Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo live on Thinkpad T42 - wlan only
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
turboscrew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 88
Location: Nokia (town), Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:40 pm    Post subject: Gentoo live on Thinkpad T42 - wlan only Reply with quote

Is there a wisdom behind the fact that the Gentoo x86 live image has drivers for iwp2200, but not the firmware files?

I would like to try Gentoo on my old T42 using wlan. Can that be easily done?
There is a wired connection, but not very easily accessible.
I would also like to check that the wlan actually works. For some reason it didn't work with Slackware 14.1, but broke the connection
once per hour in the average. Funny that it didn't happen with some other distros that I tried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

turboscrew ...

generally the advice is that if you want to use wireless for install then use sysrescuecd. Its gentoo based and offers better wireless support, a GUI, web browser (for reading the handbook) and in all other regards is identical to the livecd.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turboscrew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 88
Location: Nokia (town), Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turboscrew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 88
Location: Nokia (town), Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, got to the "mounting" part in the handbook, and tried to go to the next page "installing the Gentoo Installation Files" when
the browser couldn't find the server all of a sudden, and the network manager icon turned to the "do not enter" sign.
iwconfig showed the right settings and iwlist scanning showed the normal values, and the network manager GUI
showed status "connected".

Is there any point continuing, or am I going to suffer these "breaks" in the future too (like in the case of Slackware)?
(Using now the SystemRescueCd-x86-4.3.0.)

The funny thing is that I didn't have that kind of problems with Mint 13 (that I used for quite some time).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

turboscrew wrote:
Is there any point continuing, or am I going to suffer these "breaks" in the future too (like in the case of Slackware)?

turboscrew ... that seems like the kind of question that is both impossible to answer, and prone to be taken as though I am offering you something less than your expectations require. There are all manner of reasons why you might loose wireless connection not least of which is the use of NetworkManager ... so what would you have me suggest, you kill NetworkManager and do the wireless configuration yourself?

turboscrew wrote:
The funny thing is that I didn't have that kind of problems with Mint 13 (that I used for quite some time).

In which case use that CD as the install medium, as long as the hardware is supported and you can chroot most any boot disk can be used.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turboscrew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 88
Location: Nokia (town), Finland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll try that...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turboscrew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 88
Location: Nokia (town), Finland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A-ha. This morning I found my ADSL/router can dead. Thet might explain my wifi problems.
(A wifi AP connecred to the router.)
Excercises continue when I get myself a new ADSL/router.

BTW, is is customary to edit the "[SOLVED]" into the title?
I
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

turboscrew wrote:
BTW, is is customary to edit the "[SOLVED]" into the title?

turboscrew ... yes, thats generally considered good form.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum