Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] USE flags and modules
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bstaletic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:23 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] USE flags and modules Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I tried to install gentoo on my spare drive, and for the most part it was easy. Only thing I have not figured out is what default USE flags and kernel modules should I use.
I'm planning on running fluxbox, so it is supposed to be lightweight system.
My hardware:

  1. ASUS P8H67
  2. AMD Radeon 7770
  3. Intel i5 2500
  4. Wireless mouse (I guess kernel needs wifi support)


I was following this youtube tutorial. When I rebooted I got black screen, though grub2 works perfetly.


Last edited by bstaletic on Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:36 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use flags: http://www.gentoo.org/dyn/use-index.xml
Kernel config: http://www.linux.org/threads/the-linux-kernel-configuring-the-kernel-part-1.4274/

Kernel config: e.g. sound should be compiled as module
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bstaletic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know about both links. For kernel I used genkernel command, in this case do I need any modules?
How thorough do I have to be when choosing default USE flags, Do I need all the codecs, for example (I plan on using it for multimedia)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10261
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sane default USE flags are set by your profile. Just choose the one that's closest to your usage, er, profile, and you'll be fine. Add and remove on a global (/etc/portage/make.conf) or per package (/etc/portage/package.use) basis as you learn more. :wink:

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't over think this. Gentoo is complicated by nature, but the defaults are generally sane. The radeon card is going to give you some trouble. Read https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon. I recommend you use the open source driver because it is easer to get working, at least at first. Other than that, as long as you set a desktop profile you should be good to go, unless you misconfigure your kernel.

Although, you really should read the Gentoo Handbook. It will probably give you a better understanding than the youtube video.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bstaletic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for help. I did read the handbook, youtube video was suppoesed to help me with the questions I eventually ended up asking here.
If I understood The Doctor ("just The Doctor") correctly I would need to install the radeon driver to get the 'picture' on screen.
Other than that my installation should be fine, I followed the book almost to the letter and I have experiance manually configuring the system (Arch user).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10261
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, some sort of Radeon driver will be necessary when you install a GUI. You should get a working command line without that with just the Handbook install instructions.

To start troubleshooting, boot back into your install media, re-mount all of your partitions, re-enter the chroot, and tell us what files are in your /boot directory.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bstaletic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed driver a second ago. Managed to boot and see the console. :D

Thanks again for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum