Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Has anyone got Wifi to work on Lenovo X1 Carbon?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 4:00 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Has anyone got Wifi to work on Lenovo X1 Carbon? Reply with quote

HW is Intel Wireless 7260
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/wireless-products/dual-band-wireless-ac-7260-bluetooth.html
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/iwlwifi

I run kernel 3.12.13-gentoo

dmesg gives

[ 8.073580] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-7260-7.ucode' failed.

I use the latest firmware package from the gentoo tree:

sys-firmware/iwl7260-ucode
Latest version available: 22.24.8.0
Latest version installed: 22.24.8.0
Size of files: 338 kB
Homepage: http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/iwlwifi
Description: Firmware for Intel (R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260
License: ipw3945

When i look into the directory where the firmware is installed I get
# ls /lib/firmware/
intel iwlwifi-7260-8.ucode

The driver seems to look for iwlwifi-7260-7.ucode while the available firmware is iwlwifi-7260-8.ucode

Has anyone got a solution to this problem?
_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:33 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2541
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can't really help but will report that my T440S with
intel 7260 works (Intel Corporation Wireless 7260 (rev 6b))
with .8 firmware

you can get .7 here:

http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/iwlwifi#Download

here's what they say on that page:

Quote:
Intel® Wireless 7260
3.10+ iwlwifi-7260-ucode-22.1.7.0.tgz
3.13+ iwlwifi-7260-ucode-22.24.8.0.tgz
3.14+ iwlwifi-7260-ucode-23.214.9.0.tgz


But I tried the .9 and it did not work even though I'm on 3.14 kernel

EDIT: out of curiousity I tried the .9 firmware with gentoo-sources-3.15.0-r1 and
it works fine for me on T440S
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks albright,

I tried the 3.10+ iwlwifi-7260-ucode-22.1.7.0.tgz version and now my HW i detected!

# dmesg | grep iwlwifi
Code:
[    8.016007] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: loaded firmware version 22.1.7.0 op_mode
iwlmvm
[    8.016024] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC
7260, REV=0x144
[    8.016367] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[    8.016881] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S


A new interface has been created

# ifconfig -a

Code:
wlp3s0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 7c:7a:91:a3:2f:5a  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


But it is not recognized as a wireless interface.
( I have wpa_supplicant installed)

# iwconfig
Code:
enp0s25   no wireless extensions.

wlp3s0    no wireless extensions.

enp0s20u4  no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.


My configuration file of wpa_supplicant is configured as follows

# cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
# The line below should not be changed. Otherwise wpa_supplicant will not work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

# Allow users in the 'wheel' group tp control wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

# Allow user-made changes to be saved (e.g. add networks)

# Ensure that only root can read the WPA configuration
ctrl_interface_group=0

#Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1

# A simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK, as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network={
        ssid="simple"
        psk="very sectres passphrase"
        # The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
        priority=5
}

_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:15 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
Code:
# iwconfig
wlp3s0    no wireless extensions.

philip ... wireless-tools (of which iwconfig is part) uses the now legacy WEXT (wireless extensions) and not NL80211/CFG80211/MAC80211 (netlink). If you want to use these tools you need to enable CFG80211_WEXT (the WEXT compatibility layer) in the kernel.

You didn't mention what driver you're using for wpa_supplicant, you want '-Dnl80211', you can provide this either on the command line, or via /etc/conf.d/net, eg:

Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Dnl80211 -qq"

Your wpa_supplicant.conf is defining ctrl_interface and its 'group' multiple times, you just need the following (dependent on what group you want to be able to have access, here 'wheel').

Code:
# Allow users in the 'wheel' group tp control wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

#Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1

# A simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK, as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network={
        ssid="simple"
        psk="very sectres passphrase"
        # The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
        priority=5
}

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pa1983
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the Intel 7260 AC in my router set up as an Access point. I used kernel 3.13.6 to start with now days I have 3.14.1 if i recall.

its much better to get the proper firmware from
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/iwlwifi#Firmware

Then make sure the firmware match your kernel.

Gentoo package do not contain the latest firmwares (last I checked) and iwlwifi-7260-7.ucode was causing my card to stop responding randomly for me at least, might be a bug with access point mode only.
Atm I am using iwlwifi-7260-8.ucode.
iwlwifi-7260-9.ucode is sad to be 3.14 compatible but its not at least not with earlier 3.14.X kernels. I spoke with the intel dev a month or so ago and he didnt know when the changes would merge in with 3.14.X but the 3.15 kernel do support iwlwifi-7260-9.ucode.

I suggest upgrading your kernel to 3.13.6 at least or preferably 3.14 and try iwlwifi-7260-8.ucode.

Other then that its more about configuring the card properly.
I run my card in AP mode so my settings migth not be that useful.

I have had no problems since I got my card set up properly so they do seem to work pretty well except that intel NEVER will support AC speeds in AP mode according to the intel Dev I spoke with that manages the driver and firmware.
_________________
WS: i7 3930K@4Ghz, 32Gb ram, 256Gb NVME & 128Gb sata SSD, GTX780 3Gb & RX 460 2Gb
NAS: i3 4360 3.7Ghz, 20Gb ram, 256Gb SSD, 42Tb HDD, NIC: Intel 2x1Gbit
ROUTER: J1900 2Ghz, 8Gb ram, 128Gb SSD, NIC: 2x1Gbit, WIFI: Atheros AR9462 and AR5005G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK,

Now I have

# grep CFG80211_WEXT .config
Code:
CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT=y


# iwconfig
Code:
[wlp3s0    IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=0 dBm
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off


if I do
#ifconfig iwl3s0 up
and
# iwlist wlp3s0 scan

It seems like my laptop can communicate with the Access Point
Code:
wlp3s0    Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 74:D0:2B:D3:3E:28
                    Channel:6
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality=36/70  Signal level=-74 dBm 
                    Encryption key:on
                    ESSID:"[i]my_AP_SSID[/i]"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=000002adcfae0bdb
                    Extra: Last beacon: 4ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 00086E6F727368696C6C
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B962430486C
                    IE: Unknown: 030106
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
                    IE: Unknown: 2F0100
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : CCMP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: 32040C121860
                    IE: Unknown: 0B0501000B0000
                    IE: Unknown: 2D1ABD1917FFFFFF0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 3D1606080400000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 4A0E14000A002C01C800140005001900
                    IE: Unknown: 7F03010008
                    IE: Unknown:
                    IE: Unknown: DD090010180201001C0000
                    IE: Unknown: DD180050F2020101840003A4000027A4000042435E0062322F00



My /etc/conf.d/net is now
# cat /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
# --- Wired ethernet ---
config_enp0s25="dhcp 192.168.1.250/24"

# config_eth0="dhcp" ?

# --- Wireless WiFi ---

#Prefer wpa_supplicant over wireless-tools
modules_wlp3s0="wpa_supplicant"
 

# It is important that we tell wpa_supplicant which driver we should
# be using as it is not very good at guessing that
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Diwlwifi -iwlp3s0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"

config_wlp3s0="dhcp"


As you can see I am using the iwlwifi driver, which seems to be the right one according to pa1983
# ls /lib/firmware/
Code:
intel  iwlwifi-7260-7.ucode




My wpa_supplicant.conf is now
# cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
# Allow users in the 'wheel' group tp control wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

#Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1

# A simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK, as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network={
        ssid="[i]my_AP_SSID[/i]"
        psk="[i]the PSK passphrase[/i]"
        # The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
        priority=5
}


However the line
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
seems to be wrong. There is no /var/run/wpa_supplicant
# ls /var/run/wpa_supplicant
ls: cannot access /var/run/wpa_supplicant: No such file or directory

Which is the right ctrl_interface=DIR=/?

It seems I can choose from:
Code:
# find / -name wpa_supplicant
/home/philip/.config/wpa_supplicant
/etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant
/etc/conf.d/wpa_supplicant
/etc/wpa_supplicant
/usr/portage/net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
/usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant

_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:16 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Diwlwifi -iwlp3s0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"

phil ... that is incorrect, the '-D<driver>' is '-Dnl80211'. Also, there is no need to pass '-iwlp3s0' or -'c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' as these is passed by netifrc/openrc as a parameters/defaults.

Please can you correct the formating on the above ... it makes difficult to read (use codeblocks rather than lists as the lines don't seem to be wrapped with the latter).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks kayyam,

Now I tried the configuration of /etc/conf.d/net, like you suggest

# cat /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
# --- Wired ethernet ---
config_enp0s25="dhcp 192.168.1.250/24"

# config_eth0="dhcp" ?

# --- Wireless WiFi ---

#Prefer wpa_supplicant over wireless-tools
modules_wlp3s0="wpa_supplicant"
 

# It is important that we tell wpa_supplicant which driver we should
# be using as it is not very good at guessing that
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Dnl80211"

config_wlp3s0="dhcp"


I have changed the wpa_supplicant.conf to handle a WPA2 encrypted connection

# cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
# Allow users in the 'wheel' group tp control wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

#Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection                                                 
#ap_scan=1

# Allow user-made changes to be saved (e.g. add network)
#update_config=1

# A simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK, as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network={
        ssid="[i]my_AP_SSID[/i]"
        psk="[i]the_passphrase_of_the_AP[/i]"
        scan_ssid=1
        proto=WPA2
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        group=CCMP TKIP
        pairwise_CCMP TKIP
        # The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
        priority=5
}



I still get
# iwconfig
Code:
enp0s25   no wireless extensions.

wlp3s0    IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=0 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
enp0s20u4  no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.


In my previous setting I got my firmware driver from
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/iwlwifi
My HW is
Code:
Intel® Wireless 7260


where the firmware driver should be (since I am on kernel version 3.12.13)
Code:
iwlwifi-7260-ucode-22.1.7.0


I have placed it in /lib/firmware as intructed at the website
# ls /lib/firmware/
Code:
intel  iwlwifi-7260-7.ucode  iwlwifi-7260-8.ucode




Are you sure that nl80211 is the right driver and that it works with Intel® Wireless 7260 ?
Should I maybe configure in /etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Diwlwifi-7260-7.ucode"
?
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I configure /etc/conf.d/net with
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Diwlwifi-7260-7.ucode"


this is what dmesg says:
# dmesg | grep iwlwifi
Code:
[    8.078906] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: loaded firmware version 22.1.7.0 op_mode iwlmvm
[    8.078924] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC 7260, REV=0x144
[    8.080027] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[    8.080530] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[   58.697897] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[   58.698541] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S


When I configure /etc/conf.d/net with
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Dnl80211"



dmesg says:
# dmesg | grep iwlwifi
Code:
[    8.019681] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: loaded firmware version 22.1.7.0 op_mode iwlmvm
[    8.019695] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC 7260, REV=0x144
[    8.020037] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[    8.020437] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[   54.316150] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[   54.316642] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S


and
# dmesg | grep 80211
Code:
[    8.231527] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'iwl-mvm-rs'


It seems like both
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Diwlwifi-7260-7.ucode"
and
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Dnl80211"

works.....
_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
Code:
config_enp0s25="dhcp 192.168.1.250/24"

phil ... you're welcome. That should be config_enp0s25="dhcp".

philip wrote:
Are you sure that nl80211 is the right driver and that it works with Intel® Wireless 7260 ?
Should I maybe configure in /etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Diwlwifi-7260-7.ucode"
?

Yes, I'm absolutely certain that -Dnl80211 is the correct driver, this is the wpa_supplicant "driver", not the wireless driver (and certainly not the firmware).

As for the output above you're not associated with an AP, but the card is recongised and seems to be working. If you are unable to assocate with the AP ('wpa_cli staus' should show the state) then change the following and pastebin the wpa_supplicant.log

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp2s0="-Dnl80211 -d -f /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log"

Again, this thread is very difficult for me to read, as the above formating means I have to scroll right then left to read whats written, can you please go back and edit your post(s) and correct the formating making sure that any text copy-pasted doesn't have extranious whitespace.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I think we can conclude that the card is recognized and works. The evidence, I believe is that a scan returns information about the AP:

# iwlist wlp3s0 scan
Code:
wlp3s0    Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 74:D0:2B:D3:3E:28
                    Channel:6
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality=42/70  Signal level=-68 dBm 
                    Encryption key:on
                    ESSID:"my_APs_SSID"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=000002b003106080
                    Extra: Last beacon: 4ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 00086E6F727368696C6C
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B962430486C
                    IE: Unknown: 030106
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
                    IE: Unknown: 2F0100
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : CCMP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: 32040C121860
                    IE: Unknown: 0B0501000A0000
                    IE: Unknown: 2D1ABD1917FFFFFF0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 3D1606080400000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 4A0E14000A002C01C800140005001900
                    IE: Unknown: 7F03010008




I have definitively put
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Dnl80211"

in /etc/conf.d/net

which gives at system boot:
# dmesg | grep iwlwifi
Code:
[    7.990426] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: loaded firmware version 22.1.7.0 op_mode iwlmvm
[    7.990440] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC 7260, REV=0x144
[    7.991065] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[    7.991562] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[   54.827106] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S
[   54.827597] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: L1 Enabled; Disabling L0S


So this works fine now I believe,

wpa_cli status gives:
# wpa_cli status
Code:
Failed to connect to non-global ctrl_ifname: (null)  error: No such file or directory

Maybe something is not right here?

(I will return soon with /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log)
(Btw: The configuration
Code:
config_enp0s25="dhcp 192.168.1.250/24"

in /etc/conf.d/net is on purpose, where I have an alias address 192.168.1.250/24 on this interface for a project I am working on )
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason the /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log file will not be created.

Steps I made:
1)
re-merge wpa_supplicant with the use flag debug set
Code:
# USE="debug" emerge --ask wpa_supplicant

2)
Change in /etc/conf.d/net to this:
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Dnl80211 -d -f /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log"

3) reboot

No wpa_supplicant.log file :
Code:
# find / -name wpa_supplicant.log
phils_x1 philip #

or
Code:
# ls /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log
ls: cannot access /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log: No such file or directory


Maybe wpa_supplicant does not start properly?

Also, should there not be a net.wlp3s0 entry in /etc/init.d/?

# ls -al /etc/init.d/ | grep net*
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     6 May  1 20:24 net.enp0s25 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root 17412 Apr 10 07:03 net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root  1583 Apr 10 07:03 netmount
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root   411 May 15 20:41 saned

_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
For some reason the /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log file will not be created.

phil ... yes, because the service isn't started (see bellow).

philip wrote:
Also, should there not be a net.wlp3s0 entry in /etc/init.d/?

Yes, in fact, you are supposed to create this symlink ...

Code:
# ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlp3s0
# /etc/init.d/net.wlp2s0 start

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I do
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlp3s0


will I get a conflict with net.enp0s25 which also has a symbolic link to net.lo?

# ls -al /etc/init.d/ | grep net*
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     6 May  1 20:24 net.enp0s25 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root 17412 Apr 10 07:03 net.lo

_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3686
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
If I do
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlp3s0

No, and try this :
Code:
man ln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have got it working !

Starting the service and adding it to the default runlevel was the last piece of the puzzle.

# rc-status
Code:
Runlevel: default
 dbus                                                                                          [  started  ]
 syslog-ng                                                                                     [  started  ]
 net.enp0s25                                                                                   [  started  ]
 net.wlp3s0                                                                                    [  started  ]


and

# ping www.google.com
Code:
PING www.google.com (173.194.32.16) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from arn06s01-in-f16.1e100.net (173.194.32.16): icmp_seq=1 ttl=54 time=8.85 ms
64 bytes from arn06s01-in-f16.1e100.net (173.194.32.16): icmp_seq=2 ttl=54 time=8.96 ms
^C
--- www.google.com ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 8.850/8.907/8.964/0.057 ms


Thank you all for excellent help![/code]
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
Thank you all for excellent help!

philip ... you're welcome. You should now edit the first post and add [SOLVED] to the subject line.

Something I noticed in the above, you are starting both net.wlp2s0 and net.enp0s25 ... unless these are on seperate subnets (unlikely) then there isn't really a reason to have both started. You might want to have net.enp0s25 managed by sys-apps/ifplugd (which will bring the interface up/down when a cable is detected). There are various methods of handling switching between wired and wireless networks, and examples of how to use ifplugd, or netplug, to manage the switch. You can search the wiki and the forum for examples.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes khayyam, I need to have net.enp0s25 managed by sys-apps/ifplugd. This will be the next challange to configure.

Thanks!
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
Yes khayyam, I need to have net.enp0s25 managed by sys-apps/ifplugd. This will be the next challange to configure.

phil ... it shouldn't be much of a challenge, in fact its quite easy ... probably best for another thread though.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum