fin Blocs Id Système
/dev/sdb1 128520 156296384 78083932+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 * 63 128519 64228+ 83 Linux

Les entrées de la table de partitions ne sont pas dans l'ordre du disque


I believe according to this (and knowing that the boot drive is the 80Go SSD) that the boot disk is /dev/sdb

Should I run
Code:
 grub2-install /dev/sdb

_________________
Linux, cause booting is for adding new hardware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum