Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Should video card be present befor tweaking kernel?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
augustin2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 244
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:18 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Should video card be present befor tweaking kernel? Reply with quote

Hi,
As I plan to buy a WQHD monitor and a new graphic card, I would like to ensure that everything will go well when installing the graphic card. To do so, I tried to tweak my kernel with the settings relevant to my future card that could be a radeon HD6670 model (presently I am using an nVidia card).
Thus I followed the radeon guide on the wiki, installing the linux-firmware package and adding the setting in the kernel for the future card.
Unfortunately, I cannot compile the kernel.
My questions are:
1- Should the radeon card be present in the pc before compiling the new kernel?
2- If yes can the nVidia card and the radeon card be present at the same time allowing me to prepare the kernel for the arrival of my new monitor ?


Last edited by augustin2 on Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piotraf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 43
Location: Łódź - Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Should graphic card be present before tweaking the kerne Reply with quote

augustin2 wrote:

My questions are:
1- Should the radeon card be present in the pc before compiling the new kernel?
2- If yes can the nVidia card and the radeon card be present at the same time allowing me to prepare the kernel for the arrival of my new monitor ?


1 - NO, you do not have to have any hardware that you include in the kernel config.
2 - It is still a NO, but you may have as many cards as your motherboard let's you.
_________________
best regards/ pozdrawiam
PiotrAF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 244
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK thank you.

1-Thus I have to understand why it doesn't compile.
I have a doubt at the time of declaring the firmware at :
Quote:
[*] Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
(radeon/<YOUR-MODEL>.bin)

As the chipset is a TURKS one, should I choose all radeon/TURKS_xxx.bin files or only one of them ? The wiki is unclear for someone who is not used to that sort of things.
2- Does this mean that I can have several nVidia cards but not a mix of AMD and nVidia ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piotraf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 43
Location: Łódź - Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

augustin2 wrote:

1-Thus I have to understand why it doesn't compile.


If you provide the compile errors you get, maybe someone will help you out with the problem. Try to google pasting the error output.

augustin2 wrote:

2- Does this mean that I can have several nVidia cards but not a mix of AMD and nVidia ?


It is only hardware related to the motherboard, thus you may have any chipset mixture. The kernel build process doesn't have anything to do with that.
_________________
best regards/ pozdrawiam
PiotrAF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 244
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

piotraf wrote:


If you provide the compile errors you get, maybe someone will help you out with the problem. Try to google pasting the error output.


Thank you again for answer, I could find my mistake. In fact , just after these two lines

Quote:
[*] Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
(radeon/<YOUR-MODEL>.bin)



There is an other one in which the firmware directory has to be changed from firmware to /lib/firmware. At first glance I didn't thought it was editable at all.

------------------------------------
piotraf wrote:
It is only hardware related to the motherboard, thus you may have any chipset mixture. The kernel build process doesn't have anything to do with that.


In this case everything is perfect. I will order my card now.[/quote]

---------------------------------------
But last, have you any opinion on that ?
augustin2 wrote:

As the chipset is a TURKS one, should I choose all radeon/TURKS_xxx.bin files or only one of them ? The wiki is unclear for someone who is not used to that sort of things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piotraf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 43
Location: Łódź - Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

augustin2 wrote:

In this case everything is perfect. I will order my card now.


just don't charge me if anything goes wrong :-)
augustin2 wrote:

---------------------------------------
But last, have you any opinion on that ?
augustin2 wrote:

As the chipset is a TURKS one, should I choose all radeon/TURKS_xxx.bin files or only one of them ? The wiki is unclear for someone who is not used to that sort of things.


Nope. I'm neither a developer nor do I have that kind of card. You'll have to use the power of google search which solves 99,99% of problems or hesitations :-)
_________________
best regards/ pozdrawiam
PiotrAF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum