Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Getting ' Grub > ' prompt.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
manu.rhel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:10 am    Post subject: Getting ' Grub > ' prompt. Reply with quote

Hi Experts,

I am new to Gentoo. Recently, I installed Gentoo on one of my Dell Servers via IDRAC. I think I missed one of the steps from the Gentoo Handbook, and after rebooting the server, I get the 'grub >' prompt.

I thought of re-installing the OS and booted it from the virtual cd again. Once the server comes up, I dont see any interfaces under /sys/class/net. Neither do I see the mount points which I configured before nor I see the fstab entries.. I am not able to navigate to '/mnt/gentoo' directory as it does not exist. The prompt says 'livecd #'.

I am not able to get out of it situation. Please let me know how to get this fixed.

Appreciate all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually this is caused by the menu.lst or grub.conf or grub2.conf file not in the right place. Recheck the "installing the bootloader" instructions. I'm not quite seasoned in grub2 yet but it's somewhere in the "grub-install" that went wrong. Usually this is caused by installing grub's master record on a partition instead of full disk unexpectedly and the config file location shifted unexpectedly...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9236

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Kernel & Hardware to Installing Gentoo, as it is in regards to initial configuration of grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vaxbrat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 731
Location: DC Burbs

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:54 am    Post subject: grub2 Reply with quote

From the sounds of it, you managed to do the grub2-install properly because you got a grub prompt, but you may have missed the grub2-mkconfig command

Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg


This reads your /etc/default/grub file, pulls in the stuff in /etc/grub.d and then scans /boot to see what kernels are out there. If you skipped that or did it when there weren't any identifiable kernel files in /boot, that might explain things.

You will need to follow the handbook again to mount and then chroot into the /mnt/gentoo root directory (don't forget the bind mounts for sys and dev and the mount for /proc and the tweaking of /mnt/gentoo/etc mtab before doing grubbish things again in the chroot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Splink
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh and ensure that your config file is .cfg - some guides for grub2 say you need to use .conf but grub by default wont look at a .conf file on boot.

You can run a command (cant remember from memory) on the grub2 command like and use configfile /grub/(your config file name) if needed.

Just tab the command it will auto complete.
_________________
It said "Requires Windows XP or better"
So I installed gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum