Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kernel compile error - please Help!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 12:19 pm    Post subject: kernel compile error - please Help! Reply with quote

Hello,

I wanted to use qemu to compile from my amd64 to arm
so there were few changes in kernel to be made

as usual I did
Code:

# genkernel --menuconfig all

and checked what's needed
but I got errors so I rebooted the system
but it doesn't boot anymore :(

I booted from install-minimal media
chrooted and did genkernel --clean --no-oldconfig all
to try generating somewhat default kernet just to boot my machine properly (C2D on P5Q-E, 4096MB DDR2 800MHz and nV 9500GT)
but all I got were errors and a log: http://nopaste.info/89694c8af8.html
--mrproper didn't help as well
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tractor Girl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you should try to compile kernel manually, and use genkernel only for initramfs (if you really need it). To be sure you can do it on freshly emerged sources.
Code:
make && make modules_install
genkernel --install initramfs


Do you have old kernel and initramfs?


Last edited by Tractor Girl on Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's my stupid mistake... I don't have any backup :(

I was always using genkernel with option all
and it always works... well worked til that issue.

At home I use gentoo too and genkernel never surprised me it always compiled all needed things
kernel, modules, and initrd.

I also tried doing it on kernel 3.12.21-r1 anmd happens the same.
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tractor Girl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you use system encryption, have /usr on separate partition or other things like that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope

I have everything on my /dev/sda1
the only things is swap on /dev/sda2 ;)

I never had any troubles with compilling kernel on my system at work it always used to be easy :(

nce I had some problem but I removed files in /etc/kernels and .config in kernel source directory
and it made from default (/usr/share) so I did the same this time
but it didn't solve my problem...
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tractor Girl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then you really do not need genkernel at all. Are you using it because you are unfamiliar with kernel configuration? If so, I'm sure people here (including me) can help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's right I am a dumbass to compile kernel when I try doing it I always do some mistakes finishing with... kernel panic not syncing :P

anyway... why can't I still use it like im doing it at home?
I compilled those qemu options at home and it all works fine on the same kernel (3.10.7)
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tractor Girl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what about genkernel versions, are they the same too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure they are I am updating system about once a week (to make reboot if needed on friday evening) :)
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jburns
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 1048
Location: Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking at your log file the only error I saw was
Quote:
networking/ntpd.c: In function ‘ntp_init’:
networking/ntpd.c:1973:3: warning: format not a string literal and no format arguments [-Wformat-security]
networking/ntpd.c:2015:3: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘setpriority’ [-Wimplicit-function-declaration]
networking/ntpd.c:2015:15: error: ‘PRIO_PROCESS’ undeclared (first use in this function)
networking/ntpd.c:2015:15: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
make[1]: *** [networking/ntpd.o] BĹ‚Ä…d 1
make: *** [networking] BĹ‚Ä…d 2


What does /etc/genkernel.conf contain?

You should check your busybox configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

never ever chaned it as it was installed and always working...
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my genkernel.conf is http://nopaste.info/6d66febd7b.html
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jburns
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 1048
Location: Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When it builds ntpd it is missing the definition for PRIO_PROCESS which the kernel defines in /usr/src/linux/include/uapi/linux/resource.h
Code:
grep PRIO_PROCESS /usr/src/linux/include/uapi/linux/resource.h
should print #define PRIO_PROCESS 0

A workaround would be to define BUSYBOX="no" in /etc/genkernel.conf
the downside is that if there is a boot error that would allow dropping to a shell there will not be a shell available.

or define
BUSYBOX_CONFIG="/path/to/file" where "/path/to/file" would point to a file which would be the same as /usr/share/genkernel/defaults/busy-config but with CONFIG_NTPD=n
CONFIG_FEATURE_NTPD_SERVER=n
The downside is that the same error may occur compilling another routine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, I'll try the advice

anyway, why did it happen if I was using genkernel all the past time?
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jburns
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 1048
Location: Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PRIO_PROCESS is defined in /usr/lib64/klibc/include/linux/resource.h which is supplied by the package dev-libs/klibc

It is also defined in /usr/include/linux/resource.h which is supplied by sys-kernel/linux-headers

There is also a definition in /usr/include/bits/resource.h which is supplied by sys-libs/glibc

I would expect that ntpd is using either /usr/lib64/klibc/include/linux/resource.h or /usr/include/linux/resource.h.

You could try re-emerging dev-libs/klibc and sys-kernel/linux-headers to see if that fixes the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

# emerge dev-libs/klibc sys-kernel/linux-headers

and then try using genkernel?
only linux-headers is installed in my system so I'm re-emerging it...
Code:
...
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>> Original instance of package unmerged safely.
>>> sys-kernel/linux-headers-3.13 merged.

>>> Recording sys-kernel/linux-headers in "world" favorites file...
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.

 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.
#

_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyway, there's still an error... http://nopaste.info/f86c73ad68.html
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no clues?
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum