Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
UEFI + grub2 blackscreen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bouriquo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 304
Location: Collonges (01)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:16 am    Post subject: UEFI + grub2 blackscreen Reply with quote

Hi,

I reinstall my gentoo/funtoo on my tower an asus p9x79 pro with nvidia gtx 680. I follow the gentoo/funtoo howto install except for the uefi part. I use the right module on the kernel ( 3.13.0 ) but after reboot i always get after grub menu a beautifull blackscreen

Can you help me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7113088-highlight-.html#7113088
What is different
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bouriquo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 304
Location: Collonges (01)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks you for your message, but read the message before :lol: It's an old message. I had the black screen when I launched Xorg but not now, this is just after grub, I can't login into my linux.

Best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1369
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
have you set an image for Grub in /etc/default/grub? If the image is not available or incompatible with Grub supported ones you can have a black screen. Png images format generally work. You can comment it for a test if it's not
Code:
#GRUB_BACKGROUND="..."

A wrong resolution can make troubles too.
Code:
GRUB_GFXMODE="..."

Again
Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bouriquo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 304
Location: Collonges (01)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Paul,

Thanks you for your response.

So no i haven't a background

I use gfxmode = auto

can you explain me the command grub-mkconfig ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1369
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, did you emerge the EFI version for the good platform of Grub2, for example efi-64? To do so, you must have in /etc/portage/make.conf
Code:
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"

and than emerge Grub2.

After you emerge Grub2, it is not installed yet. So, did run the grub-install command to write Grub2 in the EFI partition? When the command succeed, you must generate a configuration file for Grub2. The grub2-mkconfig command do this task as I show you before. The /boot/grub/grub.cfg generated file is the Grub2 configuration file. This is the default path and file name Grub2 is looking for. It must not be change if you want Grub2 have a configuration file and not behave only with it's builtin configuration.

Before you execute grub2-mkconfig, you can choose which bash files will be execute in the /etc/grub.d/ directory. To be execute, a script file in this directory must be executable. So you can select script by script what grub.cfg will contain. You must know what you do. Untouch them should be good enough.

Note that EFI with Windows installed cause me troubles to make Grub2 the default entry of the EFI firmware menu. Without Windows, Grub2 is loaded as the default one without problem.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bouriquo wrote:
Thanks you for your message, but read the message before :lol: It's an old message. I had the black screen when I launched Xorg but not now, this is just after grub, I can't login into my linux.

It is normal to have a blackscreen with efi boot and nvidia proprietary driver active, but I can login X !
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bouriquo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 304
Location: Collonges (01)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

@Logicien

Yes i had put GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64".

About windows and grub2 I hadn't any problem before. I had already install windows + grub2 + uefi and that worked fine. In my Bios I just select grub2 by default and it was ok i could boot on my linux or my windows with grub.

@ulenrich

It's on a fresh install, so i haven't install private nvidia driver for now and nothing else. My install is new, i have only the system. But I could understand that is nornal to have a blackscreen but not during 30 minutes :lol: and one more time i can't login neither my linux shell nor my linux X session.

Thanks you for trying to help me 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bouriquo wrote:
Thanks you for trying to help me 8)
Ok, I myself try efi boot on an older MacMini on a fresh install without proprietary nvidia in this moment. I found the siduction.org "towo" kernel config a viable way, well known to work, I put this linux-3.13.0 config here for you:
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6831471

I then derived this condensed for my core2duo cpu:
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6831513

I made it by booting that siduction kernel and I activated all gadgets I have (usb external drive, siano dvb tv reciever). While as root in /usr/src/linux I issued this command:
Code:
make localyesconfig
... and then further adaption the old way (make menuconfig) of course.
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bouriquo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 304
Location: Collonges (01)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Ulenrich,

Thanks you this, but unfortunatly that was the same thing. I'm asking my self if it just not a driver about my motherboard i forget, but i don't understand i think i was use the same thing.

For information my card is a asus P9X79 Deluxe.

Best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum