Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Start from scratch radeon 6670 in kernel & systemd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
augustin2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 244
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:30 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Start from scratch radeon 6670 in kernel & sys Reply with quote

Hi,
I am trying to reinstall Gentoo. I have been scotched to the fisrt part (before the first reboot) for 2 days.
I managed to add the binary blobs for my radeon 6670 TURKS Northern Islands to my kernel and reboot on it.
(radeon/BTC_rlc.bin radeon/TURKS_mc.bin radeon/TURKS_me.bin radeon/TURKS_sms.bin radeon/SUMO_uvd.bin)

But as I want to use GNOME3 I switched my profile to gnome systemd. Then I merged genkernel-next and reconfigured my kernel.
But the kernel doesn't compile any longer. The trouble is coming from radeon/BTC_rlc.bin. This file exists into /lib/firmware/radeon/ but the /var/log/genkernel.log says:

(translated from French)
Quote:
No rule to make the target " firmware/radeon/BTC_rlc.bin" necessary for "firmware/radeon/BTC_rlc.bin.gen.o". STOP


Is this a bug or did I do something wrong ?


Last edited by augustin2 on Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR is set to "/lib/firmware" and you emerged radeon-ucode?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 244
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for answer.
I emerged linux-firmware
I didn't check the dir , it was «firmware« and it should have been «/lib/firmware».

I corrected it and now it compiles but the kernel with systemd doesn't boot ?
BTW when enabling systemd in kernel, should I disable Openrc ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7564
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

should I disable Openrc -- no
does your kernel command line contain
Quote:
init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd

what does
Quote:
but the kernel with systemd doesn't boot
mean? error messages? kernel panics? blank screen? inits openrc instead of systemd?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 244
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for answer.

I eventually decided to restart from scratch and managed to boot on the new kernel and install with systemd

For others that could be in trouble hereafter are the differences with the handbook (amd64) when starting with systemd from the beginning.
Quote:

Profile selection : gnome-systemd
emerge linux-firmware to have the binary blobs for my radeon card available

emerge genkernel-next instead of genkernel
genkernel --menuconfig all
- Gentoo Linux --->
- Support for init systems, system and service managers -->
- (*) Openrc (keep it selected)
- (*) sytemd
- configure radeon card in kernel as explained in the wiki without forgetting to change the firmware dir to /lib/firmware

In /etc/portage/make.conf added VIDEO-CARDS="radeon" (I don't know if is necessary in the first stage but it didn't harm)

Page System tools of the handbook
- I didn't install syslog-ng
- Installed dbus with USE="-sytemd" emerge sys-apps/dbus
- added systemd in Use flag in /etc/portage/make.conf (normally profile should provide but it didn't harm)
- installed systemd (emerge systemd ) (118 packages )

Boot loader

- emerge sys-boot grub
- /etc/default/grub added GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=" rootfstype=ext4 real_init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd
- mkdir /boot/grub
-grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

(I didn't used grub-install to let an other system take care of the boot menu)


I hope this will be of some help to somebody.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum