Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] cpupower fails to start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SirEdgar2nd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:49 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] cpupower fails to start Reply with quote

PROBLEM SOLVED BY RE-ENABLING COOL'N'QUIET IN BIOS

Code:
 # rc-service cpupower start
 * Running cpupower -c all frequency-set --governor ondemand ...          [ !! ]
 * ERROR: cpupower failed to start

Code:
cpupower frequency-info
analyzing CPU 0:
  no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
  boost state support:
    Supported: no
    Active: no
    Boost States: 0
    Total States: 4
    Pstate-P0:  3200MHz
    Pstate-P1:  2500MHz
    Pstate-P2:  2100MHz
    Pstate-P3:  800MHzcpupower idle-info
CPUidle driver: none
CPUidle governor: menu

Analyzing CPU 0:
CPU 0: No idle states


Code:

cpupower info
System's multi core scheduler setting: not supported
System's thread sibling scheduler setting: not supported
System does not support Intel's performance bias setting
analyzing CPU 0:

Code:
cpupower idle-info
CPUidle driver: none
CPUidle governor: menu

Analyzing CPU 0:
CPU 0: No idle states


I follow http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Power_management/Processor everything here to the best of my ability.

I chose these drivers

acpi-cpufreq

'cause of what I read in the kernel tree

Quote:
This driver also supports Intel Enhanced Speedstep and newer
AMD CPUs.


hte powernow-k8 drivers say

Quote:
Support for K10 and newer processors is now in acpi-cpufreq.


I have a Phenom II x4 955 which is K10.


Last edited by SirEdgar2nd on Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:24 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SirEdgar2nd ...

can you pastebin the output of dmesg and your kernel .config

Code:
# emerge wgetpaste
# dmesg | wgetpaste
# wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirEdgar2nd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dmesg: http://bpaste.net/show/396770/

Kernel Config: http://bpaste.net/show/396771/

Here ya go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_COMMON=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y

SirEdgar2nd ... you need to set the CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_* to something other than userspace (ie: ondemand, performance, or powersave ... I'd suggest ondemand as your passing this anyhow). As I remember (though I currently can't find the bug on b.g.o) when userspace is used cpupower can't set the frequency and change the govener at the same time.

Other than that I do wonder why acpi_cpufreq doesn't show in the output from 'cpupower -c all frequency-info' ... that may be as you're using a 3.15.x kernel and there is some bug at work here, is this an issue with this kernel alone or does it occur with more tested kernels?

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirEdgar2nd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has been going on since kernel 3.14, I've never used kernel 3.12 or any of the 'stable ones' since I immediately switched to unstable the moment I finished the install.

Though, I can still probably emerge 3.12 sources. Should I do that and see what happens?

also, set the default to ondemand, drivers still don't show in frequency-info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SirEdgar2nd wrote:
Though, I can still probably emerge 3.12 sources. Should I do that and see what happens?

SirEdgar2nd ... yes, you might try that, though what I might do first is build acpi_cpufreq as a module and see if it gets autoloaded (it should), if not try and modprobe it. This might provide some clue as to why its not registered (I see nothing in dmesg).

I will at some point take a closer look at the above config/dmesg (but I'm a little busy right now) so if anything further stands out I'll let you know ... just wanted to give you something else to test in the mean time.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirEdgar2nd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# modprobe acpi-cpufreq
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'acpi_cpufreq': No such device


~_~ I'm going to do the gentoo sources thing later today, just not right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SirEdgar2nd ... according to this the Phenom II has Cool'n'Quiet 3.0 and while the help states "Support for K10 and newer processors is now in acpi-cpufreq" I think the driver you infact want is powernow-k8 as from a brief search all the K10's are not the same ITR.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirEdgar2nd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I am now remembering a year or two back when I was trying to squeeze more performance to run dolphin-emu I tried to overclock this and disabled cool'n'quiet. KInd of remembered this when you mentioned Cool'n'Quiet, I thought I restored all their settings to their original value, turns out I forgot to restore /that/ as well.

So yeah, problem solved. :roll:

Thank you for your help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SirEdgar2nd wrote:
So, I am now remembering a year or two back when I was trying to squeeze more performance to run dolphin-emu I tried to overclock this and disabled cool'n'quiet. KInd of remembered this when you mentioned Cool'n'Quiet, I thought I restored all their settings to their original value, turns out I forgot to restore /that/ as well.

SirEdgar2nd ... ahh, yeah, that'll tend to cause the driver to fail :P ... anyhow, you should edit the first post and add [SOLVED] to the subject line.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum