Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why no i586 flavor?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
impact0r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 10:04 am    Post subject: Why no i586 flavor? Reply with quote

I have been trying to run linux on my old Pentium 233 MMX with 32 RAM. I am an Arch user, but unforutnatelly Arch is i686 only. And it looks like Gentoo is the only other option that could be customised to run on such a low end hardware.

However, in the download section, I can only see i486 and i686. Would the i486 flavour stripped me from the benefits of MMX optimisation on this processor?

Also, what GUI would you recommend for such machine? I was thinking OpenBox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7972
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

You can have a i586 system starting with a i486 stage3 tarball, and follow the CHOST change wiki page: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Changing_the_CHOST_variable
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frank9999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seriously, you do not really want to use Gentoo on such an antique computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lost+found
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 508
Location: North~Sea~Coa~s~~t~~~

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It can be done (did it 2 years ago for fun, on a P133/32RAM), but I compiled on another (fast) computer, and used rsync to copy the filesystem.

DSL is probably a better option, than installing Gentoo. Downside: the DSL project seems abandoned.
Here is an image to try, and to test some packages.

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10263
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@impact0r,

Strongly recommend you go on eBay and buy whatever amount of RAM your P1 will support. It'll only cost you a few bucks. At 32MiB, your compiles will be insanely miserable. At 128MiB, compiles will only be regularly miserable. In addition, you will need to set up at least 512MiB of swap space.

I had a nice little 90MHz P1 with 128 MiB of RAM that was my first Gentoo install and served as my home router for years.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want gui, I second the claim DSL would probably be better.
It seems to be abbadonware though, so if you want to run gentoo on it at least make sure you have some stronger PC around you can run compilation on.

My gentoo with LXDE and xterm open takes 93 MB RAM. With midori this goes up to 130 MB, adding skype to mix increases total to 170 MB. Get at least 128MB to make it usable, with 256 should be fairly comfortable. Sure you can use swap, but swap is slower and might ruin your hdd.
Oh, one thing more that can can give you trouble. Graphic's drivers. This old stuff is not very popular and might simply not be supported anymore by up to date software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum