Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Should I worry about xorg errors [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
motaito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2014
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:15 pm    Post subject: Should I worry about xorg errors [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi

I set up xorg on my new install. At first I did get a display error. I had that already in virtualbox. So, I managed to get xorg running by adjusting the /etc/portage/make.conf. I changed the VIDEO_CARDS to

VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau intel i915 vesa fbdev"

I figured these are the most likely values for my case. I have a GT60 with Nvidia GT660m. It comes with optimus. So, I figured that I need intel and nouveau. The other values are in there based on what I found while google-ing how to do it right. While I managed to get xorg running it does show an error when exiting out of it.

modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'i915': Invalid argument
/etc/X11xinit/xinitrc: line 59: twm: command not found
/etc/X11xinit/xinitrc: line 60: xclock: command not found
xinit: connectin to X server lost

I am not worried about twm and xclock as I simply did not install them to test if xorg runs properly. From the wiki I take it that they are not needed once the display manager is in place.

Can I savely assume that I can remove i915 from the arguments or should I find an appropriate module to load while starting the system?

Also, is it a problem if I remove it after installing KDE or should I make sure to either remove i915 first or add a module to make it run properly before proceeding with KDE?

I am a bit unsure if it could harm my notebook if it's not handled properly. Any input is greatly appreciated!


Last edited by motaito on Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

motaito wrote:
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'i915': Invalid argument
/etc/X11xinit/xinitrc: line 59: twm: command not found
/etc/X11xinit/xinitrc: line 60: xclock: command not found
xinit: connectin to X server lost
modprobe error is because it cannot find the i915 kernel module (either disabled or built-in). Ensure that in your kernel configuration the following is set:
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_I915=y
CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS=y
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU=y
twm and xclock are started by default when you run startx, and are apparently not installed on your system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motaito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2014
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm aware about twm and xclock. This is mentioned in the wiki. From what I gather I won't need them once KDE is running. I am not sure how to set the values you mention in the kernel configuration. I only know about the "menu menuconfig" tool. Is there a file I can write the values into? If yes, where do I find the file. Sorry if that is obvious to you, but I am new to gentoo.

edit: going through menuconfig I have
DRM_I915=m
I can not set it to
DRM_I915=y
It only allows me to set it as a module

DRM_I915_KMS=y
is set already

DRM_NOUVEAU=m
It also only allows me to set is as module. I have no option for =y available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kick6
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Golden, Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

make menuconfig basically creates the text file he's instructing you to edit.

a * in the menucongif line item is equivalent to a y in the text file. However, if you have something up the hierarchy with a m (meaning compiled as a module) you won't be able to set something as a */y. This is fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motaito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2014
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, but the hierarchy is:

Device Drivers --->
Graphics support --->
<M> Intel 8xx/9xx/G3x/G4x/HD Graphics

I can not set anything above the last point.

There are however 2 sub section that I have set like:
<M> Intel 8xx/9xx/G3x/G4x/HD Graphics
[*] Enable modesetting on intel by default
[ ] Enable preliminary support for prerelease Intel hardware by default

These are the only ones found when searching for "915" with the built in search function from menuconfig. I can not set the "Intel Graphics" part with a *. It only accepts the M and there is nothing above it. As for the sub sections, they in turn only accept a *.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motaito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2014
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found that the dependencies must not necessarily be hierarchical :roll:

However, upon further googel-ing I also found that it is supposed to be a module and not build into the kernel. As chithanh already pointed out:
Quote:
it cannot find the i915 kernel module (either disabled or built-in)

From what little I can tell, it looks correct as it is. Am I missing something? Does it now have to be built as module (M) or built into the kernel (*)?

edit:
If it helps, I can reproduce the error like
Code:
# modprobe i915
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'i915': invalid argument
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motaito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2014
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not succeed in loading the module i915. I read to add i915.modeset=1 to kernel options in Grub. But that did not work either. I tried to follow this: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=132172 (first reply from user samuvuo) but the files he mentions are not present on my system. Is it possible that I did not properly install the module i915? If so, how can I make sure it is installed properly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motaito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2014
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I am officially a moron :oops:

Turns out my own research got into my way.
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_I915=y
CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS=y
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU=y

I read online that these have to be built as a module, so they can be loaded. Apparently not everything is true that you find in the internet. chithanh was right from the beginning. They have to be built into the kernel and not loaded as a module. Rebuilding the kernel with the proper settings solved the issue. Sorry for the mess up sometimes I struggle with text comprehension...

Anyway, thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum