Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
help me put my 24Gb ssd drvie to use[solved-ugly]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
clytle374
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 2:51 am    Post subject: help me put my 24Gb ssd drvie to use[solved-ugly] Reply with quote

I'm already up and running on a 1T GPT drive(dev/sdb) dual booting W8.1 through the bios boot selector(don't use Win enough to figure it out right now). I have this empty ssd(dev/sda) in this laptop that it seems I should use, but I'm not real sure on this. This laptop has 16g memory. /usr/portage is mounted with NFS on the network. I'm trying not to break this install. Here is what I'm thinking, am I on the right track?

1. rebuild kernel to point /dev/sda1, it's EUFI with everything needed to boot built in.
2. reboot with gentoo live.
3. copy all but /home /root /tmp /var /proc to /dev/sda1 (ext4)
4 mount /tmp /var and /home back to the original /dev/sdb5 drive.
5 mount /var/tmp/portage to ram
6 exclude a few of the ugly builds from being built in ram like openoffice, firefox,

Number 4 is the one I don't know how to handle. I want to mount several things to /dev/sda5 and don't want o break the partion up and make one for each mount.
Also what about /proc? It lives in ram the way it is now i think, will it be repopulated on boot?
Did I miss anything else? I read the SSD how to, but I read it's outdated, and doesn't quite apply to my situation.
Thanks, Cory
_________________
NooB since RedHat 6.1


Last edited by clytle374 on Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5761

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might want to try bcache first <file:/usr/src/linux/Documentation/bcache.txt>. It sounds like it'd fit that setup well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clytle374
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if no one can comment on what I was trying to do, I guess I'll try it...What's the worst that can happen.
Cory
_________________
NooB since RedHat 6.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clytle374
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That seems complicated and I'm honestly not sure how to make it work as /,
would I be making a mistake to mount /dev/sdb5 somewhere and bind mount /home /tmp /var where they belong?
Thanks, Cory
_________________
NooB since RedHat 6.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clytle374
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ended up removing several packages to get the size down to a manageable level to be tar-ed and moved around. Made a single ext4 on sda. Then made /home and /var out of the old / on sdb. Mounted /tmp and /var/tmp/portage to tmpfs.

Then untar-ed the system back. Was trying to avoid moving the whole system around since I don't have a device to hold it all.
Cory
_________________
NooB since RedHat 6.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum