Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
btrfs readonly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Torain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: btrfs readonly Reply with quote

Hey,
i have a little problem using btrfs as my root file system. My boot partition has an ext2 file system while / uses btrfs. The problem is that it is mounted read only while booting.

This is the relevant part of dmesg after booting.
Code:

[    1.557967] btrfs: device fsid a95ca047-cd66-4fa1-9cd1-8d67c251b63e devid 1 transid 246 /dev/vda3
[    1.560619] btrfs: disk space caching is enabled
[    1.620106] VFS: Mounted root (btrfs filesystem) readonly on device 0:15.
[    1.630598] devtmpfs: mounted
[    1.632496] Freeing unused kernel memory: 1092K (ffffffff81ccb000 - ffffffff81ddc000)
[    1.633975] Write protecting the kernel read-only data: 12288k
[    1.634941] Freeing unused kernel memory: 4K (ffff8800017ff000 - ffff880001800000)
[    1.640746] Freeing unused kernel memory: 1504K (ffff880001a88000 - ffff880001c00000)
[    2.185786] kbd_mode (883) used greatest stack depth: 4232 bytes left
[    2.187147] init-early.sh (882) used greatest stack depth: 3720 bytes left
[    2.814627] systemd-udevd[1039]: starting version 208
[    2.830903] random: udevd urandom read with 12 bits of entropy available
[    2.945753] btrfs: device fsid a95ca047-cd66-4fa1-9cd1-8d67c251b63e devid 1 transid 246 /dev/vda3
[   60.168735] random: nonblocking pool is initialized
[   66.749382] btrfs: disk space caching is enabled


It is possible to remount it as rw after login so i guess the file system isn't broken.

In the fstab i just used it like i would use an ext4 one.
Code:
/dev/vda3               /               btrfs           defaults,noatime                0 1


Has anyone an idea how i could fix this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7089
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd boot from a CD or USB stick and run fsck on it.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vaxbrat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 731
Location: DC Burbs

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:47 am    Post subject: Is your bootloader mounting it readonly? Reply with quote

Do you have an "ro" on the kernel command line of grub or whatever bootloader you are using? That would probably be a default setting to allow fsck to happen as necessary, but we don't really do fsck on btrfs yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey,
thanks for the answers. I already tried fsck and i changed the grub.cfg so no ro but still same problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 732
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your grub.cfg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here the entry of the grub.cfg i also tried without ro but same result
Code:

menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-a95ca047-cd66-4fa1-9cd1-8d67c251b63e' {
        load_video
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root  ff2fb61a-9369-415e-85e7-174d71368ee3
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ff2fb61a-9369-415e-85e7-174d71368ee3
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux 3.13.7-gentoo ...'
        linux   /kernel-3.13.7-gentoo root=/dev/vda3 ro 
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
linux /kernel-3.13.7-gentoo root=/dev/vda3 ro
???
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also tried without, was just to lazy to change it permanently so i did it directly in the grub menu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum