Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network Nightmare
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:37 am    Post subject: Network Nightmare Reply with quote

Ok, so I am essentially new to Linux and have been having a lot of trouble configuring my network settings. iwconfig shows 3 interfaces, wlp3s0, lo, and enp5s0. I am pretty sure I have the correct modules installed, and I have run through net-setup on my wlp3s0 interface (the only one that seems to be ABLE to connect to the internet and does not just return "no wireless extensions" after running iwconfig). Last night I did a test on windows within a virtual box to see what I could do, and I did not even need to install anything because ping www.google.com returned packets.

One the virtualbox, though, I did see other interfaces (only lo, but also something I think was called enp3s0 or something similar). I am not sure what to do and this has been bugging me for ever since I started to try and install Gentoo. If anyone could help I would appreciate that a lot. Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dachnaz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 76
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey nocyno,

Don't worry. We'll get there. We're off to a good start, as it seems that you have the appropriate module loaded. That's why iwconfig says something interesting about wlp3s0.

Does iwconfig state that wlp3s0 has its ESSID set to the name of your wifi network? Does
Code:
$ ifconfig
indicate that you have an IP address?

(if all that looks good...) What does
Code:
$ route
return?[/b][/topic]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so when I run ifconfig I do not see anything for ESSID, but iwconfig (because I am trying to set up wifi) gives the ESSID as: off/any

I ran route and it returns the following:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface



Exactly what does "route" do? Is the above information helpful?[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because I did not answer in the last post, ifconfig does not return any ip for wlp3s0, but I might not be seeing it. Would it be labeled IP or something similar? Would ifconfig return this? I also don't see anyting with iwconfig related to an IP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After researching the route command a bit, I can reply to your question by saying that no routes turned up when I searched for them. Do I have to add a route? If so, how do I get all of the necessary information to do so? If this was not the course of action you were thinking, than what was?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nocyno wrote:
After researching the route command a bit, I can reply to your question by saying that no routes turned up when I searched for them. Do I have to add a route? If so, how do I get all of the necessary information to do so? If this was not the course of action you were thinking, than what was?


I'm running a laptop connected to the internet via wlan0 (wireless connection) with eth0 (hard-wired connection) shut down.
Running ifconfig gives:
Code:

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 4  bytes 272 (272.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 4  bytes 272 (272.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.4.45  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.4.255
        ether 00:1f:3b:80:b0:01  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 4584  bytes 4722761 (4.5 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 3421  bytes 443123 (432.7 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

That is, my machine has an IPv4 address of 192.168.4.45.
Running route -n gives:
Code:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.4.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 wlan0
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
192.168.4.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0

That is, 192.168.4.1 is the local router which forwards packets to the
wider internet.

You should get similar results on your system, once you've connected
correctly.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, then my question is how do I connect, because that is the problem here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 547

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you still in chroot? are you trying to connect via wifi or wired?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as root in chroot

echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" >> /etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, to make it clear, I am using a wireless connection, but am not at my computer now so I a not sure if I am in chroot. Is that a folder or something similar to just plain old root? How do I check and how do I switch to it if I am not in chroot
Code:
cd chroot
?.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43366
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nocyno,

Getting connected to a wired network involves the wiring and getting an IP address on the network you are wired to.
Getting to another network that is connected to the first network requires a route, that describes how to do it.
Routes are recursive, so you only need the gateway out of your network, there is no need for a routing table that describes the entire internet.

Wireless is much the same but authentication replaces connecting the wire. Once yon can get authenticated, you can get an IP Address and a route.

Your empty routing table is a worry. It should always contain
Code:
 $ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
loopback        *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
loopback        localhost       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
since the loopback interface is started early in the boot process.

Many WiFi interfaces need firmware. look through dmesg for errors related to firmware loading.
The wireless-tools package will tell you lots of useful information about your wireless interface bit it only supports unencrypted and WEP encryption.
For WPA you need wpa-supplicant.

dmesg will show any wireless authentication attempts too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How exactly would I get route to return something? I should note that I am using the systemrescue CD because after struggling with the minimal installation CD, I just put the system rescue cd on a usb flash drive. When I tested the minimal CD on the virtualbox, the network did not always work but one time it did. I am not really sure where to go from here now. I am having trouble navigating through dmesg by the way, how do I scroll up and down? I do not recall any failures when booting up the system regarding networking card failures but I was only able to take a quick look as it went away after a couple seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dump dmesg to a text file, then nano it....

Code:
dmesg > $HOME/dmesg


Code:
nano $HOME/dmesg


ctrl +x to exit nano if you're not used to it yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just tried the minimal cd again. route returns the following:

Code:
 Kernel IP routing table
Destination        Gateway       Genmask       Flags   Metric   Ref      Use  Iface
loopback            *                   255.0.0.0     U         0        0             0   lo


Suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, looking at the dmesg file, some of the last lines of code are:

Code:

warning: process 'hwsetup' used the deprecated sysctl system call with 1.23
NET: Registered protocol family 10
r8169 0000:05:00.0 enp5s0: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rt18168e-2 (-2)
r8169 0000:05:00.0 enp5s0: link down
IPv6: ADDCONF (NETDEV_UP): enp5s0: link is not ready
iwlwifi: 0000:03:00.0: L1 Disabled; Enabling LOS
iwlwifi: 0000:03:00.0:Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
iwlwifi: 0000:03:00.0: L1 Disabled; Enabling LOS
iwlwifi: 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
IPv6: ADDCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp3s0: link is not ready


I have not run net-setup yet if that helps. It previously said though that the iwldvm firmware was loaded and and that "iwlwifi
0000:03:00.0:" Detected my Wireless card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dambacher
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2003
Posts: 288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your wired card is missing firmware and therefore will not work properly.
If I searched correctly, the firmware needed can be obtained by emerging
sys-kernel/linux-firmware.
but for this you should have network access .-(
you may go back to the instalation procedure as described in the handbook, boot from your medium, mount the file systems and do the chroot command (section 6a)
and then install it.

Or you maybe can download the single file from the original git and put it to /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/
http://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git/tree/rtl_nic/rtl8168e-2.fw

this way you may get your wired card enp5s0 to work and you can proceed with normal network setup

To use your wireless card and scan for possible networks you first have to activate it:
Code:
ifconfig wlp3s0 up
iwlist wlp3s0 scan


if you know and find your network you can create a file wpa_supplicant.conf like this:
Code:

#comment
network={
        ssid="your_network_name"
        scan_ssid=1
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="your_secret_password_phrase"
}


and then run wpa supplicant to automaticcaly connect and set up the interface:
Code:
wpa_supplicant -cwpa_supplicant.conf -iwlp3s0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I switched back to the minimal installation CD and used an Ethernet cable to get connection. I tried doing emerge previously stated but it still did not work. Also, in what directory do I create the wpa_supplcation.config file?

On a separate note when trying to install Gentoo with the wired connection, it never ended up on the harddrive but all on the CD-ROM. I think my hard drive was partitioned but nothing was ever done to put the kernel and bootloader, etc. on it. How do I fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dambacher
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2003
Posts: 288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wpa_supplicant.conf can can be in any directory, for install i put it in my /root dir,
Depending on how you want to configure your network later it can be in /etc/wpa_supplicant or generated automatically by NetworkManager.

the install cd or the rescue cd both are live file systems which run from cd
to install gentoo to the harddisk you have to follow the gentoo installation handbook (see link in my other comment).

What install instructions did you follow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be inclined to boot from a known-good CD (or USB) eg: the sysrescue CD, and check
that you've got some sort of internet connection. Once you've got that, mount the
partition on which you've installed Gentoo, chroot to it, and follow the manual
closely skipping the steps you've already completed. That should get your installation
into a known state; then you can ask questions here and get relevant answers.

If the current sysrescue CD can't handle your hardware then try a current Ubuntu CD,
which is generally pretty up-to-date.

I find wired connections easier to set up than wireless, if you have both, but YMMV.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13970

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although r8169 will use firmware if found, I believe it can be used without the external firmware. It may not work as well, so you should get the firmware when you can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the firmware
[url]
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=4&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false&Downloads=true
[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nocyno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone! I thank you all so much for helping me, but I have decided to gain a little more experience with Linux through Crunchbang (kinda like debian) until I tackle Gentoo. I hope nobody takes this as an insult to Gentoo, I really do not mean it to be. I am just saying that I need a bit more experience before I take on this challenge. Thank you all so much for everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crunchbang was what used before I switched to gentoo. It is an excellent intermediate operating system. Definately still one of may favorites. In fact my gentoo system pretty much looks just like a crunchbang setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum