Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
LiveCD: Does it use my video card? Potential silly question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
qrthur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:42 pm    Post subject: LiveCD: Does it use my video card? Potential silly question Reply with quote

Hello folks,

I have a doubt about something, this might be silly but I need to be sure because I am kinda stuck!

How can I determine if when I boot from the LiveCD, it is my graphic card (ATI HD7400M) that is used or my graphic chipset of my processor (Intel® HD Graphics 3000) ?

If I am not wrong, we can be sure it is mandatory using one of them (since framebuffer looks like it is activated because of the 1920x1080p resolution of my terminal). Is this correct ?

When I run lsmod | grep -i radeon, nothing comes out of it. However during boot, the kernel probes my hardware and it sees my graphic card.

Thanks for your insights.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42800
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qrthur,

Is this a laptop ?
If so, which one?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qrthur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
qrthur,

Is this a laptop ?
If so, which one?


Yes, it is an HP Elitebook 8560p.

Here are the important specs. : (extracted from here)

Code:
Processor Name: Intel Core i7-2640M
RAM: 4 GB
Graphics Card: Intel HD Graphics 3000
Graphics Memory: 64
2nd Graphics Card: AMD Mobility Radeon HD 6470M
2nd Graphics Memory: 512
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vaxbrat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 731
Location: DC Burbs

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:35 pm    Post subject: radeon may not be loaded Reply with quote

Check your /var/log/Xorg.0.log and you may find that the radeon driver gave up because the card is too new and that your X fell back to vesa or something else. In that case, the radeon module will no longer be loaded. Because the livedvd is based on stable ebuilds, you will find that it doesn't go native with the Hawaii or other recent series cards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qrthur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Allright,

However my cards is in the Northern Islands/BARTS category. Is this "new" enough to be concerned with what you said ?

And on the liveCD, Xorg is not installed. If the radeon module is not loaded, can we be sure that my graphic card is not used? And that it is indeed my intel hd graphics that handles the framebuffer display?

I want to know this because when I will install my gentoo I don't want to setup my radeon card but only use the graphic chipset from my cpu (because I have no use for high graphics but I crave for power saving)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42800
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qrthur,


The HP Datasheet reads as if you have two complete graphics systems.
Maybe you do.

There are framebuffer drivers for both your graphics chips.
/var/log/Xory.0.log will show which graphics chip is in use. If you don't yet have Xorg, look through dmesg. Its using whichever chip has been assigned fb0

Oh, there are no silly questions, except the one you never ask.
Be on your guard for silly answers.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qrthur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, I have all the needed infos !

Thanks for your help,
qrthur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5635

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For future reference, just do:
Code:
cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qrthur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
For future reference, just do:
Code:
cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/name

Good to know ! Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum