Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No Ethernet After Install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lokoalex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2004
Posts: 176
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 7:40 pm    Post subject: No Ethernet After Install Reply with quote

Did the install fine. Everything worked. After I restarted I get no Ethernet. Ifconfig -a only shows lo. ls /sys/class/net only shows lo. Please help.
_________________
Registered as user #372186 with the Linux Counter: http://counter.li.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no driver maybe no firmware installed for NIC(s)
boot cd, run
Code:
 lspci -k | wgetpaste
post url returned
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lokoalex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2004
Posts: 176
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci -k
Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gbit Network Connction
Subsytem: Lenovo Device 21f3
Kernel Modules: e1000e
_________________
Registered as user #372186 with the Linux Counter: http://counter.li.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you made a manual kernel
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux;make menuconfig
or if you used genkernel and wish to continue using it:
Code:
 genkernel --menuconfig all

in menuconfig, enter: /
You then see the help page for e100e:
Quote:
Symbol: E1000E [=n]
Type : tristate
Prompt: Intel(R) PRO/1000 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet support
Location:
-> Device Drivers
-> Network device support (NETDEVICES [=y])
-> Ethernet driver support (ETHERNET [=y])
(1) -> Intel devices (NET_VENDOR_INTEL [=n])
Defined at drivers/net/ethernet/intel/Kconfig:67
Depends on: NETDEVICES [=y] && ETHERNET [=y] && NET_VENDOR_INTEL [=n]
Selects: CRC32 [=y] && PTP_1588_CLOCK [=m]
exit the help page and edit menuconfig to include
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
[*] Network device support --->
[*] Ethernet driver support --->
[*] Intel devices
<M> Intel(R) PRO/1000 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet support
or
<*> Intel(R) PRO/1000 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet support
Code:
exit
exit
exit
exit
Yes
To save the configuration. As appropriate,
Code:
make && make modules_install
(Then copy the new kernel to /boot) or allow genkernel to finish.
If <M> Intel(R) PRO/1000 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet support was used;
Code:
modprobe e1000e
ifconfig -a
if <*> Intel(R) PRO/1000 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet support was used, reboot, when backup
Code:
ifconfig -a
when the interface name is known you can set up networking per the handbook.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lokoalex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2004
Posts: 176
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked genkernel which I had already configured correctly. Reran it anyway. * instead of M. Rebooted and ifconfig still only shows me lo:

ls -l /etc/init.d/net.*
/etc/init.d/net.enp0s25 -> net.lo
/etc/init,d/net.lo
_________________
Registered as user #372186 with the Linux Counter: http://counter.li.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Rebooted and ifconfig still only shows me lo

please recheck:
ifconfig -a output tells what NICs are present
ifconfig output tells what NICs are present and have been brought up
please run both commands from your installed new system

if enp0s25 is in ifconfig -a output but not in ifconfig output, run:

Code:
rc-update add net.enp0s25 default
/etc/init.d/net.enp0s25 restart


if interface does not appear in ifconfig -a output
boot the cd/usb, mount the gentoo partitions, run
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot | wgetpaste
post the url's returned

are there any secrets like luks lvm raid virtual machine etc?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boldegon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the exact same issue on a fresh install. I haven't used gentoo in years so my knowledge is a bit rusty.

I can start the network after boot by doing

Code:
/etc/init.d/net.enp3s0 restart


The link will come up, grab a lease and works fine at that point.

Code:
rc-update show

indicates that my ethernet should be in the default runlevel.

Unfortunately I can't test it at the moment but from doing a bit of googling at work I think what is happening is that I need to be able to enable hotplugging in /etc/rc.conf

I'm going to try that when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need hotpluging unless your ethernet card is a removable device. try `rc-update --update` to recalculate boot sequence
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boldegon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
You don't need hotpluging unless your ethernet card is a removable device. try `rc-update --update` to recalculate boot sequence


Ahh..thank you very much. I will do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum