Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Wrong CPU error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:13 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Wrong CPU error Reply with quote

Hi All,

Trying to install a Gentoo, and hit a bump :( ...

Quote:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel (R) Pentium (R) 4 CPU 3.40GHz
....


(processor 0 is same)

but:

Code:
make
....
CC    init/initramfs.o
CC    init/calibrate.o
CC    init/init_task.o
LD     init/built-in.o
AS     usr/initramfs_data.o
usr/initramfs_data.S:1:0: error: CPU you selected does not support x86-64 instruction set
make[1]: *** [usr/initramfs_data.o] Error 1
make: *** [usr] Error 2


AFAIK, my P4 does support 64 bit instructions, so what am I doing wrong then?

Thanks,
SxN


Last edited by SxN on Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 629
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know you can check if your CPU is 64-bit with the following command:
Code:
grep lm /proc/cpuinfo

If you have the "lm" flag, then your CPU is 64-bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
grep lm /proc/cpuinfo
flags              : fpu vme de pse .... nx lm constant_tsc ....

It's there. Forgot to mention my CPU selection in menuconfig:

Code:
Processor type and features --->
    Processor family (Intel P4 / older Netburst based Xeon) --->


I also tried Generic-x86-64 (which was my initially selected option) and Core 2/newer Xeon; they both lead to the same error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try to enable the experimental flag for gentoo sources:
in /etc/portage/package.use/kernel
Code:
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources experimental

And select "Native optimizations autodetected by GCC".

Another thing: are you sure you're booting the right kernel? do you run:
Code:
sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

After copying bzImage to /boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, also, could you post the output of lscpu? (I'm hoping the livecd you're using has it)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 629
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@SxN: Please post the output of:
Code:
emerge --info

We also need to know which package fails in particular. And the version number.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lscpu
Architecture:        i686
CPU op-mode(s):      32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:          Little Endian
CPU(s):              2
On-line CPU(s) list: 0,1
Thread(s) per core:  2
Core(s) per socket:  1
Socket(s):           1
Vendor ID:           GenuineIntel
CPU family:          15
Model:               4
Stepping:            3
CPU MHz:             3400.000
BogoMIPS:            6777.69
L1d cache:           16K
L2 cache:            2048K

Code:

emerge --info
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-3.10.25-gentoo-i686-Intel_R-_Pentium-R-_4_CPU_3.40GHz-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem:           884948 total,          67088 free
KiB Swap:            1020 total,            668 free
Timestamp of tree: Sun, 02 Mar 2014 16:15:01 +0000
Id GNU Id (GNU Binutils)  2.23.2
app-shells/bash:          4.2_p45
dev-lang/python:          2.7.5-r3, 3.3.3
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.28
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2
sys-apps/openrc:          0.12.4
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.6-r1
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.69
sys-devel/automake:       1.13.4
sys-devel/binutils:       2.23.2
sys-devel/gcc:            4.7.3-r1
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.7.3
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.2
sys-devel/make:           3.82-r4
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 3.9 (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.17
Repositories: gentoo
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
...


CHOST is like CBUILD, same for FCFLAGS and FFLAGS. CXXFLAGS is like CFLAGS.

This is a new installation, using the latest ISO for the live CD, and the latest hardened stage3. The /boot partition is still empty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it's the fact that you're using a 32 bit system to install a 64 bit system?
If I were you I'd try installing from this: http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/current-stage3/install-amd64-minimal-20140227.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AMD? OK, I'll try and post the results.

Thanks. Merci. Grazie.
SxN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, amd64, from this: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMD64/FAQ
Quote:
The AMD line of 64-bit processors were released well ahead of Intel's offering. Therefore, for historical reasons the arch keyword for all x86-64 compatible architectures is amd64. As such, AMD64 is a generic reference to 64-bit chips, whether AMD or Intel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same error... :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

make clean and try again? (if you just continued with the new livecd from where you left off before)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, what CFLAGS do you have in /etc/portage/make.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No luck. I was wondering what would be the underlying cause? The CPU is capable, the compiler is capable, where might be the conflict?

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"

Same for CXXFLAGS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, no need, they're in the emerge --info.
You've built your system with CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe". That's for 32 bit. You should have -march=native. Everything you've built needs to be recompiled. Did you also use the x86 stage3? that would explain things...

I'm assuming you haven't reinstalled, just resumed your previous tries. If I were you I'd start over, with the correct cd (which you now have) and the correct stage3.

Just copy the kernel's .config somewhere (to avoid redoing menuconfig) and other files that were a pain to configure, and start over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will do, thank you. Wasn't aware that i686 is 32 bit, I learned something today :)

Will post a bit later the results
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SxN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hooray! That was it.

Thanks,
SxN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great :) good luck with the rest of the install!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum