Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub 1 disk numbers [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:26 am    Post subject: Grub 1 disk numbers [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I am trying to revert to Grub:1 because I can't get good frame-buffer resolution with Grub 2 and the NVidia binary drivers. The trouble with this scheme is that last time the box was serviced the guy plugged the disks in such that the BIOS reports this layout:

Ch 0: Master None Secondary DVD
Ch 1: Master WDC Secondary SGT

I want to boot off the WDC disk but I am not sure what to code in the "root (hdX,1)" statement. The device.map file contains:
Code:

(hd0)   /dev/sda
(hd1)   /dev/sdb
(hd2)   /dev/sdc

and I installed Grub to /dev/sda. When I boot I get a garbled Grub menu and message about not finding a file system, where X = 0,1,2. Grub2 works fine because it uses the UUID of the disks but the console resolution is not very high (I have a new 1920x1080 HDMI monitor and want to use all the screen). Any ideas?

TIA
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling


Last edited by binro on Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42860
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binro,

The first HDD detected by the BIOS is hd0 and so on.
I suspect it will be hd0.

The garbled menu can be caused by the splashimage line. Comment it out.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used the Grub shell and the find command and realised I was specifying the wrong partition. I have rearranged the partitions since I last used Grub legacy.

Doesn't help though. I still am not using all the screen. Using hwinfo I see:
Code:

hwinfo --framebuffer
02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer                           
  [Created at bios.459]
  Unique ID: rdCR.eOzA4eTEHQ3
  Hardware Class: framebuffer
  Model: "NVIDIA GF108 Board - 1071v001"
  Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation"
  Device: "GF108 Board - 1071v001"
  SubVendor: "NVIDIA"
  SubDevice:
  Revision: "Chip Rev"
  Memory Size: 14 MB
  Memory Range: 0xd7000000-0xd7dfffff (rw)
  Mode 0x0300: 640x400 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+800), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0307: 1280x1024 (+1280), 8 bits
  Mode 0x030e: 320x200 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x030f: 320x200 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
  Mode 0x031a: 1280x1024 (+2560), 16 bits
  Mode 0x031b: 1280x1024 (+5120), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0330: 320x200 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0331: 320x400 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0332: 320x400 (+640), 16 bits                                                                           
  Mode 0x0333: 320x400 (+1280), 24 bits                                                                           
  Mode 0x0334: 320x240 (+320), 8 bits                                                                             
  Mode 0x0335: 320x240 (+640), 16 bits                                                                           
  Mode 0x0336: 320x240 (+1280), 24 bits                                                                           
  Mode 0x033d: 640x400 (+1280), 16 bits                                                                           
  Mode 0x033e: 640x400 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0360: 1280x800 (+1280), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0361: 1280x800 (+5120), 24 bits
  Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown

so I coded VGA=865 on the kernel command line. When I boot Sysresccd it uses all the screen and has a high resolution. How does it do that?
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42860
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binro,

Being lazy, I'll suggest that you look at System Rescue CDs startup files. :)

In more helpful vein,
VGA= is for the non framebuffer VGA console. I think the numbers are off by 200 too. While that may be interesting, its not relevant to your use case.

You need something like
Code:
video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap ...

You go on to specify other parameters in place of the ... like the geometry, colour depth and refresh rate. It used to be in the handbook when grub1 was the standard. You need to look at /usr/src/linux/Documentation/fb/vesafb.txt
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vesafb.txt tells you how to code the VGA parameter. The answer is to blacklist Nvidia and use Nouveau. That is presumably what sysresccd does. I have used Nouveau on my laptop and found it to be unstable occasionally; I shall see how I get on. Thanks for the suggestions. :)
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42860
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binro,

It also tells about video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap ... too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4e8
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hwinfo say VESA did't expose native resolution, you need nouveau to support high resolution console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum