Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]New user, flawless install, EXCEPT for no video.GPU?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MarcoMarin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:09 pm    Post subject: [Solved]New user, flawless install, EXCEPT for no video.GPU? Reply with quote

Hello everyone, new Gentoo proud user here! :) Not total noob but not much practice either.

Anyway, went for my first Gentoo install on monday, had it working by the end of the day with a few caveats. Which been trying to solve ever since.

I took many notes during install which could be helpful later for the handbook editors to make easier to new users, mostly detail of course. :wink:

There is a show stopper for me here however, preventing me from using the system properly. I believe it may be related to the GPU driver, I wonder if I have to download the AMD Catalyst software, though the Live CD detected it and worked flawlessly. (and by that I mean higher resolution framebuffer "console") I searched the forums for "catalyst" but nothing specific showed up, sorry if I missed something obvious.


Here is where I'm at now:

1) Made my first kernel compile 8O , without the radeon graphics support... boots beautifully, simply works! Console mode only though, not even framebuffer I could set up. A vga=791 option (stolen from some livecd boot options) offers to scan available modes and the best is 80x60... that is, only console mode available... I even managed to emerge gpm! :twisted: Though, curiously, the net doesnt seem to be working! (I suppose gpm is a basic package somewhere already downloaded.. i wasnt on the livecd when I did this) But i'll fix that later :?

2) Then I compiled the same kernel options, but included the Radeon support. It begins booting, detects the bugger, shows all specs of the card, then freezes and screen goes blank after a few seconds (monitor led blinks), video=uvesafb boot option didnt work either. Lucky me I forgot the gpu on the 1st compile or i could end giving up here.

3) Finally gave up compiling the kernel myself (for now! :twisted: ) and went for genkernel :oops: the handbook had me check menuconfig anyway for ext4, so I figured i would change some things i was sure about (though i dont think it makes much of a difference, based on the architecture name it gives the kernel, though it could be just a name :?)

Good news is the thing boots, detects the card and all, so I probably didnt mess up there.... I can log as root, and even issue a reboot command! 8)

Bad news is I must do all this 8) blind 8) for when it's about to boot, the screen goes blank (monitor led blinks again).. :cry: At least it scans and loads all modules before doing that (so i dont think it's the kernel step of the process, this time around), the last message i can see says something like: waiting for uevents to be processed..

I searched the forums for "catalyst" but nothing specific showed up, sorry if I missed something obvious. I hope there is a simple solution to this? My card is a R9 270 and I'll be glad to provide any other information to help solve this. Thanks!


Last edited by MarcoMarin on Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Telemin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 734
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there, and welcome to Gentoo:)

The radeon kernel drivers still need a binary firmware blob. This is provided by the x11-drivers/radeon-ucode package, and ideally need to be compiled into the kernel, see http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon for more info.

-Telemin-
_________________
The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Telemin wrote:
Hi there, and welcome to Gentoo:)

Thanks! :) that was so quick, I'm liking the Gentoo community as well.
Quote:

The radeon kernel drivers still need

still? So there is hope you say? :o AMD seems notoriously annoying on this area, right? I almost bought an AGP card to obsessively "complete" an old box here, until I learned how hard it is to set it up (that particular card at least).
Quote:
a binary firmware blob. This is provided by the x11-drivers/radeon-ucode package, and ideally need to be compiled into the kernel, see http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon for more info.

-Telemin-

Great. I will report back once I get around to reading and recompiling. :D

Thank you, Telemin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once again there are good and bad news... :)

The good news is that not only the compile went without problems, but most importantly, the boot up displayed a full featured high resolution framebuffer console mode! Tux even said hello up there...

Now, the bad news is a kernel panic froze the thing and the keyboard is blinking.. gladly this time the monitor didn't go bust, reinforcing the good news that the driver blob is working and allowing me to read the output. Somewhat lucky again since just as last time the culprit was 1 or 2 lines from vanishing from the screen! It seems a framebuffer config thing, so I'm hoping the video=vesa option or something similar may solve this... Anyone want me to try and type in the exact output? (btw, I'm using the exact option from the handbook, which from my understanding, fit perfectly to my preferences... video=uvesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1024x768-32@85 ...Also, i disabled it and nothing changed)


One thing that could have to do with it (though I hope not ) is that the page Telemin sent me said to set, among others, the following option on the kernel:

-*- Support for frame buffer devices --->
< > ATI Radeon display support

While all the other options had a * besides it (to enable) this one is empty. I've found that strange but assumed it was meant to make sure it was disabled (that is, unset it, if it was enabled by default, or from a previous compile)... Even though I felt tempted to enable it.. hehehe

But later on in the same document, there is this I2C configuration, which contradicts this:

<*> Support for frame buffer devices --->
<*> ATI Radeon display support
[*] DDC/I2C for ATI Radeon support

So I jumped at the opportunity to press the red button. :D

it does correlate with the panic message, it seems to be trying to enable the framebuffer when, the next line, it sends a panic message.

What is stranger, the boot doesnt stop there, it actually complains it cannot find the boot partition sdb2, even though I have another boot option which can, so I'm pretty sure the driver/framebuffer bug just confused the poor kernel and has nothing to do with partitions...

BTW, while at the weird kernel options, the document also says to enable this:

[*] Enable modesetting on radeon by default

But, in my menuconfig, which I assume i just emerged the latest version of, it claims this option to be (DEPRECATED).. may that have something to do with it? trying to "modeset" something which may perhaps apply to an old radeon card or kernel modus operandi?

I'm at a loss here, any ideas on how to proceed?

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MarcoMarin wrote:

What is stranger, the boot doesnt stop there, it actually complains it cannot find the boot partition sdb2, even though I have another boot option which can, so I'm pretty sure the driver/framebuffer bug just confused the poor kernel and has nothing to do with partitions...

No, if it complain about cannot find the boot partition sdb2, it will panic as it cannot start.
And if it complain about that, it's because it really cannot find it, not because of some confusion by your framebuffer error.

If you have one option that work and one that doesn't, it's just because they aren't the same. So if you are sure both target sdb2, then both use a different kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed! You are right, krinn.. thanks for the heads up. :)

I did recompile after all, what was I thinking, hehehe.. I wonder what changed though, in that regard, since I didn't mess with partition or file system options.. Even if genkernel changed something I didnt notice on the previous compile, the generated kernel did boot (though no video).

The only thing I can think of -- and it's a big one, granted, i'd bet that's the problem -- is that my original config didnt need an initramfs and genkernel's did, and i tried to revert back to not using it.. perhaps it modularized ext4 or something..

I'll check for anything out of ordinary, if I can't find it I'll try genkernel again with the new driver. :)

thank you, krinn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Telemin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 734
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi MarcoMarin,

In the case of the new Sea Islands based cards like yours, please leave the framebuffer options disabled. The temperature sensor is not I2C based in these cards and enabling the framebuffer drivers will just cause trouble. Kernel Modesetting is needed but I believe the enable by default setting is deprecated because the kernel now enables by default, by default, if you see what I mean and a kernel parameter like nomodeset=1 needs to be passed to disable it. But the setting is left in to avoid breaking peoples' .config unnecessarily.

In any case, if you are still having problems please let us see your kernel .config and also tell us what your bootloader configuration is, in the (unlikely) case that it is somehow causing an issue.

-Telemin-
_________________
The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

8O ....... It... worked ........ 8O

At first I thought it wouldn't work, since it was scanning modules in 80x25 mode (at least it found sdb2 :P) while the previous kernel jumped into the framebuffer right away. But it is understandable as that kernel was compiled with the .bins right in, while this time GenKernel said something like "I'm deciding I won't install the firmware 'cause it is already in the kernel, dummy!" :lol: A quite disturbing message, if I may add, since the native kernel option "ATI Radeon" support is not enough without the provided ATI firmware! :roll:


A few afterthoughts...

Quote:
In the case of the new Sea Islands based cards like yours, please leave the framebuffer options disabled.


270 is not listed there, only 270x which is different (it has two 6pin power supply, mine is worse, has only one), but probb the same hardware, just washed down, because it is also detected as PITCAIRN, so technically a "Southern Island", dunno how new it is, but do your comment still applies? If so, then you think it's advisable to recompile it, even though it seems to be working? :( I'd prefer to have some specific glitch to be on the lookout for, so I can save the tweak for when I'm ready to face the clean up from all these genkernel useless modules... :x

btw, wouldn't it be nice if the livecd detected what modules were required and add only those to the .config? Dunno how much effort would require but maybe I could help, if it doesnt require kernel programming, I have some CS background.. but again, little practice :?

Speaking of modules, the handbook says to find the modules one wants and add to conf.d/modules.. it seems the boot process had problems loading them after i did.. (the first compile had few modules to choose, so i added them all, lol).. incidentally, before i did, i could already mount ntfs partitions, but the ntfs module was there and not in the conf.d modules= list.... is it built-in on the kernel? (and since it was there, compiled as a module, i don't think I added directly to it, except for modularizing)

:wink: Great! Ready to proceed on figuring why the wireless card isn't being detected :roll: (maybe another "opportunity" to compile that tweak in.. :evil: )
I see there is a new user with problems detecting the NIC, maybe I'll just jump right in :) How do I change the topic to [Solved]? or does it lock it from further replies?

Thank you guys, very much appreciated, couldn't do this without your help. 8) 8) 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Telemin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 734
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I'm Glad you have it working,

My bad on the version of your card but yes, the same applies to both Southern Islands and Sea Islands. The point of KMS is that it allows a single unified kernel driver to do both framebuffer and accelerated graphics and so reduce the complexity involved in the two driver situation. (Also, your setup is working. Don't try to fix what isn't broken :P)

As far as detecting livecd modules goes, there may be a script knocking about somewhere for it already. If not all it would need is a lookup table that can convert the name of each loaded module into a CONFIG_KERNEL_OPTION = y/m/n line. That said, I would personally argue that the baptism of fire that is compiling your first kernel is a vital part of the Gentoo experience ;)

In general the kernel should be able to autoload modules, and I personally reserve forced loading only for those which cause me problems.

Another general note, don't use the in kernel NTFS driver, it is really a read-only driver. If you need rw then go ahead and compile FUSE support into the kernel (it's under filesystems), and then use NTFS-3G, also there is a FUSE-ExFAT driver that you will likely want as well.

-Telemin-

P.S To change the topic title go back and edit your first post, you can add [Solved] there.
_________________
The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MarcoMarin wrote:

btw, wouldn't it be nice if the livecd detected what modules were required and add only those to the .config? Dunno how much effort would require but maybe I could help, if it doesnt require kernel programming, I have some CS background.. but again, little practice :?

Code:
lspci -k | grep modules

And you'll get the list for basic hardware part.

Quote:
Speaking of modules, the handbook says to find the modules one wants and add to conf.d/modules.. it seems the boot process had problems loading them after i did.. (the first compile had few modules to choose, so i added them all, lol).. incidentally, before i did, i could already mount ntfs partitions, but the ntfs module was there and not in the conf.d modules= list.... is it built-in on the kernel? (and since it was there, compiled as a module, i don't think I added directly to it, except for modularizing)

As of today only few modules need to be explicitly ask to be loaded, udev will load modules when hardware is plug/found and fs thru with fstab/autofs, sensors by udev and lmsensors itself...
A good read there : http://swift.siphos.be/linux_sea/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Telemin wrote:
The point of KMS is that it allows a single unified kernel driver to do both framebuffer and accelerated graphics and so reduce the complexity involved in the two driver situation.

So if I understand you correctly, you're saying the last option (FB) can be disabled because the previous one (modesetting) is already enabled. Right?
Quote:
That said, I would personally argue that the baptism of fire that is compiling your first kernel is a vital part of the Gentoo experience ;)

That's exactly what I kept telling myself during every frustrating bump on the road. :wink:
Quote:
In general the kernel should be able to autoload modules, and I personally reserve forced loading only for those which cause me problems.

Maybe you could help out in the network thread as well, not even forcing the driver seems to be working. I'm heading there next, to describe what happened.
Quote:
Another general note, don't use the in kernel NTFS driver, it is really a read-only driver. If you need rw then go ahead and compile FUSE support into the kernel (it's under filesystems), and then use NTFS-3G, also there is a FUSE-ExFAT driver that you will likely want as well.

-Telemin-

hmm.. didnt test whether I could write it... I'll drop a note if that is the case...
Thank you, Telemin. :-)
Quote:

P.S To change the topic title go back and edit your first post, you can add [Solved] there.

Thanks. Will do. :)


Btw... (should probb. create a new thread for that, but a recent one closed and I've already tried everything!)
Quote:
and also tell us what your bootloader configuration is, in the (unlikely) case that it is somehow causing an issue.

I'm using syslinux, it boots fine into /dev/sdb2 (as already mentioned), but I was hoping to use a block device agnostic way of addressing disks (just as I already do successfully in fstab), uuid or id... but every solution google seems to find, does not work. And I believe I emerged the latest version, no? (since I did it after install).. 4.x something...

anyway, I tried root=UUID=... tried LABEL as well... (just had a crazy idea that maybe syslinux uuid could be linux by-id instad of by-uuid?) ... that other [solved] thread mentioned above, said 'partuuid' in the context of fstab though.. tried that out of desperation as well :lol: no luck..

It doesn't have much consequence to me, except perhaps for once or twice in a not so near future, but if I had to keep adding and removing disks, I would be pretty annoyed.. Though I should probably take all that to a syslinux forum or something :oops: (but since we're in a PS.. :P )

oh, before I quit, syslinux is also causing trouble related to that ntfs topic above... I also tried everything to make it boot a ntfs windows xp partition.. no joy either...
Tried APPEND hd0 0, then hd0 1, then hd0 (equivalent to the first one, referring to the MBR).. also with ntldr=/ntldr, then ntldr=ntldr

Sometimes it would go blank, sometimes it would just return immediately to the menu... once it even said "Booting...".. only not. :x
Although I don't remember which option goes with which result...

hmmm.. I wonder if it is related to the fact that it is a different disk, maybe I'll try installing xp to the end of that same disk and use the "boot" device token... :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:

As of today only few modules need to be explicitly ask to be loaded, udev will load modules when hardware is plug/found and fs thru with fstab/autofs, sensors by udev and lmsensors itself...

I'm having trouble with my wireless card, the live cd says it is a RealTek 8185 and is using the 8180 driver.. the kernel has that one (ironically the only one which genkernel didnt add an M to before my latest compile :evil: ) .. but after I make modules, the driver that shows up is a rtl818x, which fails to load.. tried adding to conf.d/modules all the possibilities.. rtl818x, rtl8180 and rtl8185... (one at a time), all fails, but all those forced modules (not only those, but all the ones i add there) seem to be failing... do I have to append the path they are inside the modules directory? i.e. net/wireless/rtl818x in this case?

I'm heading to the NIC detection thread to detail this problem further, there is also another new user there with the same problem. Maybe you could help us there as well? :D
Quote:

A good read there : http://swift.siphos.be/linux_sea/
[/quote]

Wow! A whole book. And using Gentoo! Awesome.. you read my mind, :o I was actually going to ask you for some material on understanding the kernel better so I can clean it up from all this module detection, and fit it to my hardware :) That chapter 7 there seems to fit the bill perfectly! Thanks! :D It will be a long but interesting read all those chapters, queued up for after the 2nd part of the Gentoo handbook. 8)

Quote:
"It does not nor will it ever talk about the history of the Linux kernel or Linux distributions or dive into details that are less interesting for Linux users."


hahahaha.. why I find this sentence so funny? :lol: I guess every How-to, doc and computer magazine article on linux of the 90's felt compelled to do so... :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum